Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2021

Thursday, July 22, 2021

Book Review - Poison Ivy: Thorns

Poison Ivy: Thorns



About the Book
New York Times bestselling author of The DUFF Kody Keplinger and artist Sara Kipin reimagine an iconic DC antihero with a gothic-horror twist.

There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides behind her bright red hair. The girl who won't let anyone inside to see what's lurking behind the curtains. The girl who goes to extreme lengths to care for a few plants. Pamela Isley doesn't trust other people, especially men. They always want something from her that she's not willing to give.

When cute goth girl Alice Oh comes into Pamela's life after an accident at the local park, she makes her feel like pulling back the curtains and letting the sunshine in. But there are dark secrets deep within the Isley house. Secrets Pamela's father has warned must remain hidden. Secrets that could turn deadly and destroy the one person who ever cared about Pamela, or as her mom preferred to call her...Ivy.

Will Pamela open herself up to the possibilities of love, or will she forever be transformed by the thorny vines of revenge?


My Take on the Book
This was a great book with a great story. It is a fresh take on the character of Poison Ivy and I love how well the author has done to explore all aspects of the characters. You learn about Pamela's secrets, but also why she surrounds herself with plants. There is a reason behind the love she shares with these plants which says a lot about her as an individual. The book explores Poison Ivy and makes her the villain that she becomes. The book is a great backstory that any fan of Poison Ivy will love.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, July 8, 2021

Book Review - Jop and Blip Wanna Know #1: Can You Hear a Penguin Fart on Mars?: And Other Excellent Questions

Jop and Blip Wanna Know #1: Can You Hear a Penguin Fart on Mars?: And Other Excellent Questions



About the Book

Two curious robots seek the answers to life’s most pressing—and hilarious—questions in this full-color graphic novel series by Jim Benton, New York Times bestselling author and creator of Franny K. Stein and Catwad!

Join Jop and Blip as they follow their curiosity and investigate these seemingly odd questions using their own brand of logic, critical thinking skills, STEM knowledge, and humor.

• Can you hear a penguin fart on Mars?
• What if you wanted a dragon sandwich?
• Why do we need TWO ears?

With Jop and Blip, everything is worth knowing! Perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey and Dan Gutman!


My Take on the Book
This is a very funny book that bring together memorable characters that will ask questions that young readers will love. The book not only will make readers laugh, but it also challenges readers to learn along the way too! As a fan of Jim Benton in the past, this book is a fun one that will make you laugh, but also will make you ask for more in the end. This was a great book to read together with your kids and you both share a laugh together!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - World of Reading: Maleficent

World of Reading: Maleficent



About the Book
Maleficent tells readers about a day in the life of an evil fairy, just in time for Halloween. It's no surprise that she has fun scaring everyone around her, to the best of her ability.

This is the second title in an all-new Level 1 World of Reading series that features Disney Villains. The first book features the Queen of Hearts, and a story about the Evil Queen is coming soon.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book that lets you get to know Maleficient and how evil she can be. It lets you know her powers and the fact that she does not like to be left out of things. The book provides a bit of a warning for anyone that wishes to cross her and a young reader will come to love (and fear) her for who she is. The book is a ton of fun for any age reader that loves Disney villains.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Big City Greens: Blood Moon

Big City Greens: Blood Moon



About the Book

Cricket and Tilly are excited for their first Halloween in Big City.

When a spooky blood moon turns their farm animals into zombies, will their night of fun be threatened?

Find out in this retelling of the series' popular Halloween episode.

Come celebrate Halloween with Cricket Green, Tilly, Remy Remington, and more!


My Take on the Book
This is a great retelling of a fun episode. For anyone that loves Cricket and Tilly this is a great book for Halloween or really for any time. The book is a fun story as well as includes fun images of great characters too. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - 5-Minute Villains Stories

5-Minute Villains Stories



About the Book
A collection of 12 stories featuring all the worst Disney Villains! Join Cruella, Maleficant, Captain Hook, and more in the treacherous tales!
 

My Take on the Book
This book is an anthology of 12, 5 minute stories that brings together villains that you know and love.  

Each story is unique and you get to see a new side of each villain in the book. My daughter is a big Disney villain fan and this one gives you a great look at so many of them. 

To be honest we loved all of the stories, but my daughter said her favorite were the ones about Peter Pan. 

The book was full of great stories, images and more and with the fact that the stories are only 5 minutes in length, they are great to read together but also to allow for young readers to enjoy on their own too. 

I believe you and your child will enjoy all of the 5 minute stories in this anthology.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Evil Thing: A Villains Graphic Novel

Evil Thing: A Villains Graphic Novel



About the Book

“Sure, you know the story of those wretched Dalmatians. But don’t I deserve a chance to tell my own side of the story? It is fabulous, after all.

”You may think you know the tale: a happy young couple, one hundred and one Dalmatians, and the woman determined to turn them into a perfectly spotted fur coat.

But who is that monster, that scene-stealer, that evil thing? Who is the woman behind it all? Before the car crash, before the dognapping, before furs became her only true love, there was another story. This is the story of Cruella De Vil—in her own words.

Even the cruelest villains have best friends, true loves, and daring dreams. After all, nothing is as simple as black and white.

In this first graphic novel adaptation of the New York Times best-selling Villains series, Arielle Jovellanos brings Serena Valentino’s darkly captivating world to life with beautiful and haunting illustrations in a stunning new visual format.


My Take on the Book
This is a great new way to look at an iconic villain. If you have ever been interested in Cruella De Wil, this new graphic novel will challenge your notions of what you know or at least what you think you know. It is a great story that will engage you from beginning to end. The illustrations jump off the page and really draw you into the story and into who Cruella really is. I know for me this is a book that really explores things about this villain that I could not have known, but I am glad to know now and any Disney fan will love this story too!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Nightmare Before Christmas 13 Days of Christmas

Nightmare Before Christmas 13 Days of Christmas



About the Book

What happens when two holidays collide? Thirteen days of frighteningly festive fun! Count down the days to see Jack, Sally, and their Halloween Town friends put a spooky spin on Christmas traditions!
 
Jack Skellington is here from Halloween Town.
You’ll notice his handiwork scattered around.
This year, he’s decided to play Sandy Claws.
But when Halloween creates Christmas . . . you might see a few flaws.


From the minds of Tim Burton, Disney Imagineers, and acclaimed artist Jerrod Maruyama comes a picture book celebrating the classic animated film and the Disneyland ride it inspired.

Renowned Imagineers Steven Davison and Carolyn Gardner's text turns turtle doves and French hens into floating candles and true-love potions, accompanied by beloved Burton characters painted in a new art style that will appeal to fans of all ages.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book for anyone that loves the Nightmare Before Christmas. Tis is a fun book that brings together amazing artwork but also some of the characters you know and love, but also new characters too. You get the original look and feel of the movie, but the concept is new and a ton of fun too. My girls loved the story and the characters and you will too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Long Distance

Long Distance



About the Book
From the creator of Fake Blood comes another exceptionally charming middle-grade graphic novel about friendships both near and far, far away.

Vega’s summer vacation is not going well.

When her parents decide it’s time to pack up and leave her hometown of Portland, Oregon, behind for boring Seattle, Washington, Vega is more than upset—she’s downright miserable. Forced to leave her one and only best friend, Halley, behind, Vega is convinced she’ll never make another friend again.

To help her settle into her new life in Seattle, her parents send Vega off to summer camp to make new friends. Except Vega is determined to get her old life back. But when her cellphone unexpectedly calls it quits and things at camp start getting stranger and stranger, Vega has no choice but to team up with her bunkmates to figure out what’s going on!
 

My Take on the Book
This is a great new book from Whitney Gardner. I was a fan of her last novel and this one was just as fun. Inside the book, you not only get an amazing story but it is full of beautiful images that will engage you from beginning to end. The book has some great humor but is also light, strange, and unique too. You will love the characters and the story and by the end, you will be asking for more. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 29, 2021

Book Review - The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow

The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow




About the Book

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!

Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?


My Take on the Book
This was a great sequel. We had been waiting for this for some time and my daughter and I read this together and loved every minute of the book. You get a great mix of humor, magic, and more in this book and it is truly a book that captures your attention from beginning to end. The story itself of coming of age with magic of course, and in trying and being more confident about who you are. You get to see Moth trying new things that may or may not work and humor ensues in relationships as well as in other aspects of her life. This was a great book that you will love, I know my daughter and I did!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - World of Reading This is Ms. Marvel

World of Reading This is Ms. Marvel



About the Book
Kamala Khan is just your average teenager living in Jersey City trying to balance high school and her family's Muslim heritage. That is, until she discovers that she has super powers! As a huge fan of super heroes herself, Kamala takes on the name "Ms. Marvel," previously used by her all-time favorite super hero, Captain Marvel. Ms. Marvel, Kamala is able to shape shift, usually using this power to elongate her limbs or enlarge her fists... which she pairs with the declaration "embiggen!" Not only that, but she has the power to heal herself once she transforms back into her original self. More than anything, Ms. Marvel is an emblem of optimism and heart―a true beacon of hope in the face of adversity. Discover how Kamala Khan finds out that she's an Inhuman with super powers and becomes Ms. Marvel!
 

My Take on the Book
This was a great story for young readers that will allow you to better understand who Ms. Marvel is and what makes her who she is. The book has fun images throughout the book that draw you into the life and heroism of Ms. Marvel. You will find that by the end you will want to know even more about this great hero!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, June 27, 2021

Book Review - A Millennial's Guide to Running for Office: How to Get Elected Without Kissing the Ring




About the Book
America has become a gerontocracy - and it’s showing its age. Our future depends on young people running for and winning elected office. Yet despite historically high interest in politics among the young, few are entering the halls of power. Young candidates at all levels of government need a new model. A political newcomer, Henry Bouchot shocked the political establishment in Richard Nixon’s hometown of Whittier, California, defeating a nine-term incumbent to become the youngest member in the history of the Whittier City Council in 2018. In A Millennial’s Guide, Henry shows how he harnessed his business education and experience in the Marines to create an unbeatable campaign. He goes beyond just the nuts and bolts of campaigning and describes how to make running both an unforgettable experience and an unstoppable one.
 



My Take on the Book
This was a great book for anyone interested in thinking about running for a political office. The book is written in a way that captures your attention from the very first page and keeps your attention throughout the book. The book really looks at how someone can commit to a life of service. The book also provides you with a number of lessons that you could follow to run your own campaign. What was great though is the fact that the book using the character of Henry to walk you through the practical lessons. This made the book easy to read and relate to. The book is packed with great insights and is a book that you can take and learn from right away. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, June 13, 2021

Book Review - Norman Didn't Do It!: (Yes, He Did)

Norman Didn't Do It!: (Yes, He Did)



About the Book
Ryan T. Higgins, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Mother Bruce series, delivers a contemporary tale of friendship.

Norman is a porcupine. Mildred is a tree. Norman and Mildred are best friends. Just the two of them. And only the two of them. But when a surprise pops up, life will never be the same again.

Ryan T. Higgins’ signature wit, whimsy, and humor brilliantly explore the depths and complexities of friendship.


My Take on the Book
This was such a cute story about friendship and makes you think about the topic in a whole new way. The book is a great one that will help kids to think about the friendships in their own lives and what happens when new people come into their lives or into the lives of their friends. The illustrations are fun and draw you into the story even further with each passing page. I loved the character Norman, as you can really relate to him. Every child will have a similar experience to Norman. Having a best friend, meeting a new friend, or having your own best friend meet someone new. What happens next? What can you do to cherish your friendship? What can you do to make your friendship last? This book looks at this in a whole new way and even brings out some fun alternatives that you might not want to try at home, but in the end, Norman learns some valuable things and so will every reader!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Unlimited Squirrels: Guess What!?

Unlimited Squirrels: Guess What!?



About the Book

From Mo Willems, creator of the revolutionary, award-winning, best-selling Elephant & Piggie books, comes this breakout beginning-reader series, Unlimited Squirrels.

An ensemble cast of Squirrels, Acorns, and pop-in guests hosts a page-turning extravaganza. Each book features a funny, furry adventure AND bonus jokes, quirky quizzes, nutty facts, and so, so many Squirrels.

In Guess What!?, Zoom Squirrel is excited to go to the beach. But what will happen when Zoomy and pals finally get there? Do you know more about going to the beach than the Squirrels do? You will by the end of this book!



My Take on the Book
This was a fun book with a crazy group of squirrels. It was a humorous look at what going to the beach mean to squirrels and it challenged the reader to see if they knew more about going to the beach than the squirrels did. The book also has some great jokes in the book that your kids will love. This was a fun book that early readers will love to read with or without their parents!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Opposites Abstract

Opposites Abstract



About the Book

Mo Willems, award-winning, best-selling author/illustrator and inaugural Education Artist-in-Residence at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, delivers a masterfully inquisitive look at opposites.

Is this dark? Is this light? Is this soft? Is this hard? Using colors, shapes, lines and textures, Willems invites readers to explore abstract concepts through eye-popping, emotive, and highly-accessible artwork.

This all-ages concept book is perfect for readers young or old, big or small, or any other set of opposites.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book to allow young readers the opportunity to experience opposites through the lens of art. What was great about this book was the fact that the images also encourage discussion between parent and child, especially as the child answers the questions posed by the author. The images in the book jump off the page and really to challenge the conventional. This was a great book that does a great job of bringing together young and old!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Serial Killer Trivia: Fascinating Facts and Disturbing Details That Will Freak You the F*ck Out

Serial Killer Trivia: Fascinating Facts and Disturbing Details That Will Freak You the F*ck Out



About the Book

Discover chilling and mind-blowing facts in this ultimate collection of serial killer trivia for true crime fanatics.

This bloody and completely true trivia collection will horrify and intrigue readers, with answers to questions like “What was John Wayne Gacy’s last meal?”, “Which serial killer was captured because of a bloody footprint left on his victim?", “Who was the FBI agent credited with coining the term 'serial killer'?” and “How was one mass murderer able to get away with selling his victim’s skeletons to medical students?”

Perfect for any murderino, true crime junkie or connoisseur of macabre tales, this fact-packed book quizzes readers on their true crime knowledge and offers fascinating stories of well-known murderers as well as lesser-known, but just as nefarious, killers. You’ll be surprised at how many fascinating tidbits you’ll learn about the world’s most cold-blooded and dangerous people.



My Take on the Book
If you have any fascination when it comes to famous serial killers then this book is definitely one that you will not want to miss. This is the perfect book to either read by yourself or bring together other murder club friends to test all of your knowledge about these strange, but true facts about some very scary people. This book will definitely leave you with answers to questions you did not even know you should ask. This book is definitely twisted and not for the faint of heart. However, if you are a true crime junkie, then this book is for you! 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review -The One with All the Recipes: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of Friends

The One with All the Recipes: An Unofficial Cookbook for Fans of Friends



About the Book

Could this BE any more delicious? Celebrate your love of floor cheesecakes, pizzas and trifles with the cookbook that Popsugar declares, "the ultimate Friends fan needs this."

You’re the ultimate fan of Friends. You’ve seen every episode (multiple times). You get all the inside jokes. You even know how to make that trifle. But with this fun and funny cookbook, you can take your fandom one step further by whipping up incredible entrées inspired by this iconic 1990s sitcom.

You know one person who doesn’t share food, but you can share yours! This cookbook is packed with delicious recipes that are perfect for you and your own friends to enjoy together. Whether it’s a going away party when you move to Yemen, a Friendsgiving dinner in your unaffordable NYC apartment, or just having some nibbles during a binge viewing party, The One with All the Recipes will be there for you with:

  • Not-So-Fine Margaritas
  • Engagement Ring Lasagna
  • “French Aunt” Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Thanksgiving Turkey for One
  • Fried Stuff with Cheese
  • Perfect Pox Peach Cobbler



My Take on the Book
This was a must-have for any Friends fan. As you go through this book you will be transported back to the great series that Friends was. The recipes are easy to follow and best of all, they have less than 10 ingredients per recipe. The book is full of mostly all-American cuisine, and there is a very eclectic mix of items! I have been loving making these recipes thus far and you will love it as well! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Book Review - Be Careful What You Wish Fur

Be Careful What You Wish Fur



About the Book

Be Careful What You Wish Fur, the fourth book in the spook-tacular Disney Chills series, combines all the creepy-crawly feels of Goosebumps with all the wicked wit of one of Disney’s most infamous villains, Cruella de Vil. The dreams that you FEAR will come true.

Thirteen-year-old Delia loves fashion. She loves beauty products. She spends hours in her room attempting to take the perfect selfie. All she wants is to be as cool and trendy as the other girls in her school. Unfortunately, Delia’s family is not exactly flush with cash, so keeping up with the latest styles is next to impossible. But when Delia finds a near flawless faux fur coat at her local thrift store, she discovers that when she wears it, she’s transformed. Literally. Delia becomes prettier, more confident, and―as a result―more popular, whenever she wears the coat. She’s racking up the likes both virtually and IRL. Finally, everything is perfect.

That is until the original owner of the coat decides that she wants it back. Enter Cruella De Vil―a woman who will stop at nothing to reclaim her most prized possession. And when Delia tries to make a deal with the De Vil, she’ll learn that beauty is not worth the price.

Grab your nightlight, dear reader, and prepare to be CHILL-ed!


My Take on the Book
This is a book that has a bunch of chills but also a great story too. The nice thing about this is that the concepts that you see in the book are ones that many people deal with especially when it comes to the concerns that many have over social media and how many will become a bit obsessed with it over the years. I loved that book brings in some of the story of Cruella that you may not have thought of in the past. The book definitely was one that leaves you with chills in the end. Strap in and get ready to get chilled to the bone.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Friday, June 4, 2021

Book Review - The Mouse Watch Underwater

The Mouse Watch Underwater



About the Book
You've heard of the Rescue Rangers. Now meet the Mouse Watch.

Six months into their Mouse Watch training, Bernie and Jarvis are getting along like cheese and crackers! Less exciting: having already completed their first successful mission, it’s now back to basic training.

But more pressing matters are at hand (or rather, at paw). The remains of the S.S. Moon, a long-lost spy vessel, have been found. Onboard the ship is a legendary map, and the transmission says that it leads to an energy source that could save—or destroy—the planet. The Mouse Watch must get to it before it falls into the clutches of their nemesis, R.A.T.S!

Bernie and Jarvis suit up—in scuba suits, this time—for a deep-sea mission on a submarine the size of a shark-snack. Their mission brings them whisker to whisker with a giant robotic kraken, nefarious R.A.T.S. agents, the underwater city of Cat-Lantis, and more underwater perils, all in a fight against time to keep a powerful weapon out of the clutches of evil.

"Mice in Black" meets "Mission Im-paw-sible," this high-octane follow-up to The Mouse Watch will appeal to fans of the tiny rodent heroes, as well as draw new readers in with adorable antics and high-stakes adventure.
 

My Take on the Book
I have to say that I loved the characters of Bernie and Jarvis. As agents of Mouse Watch they have already defeated on supervillain and in this story they are on their next mission. While they think that their mission is to do something mundane while the agents are away, but instead it is actually a very big deal, retrieving the legendary milk saucer. The story is full of a ton of adventure and fun. They have to work hard to get to this treasure. The book is non-stop action, and you will find that you will want to keep reading from beginning to end. Highly recommend to all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, June 2, 2021

Book Review - How to Be a Man (Whatever That Means): Lessons in Modern Masculinity from a Questionable Source

How to Be a Man (Whatever That Means): Lessons in Modern Masculinity from a Questionable Source



About the Book
There’s no wrong way to be a woman. There are countless wrong ways to be a man.

James Breakwell should know. He’s tried just about all of them. Journalism. Pig ownership. Felony lawn gnome theft. Whatever masculinity is supposed to be, this can’t be it. But can you really fail at something no one can quite define? Apparently.

Now, in a series of funny, sharply observed, and occasionally poignant essays, everyone’s favorite internet-famous father of four daughters lays down a lifetime of lessons in what it means to be a man. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. You’ll wonder what really happened to those creepy lawn gnomes on that deserted country road. (Spoiler alert: They’re right behind you.)

If you ever wanted to know how to fail at altruism, dodge the priesthood, and stumble your way into unexpected wisdom, this book is for you.

How to Be a Man (Whatever that Means) presents a vision of manhood that looks very different from what you’ll see on TV. And that’s a good thing. Probably.



My Take on the Book
While this author is known as a humorist, this book allows you not only to live and experience his humor but also shows you his humanity too. You get to see beneath the humor in some parts to get a better glimpse of James Breakwell the man. The book is still funny, and poignant. You will find that the chapters fly by and that before you know it you will be done. In the end James gives you a glimpse into his own life while also making you re-examine your own views of what being a man means. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Ash House

The Ash House



About the Book
An unsettling, gripping middle grade debut about searching for a sense of belonging in the wrong places, and the bravery it takes to defy those who seek to control us. This is Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children meets Lord of the Flies for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black.

When Eleven-year-old Sol arrives at the Ash House, desperate for a cure for his complex pain syndrome, he finds a community of strange children long abandoned by their mysterious Headmaster.

The children at the Ash House want the new boy to love their home as much as they do. They give him a name like theirs. They show him the dorms and tell him about the wonderful oasis that the Headmaster has created for them. But the new boy already has a name. Doesn't he? At least he did before he walked through those gates...

This was supposed to be a healing refuge for children like him. Something between a school and a summer camp. With kids like him. With pain like his. But no one is allowed to get sick at the Ash House. NO ONE.

And then The Doctor arrives...

Strange things are about to happen at the mysterious Ash House. And the longer Sol spends on the mysterious grounds, the more he begins to forget who he is, the more the other children begin to distrust him, and the worse his pain becomes. But can he hold onto reality long enough to find an escape? And better yet, can he convince the others?

 

My Take on the Book
This is one of those books that you will not want to put down. The book is a horror novel geared at middle-school age readers, but to be honest, even as an adult I found the book to be a ton of fun to read. The book has a lot of great elements that make it memorable. From kids that are just, well, eerie, to strange surgeries, a spooky house, and more, this book captures your attention and does not let go until the very end. By the end of the book you will be wanting more, trust me on that! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Unicorn Island

Unicorn Island



About the Book
Beyond the mist lies a magical secret waiting to be discovered . . . From Epic! Originals, Unicorn Island is a middle-grade illustrated novel series about a young girl who discovers a mysterious island full of mythical beasts and darker dangers!

When Sam arrives in Foggy Harbor, population 3,230, all she can see is a small, boring town that’s way too far from home. And knowing that she’s stuck there all summer with her grumpy Uncle Mitch only makes things worse.

But when Sam discovers a hidden trapdoor leading to a room full of strange artifacts, she realizes Foggy Harbor isn’t as sleepy as it seems. With the help of a new friend, Sam discovers an extraordinary secret beyond the fog: an island of unicorns whose fates are intertwined with hers.

  • Epic! Original: the leading digital library for kids, used by over 10 million in homes and schools
  • Expert Approved: vetted by educational experts to ensure high-quality, age-appropriate material
  • Bonus Educational Section: features interesting facts about the story in a More to Explore section

 

My Take on the Book
This was a super fun book that my daughter has been telling all of her friends about. The author brings together great characters to tell a story that you will soon forget. Sam is searching for her family as well as finding a place where she belongs and that brings her to a mystical island. The book is one that will draw you in from beginning to end. If you like magic, myth and more, this book is a great read!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Sewing Face Masks, Scrub Caps, Arm Slings, and More: Practical Projects for Comfort and Care




About the Book

Sew with a purpose!

  • 14 thoughtful projects including face masks, wheelchair caddies, arm slings, blankets, and more
  • Beginner-friendly guide with simple projects and a walk-through of all the basic sewing skills you will need
  • Step-by-step instructions, coordinating illustrations, and easy-to-follow patterns
  • Learn stitching techniques, how to work with a variety of tools and notions, patchwork, pleating, reverse appliqué, and more
  • Author Angie Herbertson is a leading Etsy shop owner who offers thoughtful scrub cap sewing patterns with various useful features
Anyone can learn how to create these thoughtful projects with a purpose, which can be easily made and then gifted or donated to those who need them most!

Sewing Face Masks, Scrub Caps, Arm Slings, and More features 14 easy and intentional sewing projects that range in difficulty and are thoughtful, practical, and important. From face masks and scrub caps to a wheelchair caddy, arm sling, fidget blanket, adult bib, lap quilt, tab blankie, and so much more, you'll not only learn how to sew and develop your skills, you'll create handmade items and crucial accessories that make a difference!

Author Angie Herbertson is the owner and pattern designer behind A Design by Angie where she makes and sells surgical scrub caps, sewing patterns, and tutorials. Her Etsy shop under the same name also offers vitally important sewing patterns and finished products with thousands of happy customers. Her thoughtful scrub cap sewing patterns offer useful features such as being reversible and having multiple ways to wear them.

This helpful guide walks beginners through all the basic sewing skills you'll need. Get started with essential information on materials, tools, techniques, and tips. You'll learn stitching techniques, how to work with a variety of tools and notions—such as elastic, interfacing, bias tape, needles, and thread—patchwork, pleating, reverse applique, and more. Clear, step-by-step instructions with coordinating illustrations and helpful tips take you through each project. The included patterns can also be accessed for digital download.

Create practical, relevant items that fill an important need, with Sewing Face Masks, Scrub Caps, Arm Slings, and More!



My Take on the Book
This book offers detailed instructions on how to make some practical items that are needed in almost every home now. It is practical and walks you step-by-step into what you can do to make this happen. I can honestly say I am not the best sewer, but I do know enough to get by and so do my kids. That being said this book is giving the reader things that you can learn no matter what level you are at. The book has 14 projects that you will love to do by yourself or with your family! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - 5,000 Awesome Facts (About Everything!)

5,000 Awesome Facts (About Everything!)



About the Book

Presenting the next must-have, fun-filled gift book from the team that created Ultimate Weird But True, 5,000 Cool Facts About Everything treats kids to brain candy and eye candy all rolled into one treasure trove of high-interest fascinating facts.

Lively and information-packed, this book is literally busting its covers with fascinating, fun-tastic facts on super, sensational topics that kids love. Who knew that there were so many sweet things to learn about chocolate or that a dozen delicious details about peanut butter would show up on a page with a few splotches of jelly to whet our appetites? Keep turning and a terrifyingly toothy shark tells you all about himself, while other spreads lay out tons of tips on toys and games, mysteries of history, robots and reptiles, sports and spies, wacky words, and so much more! A visual feast of colorful photographs surrounded by swirling, tipping, expanding, and climbing bits of information in a high-energy design, this book will satisfy both the casual browser and the true fact obsessed.


My Take on the Book
My daughter loved this book because of all of the amazing facts within the book. The book is full of facts from everything from food, animals, history, survival skills, math, and more. On top of the facts themselves, the book is also full of images that make the facts jump off the page. My daughter found the book to be a fun read and I have even seen her re-reading the book a few times since we got it. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret

Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret



About the Book

Cruz leaves his tranquil home in Hawaii to join 23 talented kids from around the globe to train at the Explorer Academy with the world's leading scientists to become the next generation of great explorers. But for Cruz, there's more at stake. No sooner has he arrived at the Academy than he discovers that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeopardize his future. In the midst of codebreaking and cool classes, new friends, and augmented reality expeditions, Cruz must tackle the biggest question of all: Who is out to get him, and why?


My Take on the Book
This was a very fun book that draws you in from beginning to end. The plot moves quickly and being a fan of geography as I am you will find that the book brings in this as well as world cultures. Thus, the book is entertaining and educational too. The book reminded me a lot of the 39 clues books. The book brings in adventure, mystery, and more. This is a book the whole family can enjoy together!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Izzy Newton and the S.M.A.R.T. Squad: Absolute Hero




About the Book
When middle school mishaps happen, five friends from the S.M.A.R.T. Squad and use their collective skills and the power of science to bring order to their school. 

 Science reigns supreme with this squad of young brainiacs. Join Izzy Newton and her friends in the first adventure of this fun new middle-grade fiction series from National Geographic Kids. A crowded new school and a crazy class schedule is enough to make Izzy feel dizzy. It may be the first day of middle school, but as long as her best friends Allie Einstein and Charlie Darwin are by her side, Izzy knows it'll all be okay. However, first-day jitters take an icy turn when Izzy's old pal Marie Curie comes back to town. Instead of a warm welcome, Marie gives her former pal the cold shoulder. The problems pile up when the school's air-conditioning goes on the fritz and the temperature suddenly drops to near freezing. The adults don't seem to have a clue how to thaw out the school. Cold temperatures and a frigid friendship? Izzy has had enough of feeling like an absolute zero. She rallies the girls to use their brainpower and science smarts to tackle the school's chilly mystery ... and hopefully to fix a certain frozen friendship along the way. Will the girls succeed and become the heroes of Atom Middle School?

From the acclaimed co-creator of the American Girl books series, this new series celebrates girl-power, STEM, friendship, diversity, and the power of being yourself. 
 

My Take on the Book
As a father to daughters, I love this book. It has amazing heroines within the book that are strong and has great messages of friendships and more. The book is entertaining and the plot is strong. The book has a great mix of science and friendships and the characters are diverse and add much to the story overall. Not only does the story entertain, but it also educates you along the way. Overall, this was a great book for all! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com