Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2022

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Book Review - Reach: Create the Biggest Possible Audience for Your Message, Book, or Cause






About the Book

In Reach: Create the Biggest Possible Audience for Your Message, Book, or Cause, cut through the noise and create the biggest possible audience for your work. This book offers a proven method for expanding your reach online so you can make a meaningful difference for others.

Anyone who makes the bold decision to put their ideas out into the world wants to reach as many people as possible. Unfortunately, too many think it’s a question of numbers—the more people you can get in front of, the better. But true reach is about expanding your audience while making a meaningful and enduring difference that has a lasting impact.

Reach provides a clear and structured approach to creating a successful online presence that will create the biggest possible impact for any message. Becky Robinson shares a framework to cultivate followers that requires four commitments: value, consistency, endurance, and generosity. When you make these four commitments, you’ll deliver memorable content on a regular basis while keeping the long-term view in mind and being committed to helping and sharing with others.

Robinson offers guidance on having realistic expectations and meaningful goals, encouraging readers to reflect on what they want to accomplish and with whom they want to connect. Readers will also learn how to overcome discouragements, create and repurpose content, and focus on the everyday activities that will spread ideas.

This is a long-term process—one that doesn’t normally offer immediate results or guarantee the desired outcome. But, as Robinson reminds us, creating from a place of generosity can lead to benefits greater than you can imagine.

My Take on the Book
The author of this book has done a great job at helping you really think through thee things you need to do to make your creation stand out amid others. I really appreciated the four reach commitments that she talks about (Value, Consistency, Longevity and Generosity). as these really do help you reframe your approach in many different ways. The book itself is easy to follow with practical advice that you can follow and implement immediately. As you read this, it is like the author is holding your hand through the process and helping you extend the reach of your own creative endeavor. Whether you are writing your own book, have a blog or some other business, this book will help you push yourself further and extend your own reach to an even broader audience! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Book Review - The Mentor's Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships

The Mentor's Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships



About the Book

In The Mentor's Guide explore the latest edition of an authoritative resource on professional and educational mentoring

In the newly revised Third Edition of The Mentor’s Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships, veteran mentoring experts Lois J. Zachary and Lisa Z. Fain deliver a thoughtful and rich exploration of the critical process of mentoring. The book offers practical tools for facilitating the mentoring experience from beginning to end.

In addition to walking you through the four phases of mentoring—preparing, negotiating enabling growth, and coming to closure—this important book provides:

  • Brand-new content on diversity, inclusion, and equity, as well as tools to enhance virtual mentoring relationships
  • The ethics of mentoring, including how to handle common ethical pitfalls and mistakes
  • Hands-on worksheets and exercises to facilitate the mentoring and learning process
  • Perfect for leaders, managers, and educators, in any career or professional setting, The Mentor’s Guide is an indispensable tool to help navigate your learning and mentoring journey.


My Take on the Book
This is a great guide for anyone looking to work as a mentor to others. The book is practical and really adds in a ton of worksheets and exercises to help with the mentoring and learning process. This book is one that I wish I had had when I first became a leader in my work as there were so many twists and turns that I had to learn and this one walks you step-by-step through these turns and helps you be be a better leader and mentor in the end!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Book Review - Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good

Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good



About the Book

in Loki A Bad God's Guide to Being Good you get Wry, witty and very funny diary-style story packed with doodles and comic strips about the frustration trickster god Loki feels at having to live trapped in the body of a weedy eleven-year-old boy.

After one trick too many, Loki is banished to live on Earth as a "normal" school boy. Forbidden from using his AWESOME godly powers, Loki must show moral improvement. As he records his lies THE TRUTH in his magical (judgemental) diary, it becomes clear Loki hasn’t a clue how to tell good from evil, trust from tricks, or friends from enemies.

My Take on the Book
This was a super fun book from start to finish. It is full of jokes that all ages will enjoy! If you love mythology and humor, this book brings both to the forefront. Loki is known as a trickster and definitely gets himself in trouble throughout the book. Even when he tries to do good, it tends to turn out in a way that is not what he hoped for. The book is fun, funny and entertaining and all ages will enjoy!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, May 23, 2022

Book Review - The Gifts That Bind Us

The Gifts That Bind Us



About the Book

Magic-sensitive Maeve and her friends face off against an insidious threat to their school and their city in this spellbinding sequel to All Our Hidden Gifts.

It’s senior year, and Maeve and her friends are practicing and strengthening their mystical powers, while Maeve’s new relationship with Roe is exhilarating. But as Roe’s rock star dreams start to take shape, and Fiona and Lily make plans for faraway colleges, Maeve, who struggles in school, worries about life without them—will she be selling incense here in Kilbeg, Ireland, until she’s fifty? Alarm bells sound for the coven when the Children of Brigid, a right-wing religious organization, quickly gains influence throughout the city—and when its charismatic front man starts visiting Maeve in her dreams. When Maeve’s power starts to wane, the friends realize that all the local magic is being drained—or rather, stolen. With lines increasingly blurred between friend and foe, the supernatural and the psychological, Maeve and the others must band together to protect the place, and the people, they love. A thrilling sequel to All Our Hidden Gifts.

Find The Gifts That Bind Us on Amazon.

My Take on the Book
This was the type of book that really grabs you from the very beginning and you want to keep reading, page after page until you are complete. The book has great characters and a mix of magic and realism that allows you to easily connect to the story itself. This is a great sequel to the first book. While it would help to read the first book first, you could still read this and enjoy it, even without the context of the initial book. The author really paints a great picture of a teenage world that may be new, while making it familiar all the same.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Patron Thief of Bread

The Patron Thief of Bread




About the Book

A beautifully crafted middle-grade novel spiced with magic—and gargoyles!—from the acclaimed author of Hour of the Bees and Race to the Bottom of the Sea.

Fished from the river as an infant and raised by a roving band of street urchins who call themselves the Crowns, eight-year-old Duck keeps her head down and her mouth shut. It’s a rollicking life, always thieving, always on the run—until the ragtag Crowns infiltrate an abandoned cathedral in the city of Odierne and decide to set down roots. It’s all part of the bold new plan hatched by the Crowns’ fearless leader, Gnat: one of their very own will pose as an apprentice to the local baker, relieving Master Griselde of bread and coin to fill the bellies and line the pockets of all the Crowns. But no sooner is Duck apprenticed to the kindly Griselde than Duck’s allegiances start to blur. Who is she really—a Crown or an apprentice baker? And who does she want to be? Meanwhile, high above the streets of Odierne, on the roof of the unfinished cathedral, an old and ugly gargoyle grows weary of waiting to fulfill his own destiny—to watch and protect. Told in alternating viewpoints, this exquisite novel evokes a timeless tale of love, self-discovery, and what it means to be rescued.

Find The Patron Thief of Bread on Amazon!
 
My Take on the Book
I found this book to be very interesting. As you read through this you get the viewpoints from numerous characters which is not something you usually see in a book. The characters you hear from are a duck and a gargoyle at the top of a cathedral. Both of these characters are fun and you will find that you connect with them throughout the book in very different ways. The characters are definitely different, but complement each other. As I was reading through the book, I found myself wanting to read page after page as I got lost in the pages of the book itself. The book was fun, engaging and entertaining and through the book you are drawn into the world through vivid imagery and prose that envelopes you throughout. This is a great book I recommend to all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, May 21, 2022

Book Review - The Best of the Rejection Collection: 297 Cartoons That Were Too Dark, Too Weird, or Too Dirty for The New Yorker

The Best of the Rejection Collection: 297 Cartoons That Were Too Dark, Too Weird, or Too Dirty for The New Yorker



About the Book

The best of the worst: these cartoons rejected by The New Yorker were deemed too dumb, too weird, or too naughty—but not for lack of laughs!

Every week, hundreds and hundreds of cartoons pour into The New Yorker. Most are rejected. Doesn’t matter how big a deal the cartoonist is, either. Roz Chast, David Sipress, Kim Warp, Sam gross, Ed Steed, Emily Flake, Navied Mahdavian, or Mary Lawton—if the work in question is too weird, too naughty, too juvenile, or too dark, it’s out. Luckily for us, Matthew Diffee has been bravely sifting through the circular file to rescue the best of the worst.

Here are 297 cartoons in a revised second edition featuring more than 50 new cartoons—even better, even worse! The cartoon set-ups may be familiar—a couple in bed, a few people stranded on a desert island, a doctor and patient in an examining room—but the joke are anything but, with twists so unexpected, you can’t help but laugh out loud.
 
My Take on the Book
These cartoons were edgy, crass and definitely ones that I can see why they did not make it in The New Yorker. Many of the cartoons were funny, while at the same time they made you think too. Some of the cartoons were right on the line of being too much, while others were definitely over the top and made my jaw drop. You will find these cartoons great, but most are not for kids.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Eva Evergreen and the Cursed Witch

Eva Evergreen and the Cursed Witch




About the Book

In this thrilling sequel to Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch, Eva must put a stop to the violent Culling or risk the fate of Rivelle Realm forever—perfect for fans of Kiki's Delivery Service.

From this day forward, we will believe in the impossible.

Eva Evergreen has fulfilled her dream of earning the rank of Novice Witch, and discovered the chilling truth behind the mysterious Culling -- the violent magical storm wreaking havoc across Rivelle Realm.

Revealing the truth, however, proves to be a difficult task and soon the culprit is at large. To make matters worse Eva learns what might be the horrible truth behind her pinch of magic and her mother's own mysterious connection to the Culling and rogue magic.

With her spirits at an all-time low, Eva must muster up the courage to prove her mother's innocence and learn to believe in her own magic, if she wishes to put a stop to the Culling once and for all.

Find Eva Evergreen and the Cursed Witch on Amazon.
 
My Take on the Book
This second book in the series was as good as the first one. This is not always the case. The story was engaging and the characters grow and adapt as you go through the book. The book was well written and I loved all of the concepts about family that pop up throughout the book. This book is one that you will turn from page to page and you will not want to put it down. What I loved in the book is the characters are so relatable and ones that you will want to get to know throughout the book. By the end you will want more, I know I did!
----------------------------------------

New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Every Missing Piece

Every Missing Piece



About the Book

This stunning novel follows a girl looking for answers about a mysterious boy as she learns about grief, family, and putting the pieces back together—perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly.

Maddy Gaines sees danger everywhere she looks: at the bus stop, around the roller rink, in the woods, and (especially) by the ocean. When Maddy meets a mysterious boy setting booby traps in the North Carolina woods, she suspects is Billy Holcomb--the boy who went missing in the fall. As Maddy tries to uncover the truth about Billy Holcomb, ghosts from her own past surface, her best friend starts to slip away, and Maddy's world tilts once again. Can she put the pieces of her life back together, even if some of them are lost forever?

Find Every Missing Piece on Amazon
 
My Take on the Book

This is a great book that is really brings you into the story from the very first page. The author really is able to flush out the characters and show you a coming of age story of a tween that has to learn a lot about the world around her. I appreciated the author's look at an uncertain world and allowing you to see this world through the eyes of a young girl that you will really connect with. In the end the author helps you to see how Maddy works to make sense of the world and in the end, her life and through this journey the author inspires readers. 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Nature, Culture and the Sacred: A Woman Listens For Leadership

Nature, Culture and the Sacred: A Woman Listens For Leadership



About the Book

The world seems to be divided into two kinds of people - those who divide everything into two, and those who don't. Reading Nature, Culture and the Sacred is a step toward melting this false division into "feminine" and "masculine," and allowing each of us to become fully human again and at last.

Bioneers co-founder Nina Simons offers practical guidance and inspiration for anyone who aspires to grow into their own unique form of leadership on behalf of positive change.

Join Bioneers co-founder Nina Simons on an inspiring journey to shed self-limiting beliefs, lead from the heart and discover beloved community as you cultivate your own flourishing and liberation. Inspired and informed by Indigenous wisdom keepers who are leading the way towards a regenerative future, Nina invites women and people of all genders to, as Joanna Macy suggests, "see with new and ancient eyes." Weaving her own insights together with reflections from cutting-edge leaders such as Terry Tempest Williams, Jeannette Armstrong, Alixa Garcia and V (formerly Eve Ensler), she opens thought-provoking pathways for reflection and growth. Discussion guides for each chapter offer prompts for engaging with radical anti-racism and intersectionality, along with interactive practices for individuals and groups to deepen understanding and learning. In this essential handbook for navigating these perilous times with clarity and joy, Nina invites us to remember and reclaim our sacred relationship to the Earth by rebalancing our selves and our societies.

Find Nature Culture and the Sacred A Woman Listens For Leadership on Amazon.
 
My Take on the Book
This is a great book that really brings out the power of women and what they can bring to leadership situations. The book allows you to better understand what women have to offer and how challenge and adversity bring these gifts to the workplace and beyond. The book is full of a ton of wisdom about the ways of women and how we all can save the Earth while replacing out the patriarchal structure that has been around for too many years! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Poo-Dunit?: A Forest Floor Mystery

Poo-Dunit?: A Forest Floor Mystery




About the Book

This rollicking, rhyming tale of animal poo will have children squealing with laughter—even as they learn about forest ecosystems and discover surprising facts about scat.

Sniff, sniff! went Mouse. Whiff, whiff! went Mouse.

“Who left this poo outside my house? I must undo this mystery. Poo-dunit?”

Mouse is dismayed to step outside her house one morning only to discover a giant pile of poo! Who could have done such a dastardly deed? Mouse questions all the animals of the forest, but it’s too big to be Squirrel’s, too dark to be Coyote’s, and too messy to be Deer’s. Will Mouse ever track down the culprit—and will she find a way to make the best of this smelly situation? Between giggles at every mention of the word poo, children will learn to identify eight different animals’ scat and discover how droppings can help plants to grow, all while enjoying Katelyn Aronson’s rhyming text and Stephanie Laberis’s expressive animals. Back matter includes a mini “poo-dunit” mystery challenging children to match scat with the correct animal, as well as a note on why poo is precious—and who is responsible for the biggest poo of all.

Find Poo-Dunit A Forest Floor Mystery on Amazon.

My Take on the Book
Every young child will find this book to be so much fun. As kids are so fascinated by potty humor and this book really bring that to the forefront. On top of this you get a mystery when Mouse finds a a pile of poo outside Mouse's house. The book is so much fun while you walk through the mystery, meeting new characters along the way. There are great illustrations and the writing draws you in from the very beginning.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Judy Moody and the Missing Mood Ring

Judy Moody and the Missing Mood Ring



About the Book

WWNDD? What Would Nancy Drew Do? Judy and her new friend, Mighty Fantaskey, take cues from their favorite sleuth as they search for a lost mood ring in a spooky attic.

Judy Moody is freaky for Nancy Drew, the famous girl detective from the book series. Nancy Drew is an ace at solving mysteries with brains, bravery, and bobby pins, and Judy is determined to solve mysteries too. So when Judy bumps into Mighty Fantaskey, she is excited to meet another Nancy Drew fan and to make a new friend. Excited, that is, until she visits Mighty’s house: it’s big and old and creaky and definitely haunted. It even turns Judy’s mood ring the color of fear! On Judy’s first visit, she hightails it out of there, leaving Mighty in the dust. But where is Judy’s favorite ring? Jeepers! Can Judy pluck up enough courage to go back and find it—and solve the real-life mystery waiting in Mighty’s attic?

Find Judy Moody and the Missing Mood Ring on Amazon.
 
My Take on the Book
This was a great book for any Judy Moody or mystery fan. The book really allows you to have some fun in solving the mystery while also getting to know Judy and a ton of other new characters more. The book was an easy ready and you will be drawn in from beginning to end! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Book Review - The Queen's Council #2 Feather and Flame

The Queen's Council #2 Feather and Flame



About the Book

In Mulan Feather and Flame the war is over. Now a renowned hero, Mulan spends her days in her home village, training a militia of female warriors. The peace is a welcome one, and she knows it must be protected.

When Shang arrives with an invitation to the Imperial City, Mulan’s relatively peaceful life is upended once more. The aging emperor decrees that Mulan will be his heir to the throne. Such unimagined power and responsibility terrifies her, but who can say no to the Emperor?

As Mulan ascends into the halls of power, it becomes clear that not everyone is on her side. Her ministers undermine her, and the Huns sense a weakness in the throne. When hints of treachery appear even amongst those she considers friends, Mulan has no idea whom she can trust.

But the Queen’s Council helps Mulan uncover her true destiny. With renewed strength and the wisdom of those that came before her, Mulan will own her power, save her country, and prove once again that, crown or helmet, she was always meant to lead. This fierce reimagining of the girl who became a warrior blends fairy-tale lore and real history with a Disney twist.


My Take on the Book
This was a fun new way to look at Mulan and the power she holds in empowering other women and working with them to fight. Beyond this though, she has to look to take over as Empress of China and deal with all that this means. She has to manage political power and people that are not in favor of her role and figure out who she can trust, which is not an easy task. Overall, this was an amazing story and for anyone that loves Mulan, you will also love this book! Highly recommend to all!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Are We Lost Yet?


Are We Lost Yet?




About the Book
Get ready to meet new friends in Book 4 of the beautifully illustrated escapades of Wallace the Brave. Readers will be delighted with tales of friendship, discovery, and adventure.

Are We There Yet is Book 4 in the wonderfully imaginative Wallace The Brave series and it introduces an expanded and more diverse cast, including the dynamic, fan-favorite Rose, who gives Wallace a run for his money in kickball competitions, aquatic explorations, and other adventures. Together with Rose, Spud, Amelia, and the rest of their friends, Wallace enjoys a lifestyle of mischief, exploration, (and yes, school) that will thrill middle-grade readers while reminding their parents of the carefree, nostalgic appeal of Calvin & Hobbes and other classic comics.

My Take on the Book
I have been a fan of the Wallace the Brave books in the past and this one is no different! I love the characters and the adventures that they have together. As you read this, you will definitely connect well with the characters (as I know I did) and you will get lost in the imagery and story! Get ready to fall in love with this book!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - From Conflict to Courage: How to Stop Avoiding and Start Leading

From Conflict to Courage: How to Stop Avoiding and Start Leading



About the Book
Unresolved conflict is workplace kryptonite. Learn how to develop the mindset and skills to defuse disagreements, overcome division, and turn conflict into an opportunity for growth.

Unresolved workplace conflict wastes time, increases stress, and negatively affects business outcomes. But conflict isn’t the problem, mismanagement is.

Leaders unintentionally mismanage conflict when they fall into patterns of what Marlene Chism calls “the Three As:” aggression, avoidance, and appeasing. “These coping mechanisms are ways human beings avoid the emotions that come with conflict, but in the end it’s all avoidance,” says Chism. In this book she shows how to fearlessly deal with conflict head-on by expanding your conflict capacity.

Conflict capacity is a combination of three elements. The foundation is the Inner Game—the leader’s self-awareness, values, discernment, and emotional integrity. The Outer Game is the skills, tools, and communication techniques built on that foundation. Finally, there’s Culture—the visible and invisible structures around you that can encourage or discourage conflict.

Chism offers exercises, examples, and expert guidance on developing all three elements. Leaders will discover techniques to increase leadership clarity, identify obstacles, and reduce resistance. They’ll develop powerful skills for dealing with high-conflict people and for initiating, engaging in, and staying with difficult conversations.

Readers will learn that when they see conflict as a teacher, courageously face it, and continually work on transforming themselves, they can get the resolution they are seeking. They can change minds.

Find out more about From Conflict to Courage How to Stop Avoiding and Start Leading on Amazon

My Take on the Book
It is so important to know how to manage conflict as a leader so you can get the best results possible for your own business. This book has a ton of tools and practical tips that will help all readers to be even better at their jobs. While I can say that I have had these conversations in the past, I can also say that they are not the easiest to have and through reading this book I definitely have gained more confidence in how to have these conversations and have a blueprint ready for the future as these conversations have to happen. I highly recommend this book to all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Team Emotional Intelligence 2.0: The Four Essential Skills of High Performing Teams


Team Emotional Intelligence 2.0: The Four Essential Skills of High Performing Teams




About the Book
As organizations shift to depend more on team-based structures, the pressure to develop high-performing teams is more critical than ever. In the modern work environment, teams are expected to embrace change, navigate complexity, and collaborate well under pressure ―all while delivering exceptional results and forming productive relationships.

While it is crucial to have talented, bright people within a team, there is a dynamic that is even more essential to overall team effectiveness. This dynamic is “Team Emotional Intelligence” (Team EQ). While most people are familiar with emotional intelligence (EQ) when it comes to individuals, the power of how EQ relates to the entire team has not been well-understood until now.

Insights from the latest research on team emotional intelligence and TalentSmartEQ’s research trends from working with over 200 teams (with 2000+ team members) combine to bring EQ know-how to the team level. Team Emotional Intelligence 2.0 delivers practical strategies and showcases how an emotionally intelligent team is far more than the sum of its parts. This book focuses on the four key skill areas of Team EQ: Team Emotion Awareness, Team Emotion Management, Internal Team Relationships, and External Team Relationships, and it delivers 53 strategies and a step-by-step process for increasing team EQ skills so team leaders and anyone who’s a member of a team can achieve peak performance and reach their goals.

Dr. Greaves, Evan Watkins, and their contributing team of experts begin with a life and death story of team failure that illustrates how emotions can drive team decisions and lead to disaster. They share a proven approach to helping teams understand Team EQ skills, build these skills into strengths, and use them to sustain positive momentum and achieve peak performance. Strategies for remote and hybrid teams working virtually offer targeted approaches to bonding, communicating, tough conversations, and decision making as modern workplaces transform. Like she did with the best-selling Emotional Intelligence 2.0 (at 2 million copies sold and counting), Dr. Greaves and her team take complex concepts and translate them into easy-to-understand skills that can be used immediately and developed further over time. As organizations increasingly rely on getting work done through teams, the understanding and development of team EQ skills is more relevant and impactful than ever.

My Take on the Book
This book is definitely something I wish that I had early on in my career. There have been times in my career when I was told I needed more EQ and I did not know what that meant. This book lays that out for everyone in an easy to digest manner. If you are a manager and work with a team you need this book to get you moving in the right direction so you can get the most out of your team and create a powerful culture and environment for all! The book is practical and loaded with so much that you can add into your daily routine. Highly recommend!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Book Review - The Last Mapmaker

The Last Mapmaker



About the Book

From Christina Soontornvat, the visionary and versatile author of two 2021 Newbery Honor Books comes The Last Mapmaker, a high-seas adventure set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world.

In a fantasy adventure every bit as compelling and confident in its world building as her Newbery Honor Book A Wish in the Dark, Christina Soontornvat explores a young woman’s struggle to unburden herself of the past and chart her own destiny in a world of secrets. As assistant to Mangkon’s most celebrated mapmaker, twelve-year-old Sai plays the part of a well-bred young lady with a glittering future. In reality, her father is a conman—and in a kingdom where the status of one’s ancestors dictates their social position, the truth could ruin her. Sai seizes the chance to join an expedition to chart the southern seas, but she isn’t the only one aboard with secrets. When Sai learns that the ship might be heading for the fabled Sunderlands—a land of dragons, dangers, and riches beyond imagining—she must weigh the cost of her dreams. Vivid, suspenseful, and thought-provoking, this tale of identity and integrity is as beautiful and intricate as the maps of old.


My Take on the Book
This is a book that does a great job at talking about harder topics like colonization and discovery while bringing together a diverse set of characters that really allow you to get immersed in an exciting tale that also has a lot of heart. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - It's a Sign!

It's a Sign!



About the Book
One, Two, Kat, and Four are starting a club, and every member is good at something! Except naming clubs.

If only there were some kind of sign about what their club should be called!

Check out It's a Sign on Amazon!

My Take on the Book
This was another great book by Mo Willems. You get all of your favorite characters in another fun book for kids of all ages!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Sanctuary: Kip Tiernan and Rosie's Place, the Nation's First Shelter for Women

Sanctuary: Kip Tiernan and Rosie's Place, the Nation's First Shelter for Women



About the Book

Before Kip Tiernan came along, the US had no shelters for women. In Sanctuary - Kip Tiernan and Rosie's Place the Nation's First Shelter for Women, here is the inspirational story of a singular woman and what her vision and compassion have brought to life.

“Justice is not three hots and a cot. Justice is having your own key.”—Kip Tiernan

When Kip Tiernan was growing up during the Great Depression, she’d help her granny feed the men who came to their door asking for help. As Kip grew older, and as she continued to serve food to hungry people, she noticed something peculiar: huddled at the back of serving lines were women dressed as men. At the time, it was believed that there were no women experiencing homelessness. And yet Kip would see women sleeping on park benches and searching for food in trash cans. Kip decided to open the first shelter for women—a shelter with no questions asked, no required chores, just good meals and warm beds. With persistence, Kip took on the city of Boston in her quest to open Rosie's Place, our nation's first shelter for women.

Christine McDonnell, a former educator at Rosie’s Place, and illustrator Victoria Tentler-Krylov bring warmth to Kip Tiernan's story of humanity and tenacity, showing readers how one person's dream can make a huge difference, and small acts of kindness can lead to great things.


My Take on the Book
This is an amazing story about an amazing woman who created a sanctuary for homeless women as well as the Greater Boston Food Bank. This was an amazing story and an amazing woman that stood up for so many for so many years and made the world around her that much better.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Linked: Conquer LinkedIn. Get Your Dream Job. Own Your Future

Linked: Conquer LinkedIn. Get Your Dream Job. Own Your Future



About the Book

In Linked Conquer LinkedIn. Get Your Dream Job. Own Your Future, you get the LinkedIn insider's guide to how the new job search really works—and how to make it work for you.

No one disputes that LinkedIn is the world's biggest job market. So it's about time that someone with the inside scoop explained how to make the most of it. Here, from two LinkedIn experts and former employees, is the definitive guide that demystifies the massive site and gives every reader—from the newly minted college graduate to the midlife career-changer—the most important strategies to win the modern job search game.

Clear, lively, and decidedly practical, Linked shows how to burnish your personal brand so recruiters come to you. Tap the power of the network effect and turn anyone into an invaluable referral. Think like employers and focus your profile to get noticed, get considered, and get hired. And game both the search algorithm and Applicant Tracking Systems used by nearly every employer in every economic sector.

The result: not just a great job, but the future of your dreams.


My Take on the Book
This is an amazing book that really explores the power of LinkedIn and how this technology can help you to truly expand your job search and your overall career. As someone that has used LinkedIn for years, this book really showed me how much I didn't know about the power of the tool. As someone that works with many young adults I found this to be an amazing resource that I know I will continue to draw from to teach others too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea



About the Book

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Ali Benjamin comes the poignant yet hopeful novel, Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea, which is about grief from Ashley Herring Blake, the award-winning author of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World—now in paperback!

Hazel Bly used to have the perfect family. But when a kayaking trip goes horribly wrong, Mum is suddenly gone forever and Hazel is left with a jagged scar on her face. After Mum's death, Hazel, her other mother, Mama, and her little sister Peach needed a fresh start. So for the last two years, the Bly girls have lived all over the country. They travel from town to town, never settling anywhere for more than a few months or so.

But when the family comes to the town of Rose Harbor, Maine, a small fog-draped beach town full of roses and rocks, Hazel senses a wildness to it that feels like magic. And when Mama runs into an old childhood friend Claire, suddenly Hazel's tight-knit world is infiltrated. To make it worse, she has a daughter Hazel's age, Lemon, who can't stop rambling on and on about the Rose Maid, a local myth a hundred and fifty years old about how a local girl was so heartbroken she turned into a mermaid.

Soon, Hazel finds herself just as obsessed with the Rose Maid as Lemon is—because what if magic were real? What if grief really could change you so much, you weren't even yourself anymore? What if instead you emerged from the darkness stronger than before?


My Take on the Book
This is a great book from an author that really allows you to feel the emotions of the characters as you hold on for the wild ride that is this book. The book is a heartfelt story that really looks at grief and how someone can come back from grief to a full life. You are drawn into this story from beginning to end and you will walk with Hazel along the way with every instance that happens. Get ready to experience a myriad of emotions with the main character in this powerful book!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, April 11, 2022

Book Review - Kids Fight Climate Change

Kids Fight Climate Change



About the Book

Kids can help save planet Earth and in Kids Fight Climate Change readers are presented with positive, climate-focused missions that they can accomplish themselves, all from best-selling author and eco-warrior Martin Dorey.

Our planet is in trouble! But with the help of this book, every kid can be a superhero making a difference. Sixty engaging missions guide readers through making carbon-saving changes in all aspects of their lives, from gardening to gadgets—even a DIY water-saving device for their toilet tank! Aided by lively illustrations, the author weaves crucial climate statistics and helpful resources with stories of positive change already happening, such as the resurgence of the Eurasian beaver due to conservation efforts. Along the way, readers meet other superheroes, both animal and human, who are changing the world too. With advice about speaking up and inspiring others to join in, veteran environmentalist Martin Dorey infuses optimism and encouragement into this essential guide to saving Earth, two minutes at a time.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book that let's kids take control of the environment with activities and missions that they can do themselves. The book is fun and actionable with things that kids can do right away that will make a difference for our planet. This was a very fun book that will definitely help in getting kids invested in the future of our planet! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, April 4, 2022

DVD Review - Adventure Time: Distant Lands





About the DVD

Oh My Glob! Get ready embark on a magical journey through the Land of Ooo and beyond when Warner Bros. Home Entertainment brings the Emmy-nominated Max Original, Adventure Time: Distant Lands to Blu-ray and DVD on March 8, 2022.

Binge all four specials from the limited series and explore the unseen corners of their world with characters both familiar and brand-new. Adventure Time: Distant Lands is priced to own on Blu-ray for $19.98 SRP ($24.98 in Canada) and on DVD for $14.98 SRP ($19.98 in Canada).

Based on the Emmy- and Peabody Award-winning animated series, Adventure Time, created by Pendleton Ward and executive produced by Adam Muto, Adventure Time is a critically acclaimed series that garnered numerous accolades over its 10 season run on Cartoon Network. Originally airing on HBO Max, Adventure Time: Distant Lands is among the streamer’s most popular original animated series/specials. Adventure Time: Distant Lands is produced by Cartoon Network Studios.

With Blu-ray’s unsurpassed picture and sound, Adventure Time: Distant Lands Blu-ray release will include 1080p Full HD Video with DTS-HD Master Audio for English 5.1. Featuring all 4 episodes in high definition.

My Take on the DVD

I loved the original show so I could not wait to watch this as well. Not only do you get great chracters, but great stories too. This set is definitely worth the time and by the end you will be asking for more (I know I was). The Blu-ray was so much fun and I was laughing so much throughout the entire time. If you are a fan of Adventure Time already or if this is your first time, take the time to check this out for yourself, you will not regret it!!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, March 28, 2022

DVD Review - Rick and Morty: The Complete Seasons 1-5

Rick and Morty: The Complete Seasons 1-5



About the Series

Rick and Morty is the critically acclaimed, half-hour animated hit comedy series on Adult Swim that follows a sociopathic genius scientist who drags his inherently timid grandson on insanely dangerous adventures across the universe. Rick Sanchez is living with his daughter Beth’s family and constantly bringing her, his son-in-law Jerry, granddaughter Summer, and grandson Morty into intergalactic escapades. Rick and Morty stars Justin Roiland (Adventure Time), Sarah Chalke (Scrubs), Chris Parnell (Saturday Night Live), and Spencer Grammer (Greek). The series is created by Dan Harmon (Community) and Roiland who also serve as executive producers.

Find Out More about this great series on Amazon!
 
My Take on the Series

I’ve gotten a peek at the Blu-Ray release of the complete fifth season of Rick and Morty and it is definitely worth checking out.

This series bluray has a ton of amazing special features. Picking up this set will give you access to all ten episodes of season 5 as well as the other seasons too. This is a must have for any Rick & Morty fan. Inside of the bonus features you will also get some cool featurettes like “Fighting Gravity” which is exclusive to the release of Rick and Morty season 5. This is a feature where Dan Harmon and the crew of Rick and Morty talk about the challenges that went into making the season during the pandemic, not an easy endeavor to say the least. Aside from re-watching the episodes of season 5, this feature alone makes the set worth picking up.

Bonus Features
  • “Fighting Gravity”: The Making of Season 5 (Exclusive to Set): In this deep dive discussion, co-creator Dan Harmon and the crew reflect on the challenges of completing this season in the middle of a pandemic and the creative process behind the story’s biggest revelations.
  • “Inside the Episode”: For every episode from Season 5.
  • B-Story Generator Vol. 1: Co-creator Dan Harmon and writer Rob Schrab reach into their box of random ideas to conjure up hilarious side stories.
  • B-Story Generator Vol. 2: Co-creator Dan Harmon and writer Rob Schrab return to brainstorm even more ludicrous side stories.
  • Backgrounds: The show’s artists give us a jaw-dropping look at the amazingly detailed environments packed into every episode.
  • Animation and Compositing: Crafting the show’s visuals is a complex process and the crew is here to show us why.
  • Coloring Rick and Morty: Get an in-depth look at how the crew uses vibrant color to create fantastic alien worlds.
  • Directing ‘Mortyplicity’: An inside look at the evolution of this ambitious and action-packed episode, from initial storyboards to final product.
  • Directing ‘Rickmurai Jack’: A behind the scenes look at one visualization of one of the most ambitious episodes in the series’ history.
  • Season 5 Hype: Dan Harmon and the writers give you a taste of what’s in store for Rick and Morty’s wildest season yet. 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative

Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative



About the Book
Unlock your creativity in Steal Like an Artist 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative.

An inspiring guide to creativity in the digital age, Steal Like an Artist presents ten transformative principles that will help readers discover their artistic side and build a more creative life.

Nothing is original, so embrace influence, school yourself through the work of others, remix and reimagine to discover your own path. Follow interests wherever they take you—what feels like a hobby may turn into you life’s work. Forget the old cliché about writing what you know: Instead, write the book you want to read, make the movie you want to watch.

And finally, stay Smart, stay out of debt, and risk being boring in the everyday world so that you have the space to be wild and daring in your imagination and your work.


My Take on the Book
If you are someone who is creative you know there are times when you feel that you need to constantly come up with something new and inspiring but this book shows you that is not the case. In this book the author allows you to reframe what it means to be creative and show you that you can "steal" from other ideas to continue to make something new. The author actually brings forward the idea that everything has already been created and that now we need to take what has been created and add to it. The book allows you to get into a new creative mindset and allows you to be ok with "stealing" from others. One of the quotes in the book that was very important to understand came from the author when he said "If we're free from the burden of trying to be completely original, we can stop trying to make something out of nothing, and we can embrace influence instead of running away from it. (Kleon, 2015). as well as "Imitation is about copying. Emulation is when imitation goes one step further, break through into your own thinking" (Kleon, 2015). This book is a must have for anyone looking to find a new way to think about work and life and it will free you from the chains that may have bound you in the past to allow your creativity to soar.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com