Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2022

Friday, September 16, 2022

Book Review - Disney Princess: Beyond the Tiara: The Stories. The Influence. The Legacy

Disney Princess: Beyond the Tiara: The Stories. The Influence. The Legacy



About the Book
Featuring concept art, memorabilia, and original interviews, Disney Princess: Beyond the Tiara explores the legacies of the princesses and what they represent today.

Everyone knows the Disney Princess characters, but how did they become the cultural icons we know today? From the Princesses Walt Disney and his artists brought to the screen in the twentieth century, such as Snow White and Aurora, to the recent additions such as Moana, Tiana, and Rapunzel, each Disney Princess character’s influence has expanded beyond their original film. Each of their unique, individual stories create a fabric with the power to inspire our imaginations, spark social conversations, and empower us.

Featured Disney Princesses include:
  • Moana
  • Merida, Brave
  • Rapunzel, Tangled
  • Tiana, The Princess and the Frog
  • Mulan
  • Pocahontas
  • Jasmine, Aladdin
  • Belle
  • Ariel, The Little Mermaid
  • Aurora, Sleeping Beauty
  • Cinderella
  • Snow White
Organized by themes of origins and inspirations, re-imaginings, toys and collectibles, fashion, music, parks, fandom, and more, Disney Princess: Beyond the Tiara features memorabilia and interviews with Disney historians, directors, voice talent, and fans. Explore the different eras, influences, and legacies of the Princesses with Disney Legends such as Jodi Benson (voice of Ariel in The Little Mermaid and author of the book’s foreword), Lea Salonga (the singing voice behind two Princesses, Jasmine and Mulan) and composer Alan Menken.

What is it that has made these characters resonate through so many generations and cultures? How have they become a reflection of pop culture as we know it? Delve into these indelible characters and find the Disney Princess within you!


My Take on the Book
This was a wonderful book that any fan of the Disney processes will love. Bringing together amazing concept art as well as interviews that really bring you into the creation of the movies themselves, you will be transported into the films, but also leave feeling like much more of an expert on the Disney princesses as well. The book is well organized and you will love learning more about the princesses in all aspects, form the pre-conception, to the movie, to even toys and more. All-in-all, any fan of Disney and Disney Princesses will want to add this to their collection!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, August 25, 2022

Book Review - Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything


Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything



About the Book

In Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything you get a silly, laugh-out-loud read-aloud picture book debut from #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz!

Once upon a time, in the middle of a group of seven thousand happy islands named after King Philip of Spain, there lived a lady named Doña Esmeralda.

She had a big bouffant hairdo and was much smaller than you.

And she was always hungry...

And so begins the wickedly hilarious tale of one very old, but very stylish little lady who loves to eat, but can only find the ooey, gooey, mushy, smelly leftovers of naughty children to nosh on. But what happens when Doña Esmeralda finds out about all the tasty treats that children do eat? Hold on to your hairdos as Esmeralda eats everything in sight in a cumulative read-aloud inspired by stories from author Melissa de la Cruz's childhood in the Philippines


My Take on the Book
This is a character that simply jumps off the page. It is a great book that my daughters completely loved. On top of the character though the story itself is so memorable! It is a crazy, off the wall story that every kid will love! Get ready for a read-aloud experience you will not forget!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - John's Turn


John's Turn


About the Book
In John's Turn E. B. White Read-Aloud winner Mac Barnett celebrates individuality in a story told with tenderness and subtlety. It’s John’s big day at school today—a performance for Sharing Gifts time. His bag is carefully packed and prepared, his classmates are ready, and the curtain is waiting to open. John is nervous, looking out at all the other children staring back at him. But he takes a big breath and begins. Mac Barnett’s compassionate text and Kate Berube’s understated and expressive art tell the story of a kid who finds the courage to show others his talent for dancing.

My Take on the Book
This is a wonderful book that allows you to see the importance if sharing your gifts no matter what, but also shares a story of courage that will inspire other children too. The book also opens up dialogue for kids to be able to see the importance of acceptance, kindness and more. Get ready for an emotional ride as you read this amazing book!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Little Sherlock Books!


Little Sherlock Books


About the Books

Solve puzzles with Little Sherlock!

Could there really be a ghost haunting the amusement park? Little Sherlock and his friends are on the case!
  • Read & Solve to uncover the mystery!
  • Easy-to-read story for ages 6 and up.
  • Includes fun, engaging puzzles that encourage active reading.
  • Young readers will practice language, logic, and reasoning skills as they solve the mystery.
  • Sturdy hardcover binding.
  • Read & Solve Storybook measures 6'' wide x 9'' high.
  • 48 full-color pages.


Books in the Series

My Take on the Books

These were such fun books. If you have a child that loves mysteries, you will want to share these books with them. In each of the books your child will be challenged to deduce what is happening in each of the stories. Your child will love the characters and the illustrations are fun and invite you in to learn even more. All-in-all these were very fun books for parents and children to share together!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com


Book Review - Sometimes, All I Need Is Me


Sometimes, All I Need Is Me


About the Book
In Sometimes All I Need Is Me you get gentle themes of resiliency, mindfulness, and self-care are brought home in this sweet and soulful picture book with charmingly graphic illustrations and a poetic text.

I love listening to music, especially samba!

It feels like my heart follows the beat.

Meet a young girl who loves her cozy home. It smells like cinnamon tea and feels like warm pajamas. But even when she’s away from home, and everything is different, she finds a way to become her own home, where she feels calm. At night, when it’s too dark and her feet are cold, her room can be a little scary. But she creates her own light when she closes her eyes and thinks of the sun. With friendliness and charm, Juliana Perdomo, in her debut as author-illustrator, shows young readers how to find comfort and confidence within. Her heartwarming picture book reassures children that sometimes, everything we need—courage, joy, peace, and love—is already inside us.


My Take on the Book
I loved this story and how well it allows a parent and child to connect and learn about things that are so important. The book introduces you to concepts of mindfulness and more as you get to talk through these issues and opens up lines of communication with young readers about how they can care for themselves and advocate for themselves too!
 ----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Tisha and the Blossoms


Tisha and the Blossoms


About the Book
In Tisha and the Blossoms, Tisha and Mommy are always having to hurry up. What would happen if they slowed down? A gentle, gorgeously illustrated story of mindfulness—and sharing the small moments.

Tisha was catching a blossom in her backyard.

“Hurry up,” cried Mommy. “You’ll be late for school.”

Tisha has spent the entire day rushing. She has to hustle for the bus in the morning, though she wants to stop and listen to the sounds around her. She has to quickly put her crayons away at school, though she’s not finished with her drawing. She even has to speed through recess so she doesn’t miss lunch. So when Mommy picks her up, Tisha asks if they can please “have a little slowdown.” What if they walked instead of taking the bus? What if they counted cars and seagulls, umbrellas and hats? What if they simply sat on a bench in the sunshine and gave names to the pigeons in the park? From the creators of Grandpa’s Top Threes comes a beautifully illustrated, tenderly told story about taking the time to experience the world around us, listen to one another, and enjoy the little things in life.

My Take on the Book
To often kids are going 100 miles a minute and fail to learn to slow down and be mindful of the world around them This book takes on mindfulness in a fun way and allows kids to understand mindfulness in a whole new way. This was a fun book for parents and children to enjoy together!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Bad Day


The Bad Day


About the Book

In The Bad Day you get a timely message about the value of collaboration and helping those in need

Squirrel is left hanging when a search for a tasty nut goes wrong. Meanwhile, Bird has his beak buried in a tree trunk, Snake is tied in a knot, Tortoise is upside-down, and Fox? Well, Fox has a suspicious stomachache. These animals are all having a VERY BAD DAY!

But soon it becomes clear that little Mouse is having the worst day of all, and his friends can only help him—and one another—if they work together.


My Take on the Book
This is a very cute story to read to your child that allows you to nicely talk about helping others in a fun and inviting way. The images were fun and drew you into the story. The story is short and to the point but you leave with a good message being shared. I found this to be a story that I could have easily read over and over again to my girls when they were young!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Book Review - Take Off Your Brave: The World through the Eyes of a Preschool Poet

Take Off Your Brave: The World through the Eyes of a Preschool Poet Hardcover



About the Book

In Take Off Your Brave: The World through the Eyes of a Preschool Poet, see the world through a small child’s eyes in this enchanting collection of poems by a four-year-old, joyfully illustrated by an award-winning artist.

For scared-sugar things, you put on your brave
And you can take it off again, when you realize it’s OK.
And that’s it. Scary and sweet. Scared-sugar.

Four-year-old Nadim puts his words on paper and gives us a glimpse of how he sees the world: one filled with glitter, magical boxes, and cuddles with Mom. A place where school smells like daffodils and honey (and sometimes dirty socks), where Wednesdays are rainbow-colored, where fish in the sea make a shhhh sound, and where everyone has love, even baddies. The poems in this anthology make for joyful reading and are paired with vibrant, child-friendly artwork by Yasmeen Ismail that invites us to full-heartedly enter Nadim’s world. At once funny and sweet, gentle and zany, this anthology may just entice readers young and old to release the poet within.

My Take on the Book
I loved this book! It is funny, but also allows you to see the world through young eyes that make you reevaluate the world around you. The poetry through the book really draws you in and in the end reading this to your young child will allow them to see how the world can be described and shared in a whole new way. 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Everywhere with You


Everywhere with You




About the Book

In Everywhere with You you get the heartwarming friendship between a girl and the dog next door tenderly evokes the power of stories to bring—and keep—us together.

Two houses stand side by side: one is home to a dog, the other to a young girl. Though a fence divides them, girl and dog build a sweet and sturdy friendship rooted in make-believe . . . and are lonely no more. Paired with moving illustrations and based on a true story, this endearing tale from the author of I, Cosmo testifies to the transformative power of creativity and inter-species friendship.

My Take on the Book
This is a wonderful story that puts the mind of a child in the forefront and allows you to better understand the world around them. This was a nice story about a girl and a dog but even more about friendship, love and more. This was a wonderful story with great illustrations that allows you to connect with your child and open their eyes to the possibilities around them.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Book Review - Nervous Nigel

Nervous Nigel


About the Book

In Nervous Nigel, a nervous crocodile from a long line of competitive swimmers must find the courage to be honest with his family in this illustrated picture book about being true to yourself.

Nigel loves swimming. The water is his favorite place to be, and he comes from a long line of swimming champions. His mother is the fastest swimmer in crocodile history, and his sister was the first crocodile to get a perfect diving score. But Nigel doesn’t like competitions. His heart hammers when the whistle blows, and his tail trembles when he hears the shouting from the sidelines. But he doesn’t want to disappoint his family, so he never tells them how he really feels. And when they enter him in his first real competition, Nigel doesn’t know what to do. Will he ever find the courage to tell his family the truth?


My Take on the Book

This is a great book for kids. The story and illustrations really draw you in from the beginning to end. The great thing of this book is the overall message of the book itself. You and your children will be drawn into the book and will leave learning a lot about people and the world around you!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Boy with Flowers in His Hair


The Boy with Flowers in His Hair




About the Book
In The Boy With Flowers in His Hair, Jarvis offers a moving tale of friendship, kindness, and acceptance, softly touching on the subjects of illness or hardship in a way that young children can understand.

Everyone likes David, the boy with flowers in his hair. He’s sweet and gentle, just like his colorful petals. David and his best friend have a great time together, finding the good puddles, making up songs, and running away from the bees. But one day David comes to school wearing a hat, and he is quiet. When he takes off the hat, his bright petals flutter down like butterflies. Now, where his flowers were looks twiggy and prickly, causing the other children to stay away. But David’s best friend has an idea—a way to help David get his color back, wielding paintbrushes and plenty of love. Sensitively told and simply illustrated, Jarvis’s story invites even the youngest children to talk about difficult subjects in an age-appropriate way—and feel inspired to support others when they face trying times.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book for boys in your life that are sensitive. The story is fun and the illustrations are beautiful. This is a story for all parents to read to their children. The story speaks of friendship, inclusion and more and in the end the story teaches you about acceptance.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

Book Review - I Am Ruby Bridges

I Am Ruby Bridges



About the Book

In I Am Ruby Bridges you get a beautiful and poetic reflection, Ruby Bridges tells her story as never before and shares the events of the momentous day in 1960 when Ruby became the first child to integrate the school system as a six year old little girl -- a personal and intimate look through a child's lens at a landmark moment in our Civil Rights history. My work will be precious,

I will be a bridge between people…

I will bridge the “gap” between black & white…

… but hopefully all people!

I suppose some things in life are just meant to be.

When Ruby Bridges was just six years old, she became the first African American student to integrate an elementary school in the South. Based on the pivotal events that happened in 1960 and told from her own point of view for the first time, in a poetic reflection on her experience that changed the face of history and the trajectory of the Civil Rights movement.

I Am Ruby Bridges offers hope and confidence to all children and is a perfect learning tool for schools and libraries to teach the story of Ruby Bridges as never before and introducing this landmark story to young readers in a powerful new way. This story of innocence and courage is brought to life by NAACP-nominated artist, Nikkolas Smith through stunning and beautiful illustrations. Embracing the meaning of her name, Bridges reflects with poignancy and heart on the way one brave little girl stood proud and tall to help build a bridge between all people and pave the path for future generations.


My Take on the Book
This was a wonderful book that really tells an amazing story of an important time in the history of the civil rights movement. The book was written from Ruby's point of view which was a lot of fun to read. The book had a great flow and as a reader I loved reading on how Ruby was the first. While you may not know what the first was, you get to know throughout every page that goes by.




----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Dragonfly Eyes


Dragonfly Eyes



About the Book
In Dragonfly Eyes Ah-Mei and her French grandmother, Nainai, share a rare bond. Maybe it’s because Ah-Mei is the only girl grandchild. Or maybe it’s because the pair look so much alike and neither resembles the rest of their Chinese family. Politics and war make 1960s Shanghai a hard place to grow up, especially when racism and bigotry are rife, and everyone seems suspicious of Nainai’s European heritage and interracial marriage. In this time of political upheaval, Ah-Mei and her family suffer much—and when the family silk business falters, they are left with almost nothing. Ah-Mei and her grandmother are resourceful, but will the tender connection they share bring them enough strength to carry through? This multigenerational saga by one of China’s most esteemed children’s authors takes the reader from 1920s France to a ravaged postwar Shanghai and through the convulsions of the Cultural Revolution.

 
My Take on the Book
This was a powerful book that shares the story of a family that has many trials and tribulations. One of the things I appreciated was that the book brings in a ton of history of Japan and China. The historical tie in helps the reader to better understand the plight of the family too. As someone that loves historical fiction this book really was one that stood out. While the author does use history throughout the book, it is well coordinated throughout the entire book which makes the book even more enjoyable. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Friday, July 22, 2022

Book Review - Just Like Jesse Owens

Just Like Jesse Owens



About the Book

In Just Like Jesse Owens, civil rights icon, Ambassador Andrew Young and his daughter, Paula Young Shelton, deliver a powerful oral history about a special day in Andrew’s childhood that changed him forever. This story of race relations in the 1930s South is illustrated by bestselling Caldecott Honor winner Gordon C. James.

As a boy, Andrew Young learned a vital lesson from his parents when a local chapter of the Nazi party instigated racial unrest in their hometown of New Orleans in the 1930s. While Hitler's teachings promoted White supremacy, Andrew's father, told him that when dealing with the sickness of racism, "Don't get mad, get smart." To drive home this idea, Andrew Young Senior took his family to the local movie house to see a newsreel of track star Jesse Owens racing toward Olympic gold, showing the world that the best way to promote equality is to focus on the finish line. The teaching of his parents, and Jesse Owens' example, would be the guiding principles that shaped Andrew's beliefs in nonviolence and built his foundation as a civil rights leader and advisor to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The story is vividly recalled by Paula Young Shelton, Andrew's daughter.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that brings together strong concepts of advocacy and nonviolence. I loved the story and how this special day really guided the life of Andrew Young. I found the story to be amazing as it really shows how one day can change a life for the better. The book had great images, but even better was the messages thoughout the book.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Clifford the Big Red Friend Story Box

Clifford the Big Red Friend Story Box



About the Book
In Clifford the Big Red Friend Story Box join Clifford and his best friend, Emily Elizabeth, in this box set of six classic stories!

Young readers can now carry their favorite Clifford the Big Red Dog storybooks with them wherever they go in one convenient box set with a handle!

The story box includes six bestselling 8x8 paperback books, including Clifford’s Manners, Clifford’s Good Deeds, Clifford and the Grouchy Neighbors, Clifford and the Big Storm, Clifford Grows Up, and Clifford’s Pals.

My Take on the Book
If you love Clifford and his friends you will love this story box. In this box you get eight great books that let you enjoy not only Clifford but all of his friends. The books are easy to read and are great to share together as a family. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, July 16, 2022

Book Review - Change Your Questions, Change Your Life Workbook: Master Your Mindset Using Question Thinking


Change Your Questions, Change Your Life Workbook: Master Your Mindset Using Question Thinking



About the Book

Based on the bestseller Change Your Questions, Change Your Life, this workbook is a practical guide that helps readers ask the right questions for successful change.

In the bestselling classic, Change Your Questions, Change Your Life, Dr. Marilee Adams introduces Question Thinking, which shows how you can change your questions and your mindset for the most successful outcomes. This workbook puts those original ideas into action and makes them easy to implement.

In this workbook you get to choose an area of your life that you want to improve and then apply the principles and practices of Question Thinking to experience the benefits of this system firsthand. At the center of this work is the Choice Map, which helps you recognize the likely impact of the questions you ask. This book provides tools, warm-up exercises, somatic practices, and learning scenarios that bring the practical applications of Question Thinking into your professional and personal life. Thoroughly engaging, it includes how the Question Thinking protocols can help you switch from a controlling Judger Mindset to a flexible Learner mindset and learn how to facilitate more effective meetings and conversations.

Although this workbook can serve as a companion to the bestselling book, it has been designed to stand on its own. In the book, the fable’s hero undergoes a transformative journey by using Question Thinking, and this workbook helps readers undergo a similar transformation.


My Take on the Book
This workbook is a great add-on to the book Change Your Questions, Change Your Life. This workbook walks you through so many steps to be able to better understand and change the way that you use questions. The book is practical and easy to use and it definitely helps you to change the way that you think. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Change Your Questions, Change Your Life


Change Your Questions, Change Your Life




About the Book

In Change Your Questions, Change Your Life, discover how the questions we ask ourselves and others can either expand our mindsets and open us up to exciting new possibilities or constrict our mindsets and limit our choices for successful change.

Change Your Questions, Change Your Life is an international bestseller that has sold over 400,000 copies in twenty-two languages. People have discovered that, when we’re looking for answers, we often forget to take the time to ask the right questions. But, as Dr. Marilee Adams shows, intentionally using questions helps us make wiser choices, find solutions, and transform our personal and professional lives.

Dr. Adams uses a highly engaging fable to illustrate how great results begin with great questions. The book’s hero, Ben Knight, learns such breakthrough insights and undergoes a transformative journey. As we read how his coach takes him step by step through the twelve powerful tools of Question Thinking, we also learn how to apply the same information and practical skills in our own lives. At the center of this work is the Choice Map, which provides a simple yet powerful image to predict the likely results of the questions we ask ourselves and others. It tells us how to change our questions and our mindsets for the most rewarding outcomes.

The book contains a new chapter delving into what neuroscience reveals about managing our stresses and fears more effectively using methodssuch as those described in this book. It includes powerful and practical tools that help readers switch from a constricting Judger to an expansive Learner mindset, achieve the results they desire, and foster breakthroughs.


My Take on the Book
Questions are not always easy to grapple with. We struggle at times to find the right questions to ask, but in this book you learn that when we work to change our questions we open ourselves to even more. This book challenges you to think broader than we may have in the past. This book also allows you to see that the world that we have is so complex and that though we grow up and build habits that may limit the questions that we ask, the the more questions that we do ask and the way we ask them will help us to be better leaders. This book uses practical ways to help the reader to begin changing the way we use questions for the good of the work that we do.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Innovative Executive: Leading Intelligently in the Age of Disruption

The Innovative Executive: Leading Intelligently in the Age of Disruption



About the Book

In The Innovative Executive: Leading Intelligently in the Age of Disruption Bella Rushi helps business leaders react to ever-changing environments with flexible thinking and adaptability to create work cultures that thrive on innovation, risk-taking, and creativity.

Every executive knows that smart innovation is essential for success. But how do you create new growth strategies and address old business models that are at risk due to competition, global epidemics, or other drastic changes in the marketplace? Today, many companies don’t know how to select the “right projects” to pursue new growth opportunities. They struggle to find the best market opportunities and can’t decide how to efficiently allocate resources for R&D. Meanwhile, new and old competitors alike are disrupting the marketplace in dismaying ways. How do you innovate and win in today’s fast-moving business climate?

In The Innovative Executive, internationally renowned Bella Rushi argues that innovation should not only be a priority for survival but also for creating new sustainable growth. Companies need to flex their innovation muscles to reframe their business models, develop new capabilities, and leverage technology. Without the right methodology and framework, however, it’s difficult to succeed. The Innovative Executive will show you how to build an innovation agenda. Furthermore, it will help you align your innovation goals with business strategies and invest in ideas that will open future opportunities.

Rushi examines how innovative executives articulate the dream of success and effectively integrate key capabilities to focus on customer-centricity, leverage technology, and cultivate innovation competency and collaboration with their networks. Through stories of successful companies and her experience consulting with Fortune 500 companies, Rushi helps business leaders react to ever-changing environments with flexible thinking and adaptability to create work cultures that thrive on innovation, risk-taking, and creativity. 


My Take on the Book
This book is full of amazing advice for both large and small businesses. The author brings in concepts that people can understand no matter if they are an entrepreneur or a CEO of a large organization. Throughout the book the author allows the reader to examine culture, business structure and the customer experience in a whole new way. This allows you to reframe your own thinking about how your own business is run and set a new path for where you want to lead your own organization. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - I Wish I'd Known This: 6 Career-Accelerating Secrets for Women Leaders


I Wish I'd Known This: 6 Career-Accelerating Secrets for Women Leaders




About the Book
In I Wish I'd Known This: 6 Career-Accelerating Secrets for Women Leaders uncover the six blind spots that derail women’s career paths and learn strategies to effectively overcome them for an impactful, sustainable career.

Professional women are subject to blind spots—obstacles that can minimize career potential, impact, or advancement. Some women end up drifting instead of driving through their careers, going it alone instead of building a posse, and leaving their “reputationality” (that special something we are known for) to chance.

Authors and executive coaches Brenda Wensil and Kathryn Heath have spent decades coaching more than 800 women and working with women executives, middle managers, and professionals across industries and age groups. In this book, they outline six challenges women commonly face on their professional journeys and map a way to accelerate through them for higher-impact careers. Readers will learn how to:

  • Set a vision, strategy, and plan for their careers
  • Learn who they are, what they offer, and how to tell their stories
  • Seek and act on feedback to guide their paths
  • Prepare and practice for the best outcomes
  • Enlist help and support from others
Effective women leaders inspire innovation, sustain profitability, manage risk, and create environments for inclusion and diversity to increase. Chock full of strategies, stories, and practical skills, this book will hasten a woman’s progress and impact as a professional woman and liberate her to excel in her career on her own terms.

My Take on the Book
This book provides a great map for women to look and explore their own leadership journey. The book talks through a number of skills that they can use to advance their own career. The book provides the reader an opportunity to develop strategies that can be put into place immediately. As a father to two girls this book is one that I know will help them as they get older. I know that they are not ready for this yet, they will be and the authors have really made a book that is easy to use. I love the stories that are interspersed throughout the book as they make the concepts come alive!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Revenge of Zombert

Revenge of Zombert



About the Book
In Revenge of Zombert, the final episode of the ZomBert Chronicles, can Bert and Mellie foil a plot to turn the entire town of Lambert into ravenous zombie consumers?

A thrilling finale to an arch mystery-adventure series pits Bert the cat against the infamous YummCo Labs. Bert was a bedraggled stray before nine-year-old Mellie Gore adopted him—and has already escaped from YummCo once, vowing to find a way back to free the other captives. Now the Yumms have nabbed Bert again, and he wants revenge. Mellie’s plans to rescue her pet are interrupted when the entire town, including her own parents, begin turning into YummCo-product-consuming zombies. And why is Mellie herself suddenly starved for food to fuel her buzzing brain? What exactly is happening at the YummCo Labs? With trademark wit and a taste for the playfully macabre, award-winning creators Kara LaReau and Ryan Andrews close out the ZomBert Chronicles with a funny and suspenseful flourish.


My Take on the Book
This is a great end to the series. While I will not give any spoilers, I will say that Bert and Mellie bring forth an epic adventure as they take on YummCo. The book brings forth humor and suspense and it is a book that draws you in from page one to the very end. The book is a ton of fun and to be honest I am sad that this was the final book in the series!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Book Review - Reach: Create the Biggest Possible Audience for Your Message, Book, or Cause






About the Book

In Reach: Create the Biggest Possible Audience for Your Message, Book, or Cause, cut through the noise and create the biggest possible audience for your work. This book offers a proven method for expanding your reach online so you can make a meaningful difference for others.

Anyone who makes the bold decision to put their ideas out into the world wants to reach as many people as possible. Unfortunately, too many think it’s a question of numbers—the more people you can get in front of, the better. But true reach is about expanding your audience while making a meaningful and enduring difference that has a lasting impact.

Reach provides a clear and structured approach to creating a successful online presence that will create the biggest possible impact for any message. Becky Robinson shares a framework to cultivate followers that requires four commitments: value, consistency, endurance, and generosity. When you make these four commitments, you’ll deliver memorable content on a regular basis while keeping the long-term view in mind and being committed to helping and sharing with others.

Robinson offers guidance on having realistic expectations and meaningful goals, encouraging readers to reflect on what they want to accomplish and with whom they want to connect. Readers will also learn how to overcome discouragements, create and repurpose content, and focus on the everyday activities that will spread ideas.

This is a long-term process—one that doesn’t normally offer immediate results or guarantee the desired outcome. But, as Robinson reminds us, creating from a place of generosity can lead to benefits greater than you can imagine.

My Take on the Book
The author of this book has done a great job at helping you really think through thee things you need to do to make your creation stand out amid others. I really appreciated the four reach commitments that she talks about (Value, Consistency, Longevity and Generosity). as these really do help you reframe your approach in many different ways. The book itself is easy to follow with practical advice that you can follow and implement immediately. As you read this, it is like the author is holding your hand through the process and helping you extend the reach of your own creative endeavor. Whether you are writing your own book, have a blog or some other business, this book will help you push yourself further and extend your own reach to an even broader audience! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Book Review - The Mentor's Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships

The Mentor's Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships



About the Book

In The Mentor's Guide explore the latest edition of an authoritative resource on professional and educational mentoring

In the newly revised Third Edition of The Mentor’s Guide: Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships, veteran mentoring experts Lois J. Zachary and Lisa Z. Fain deliver a thoughtful and rich exploration of the critical process of mentoring. The book offers practical tools for facilitating the mentoring experience from beginning to end.

In addition to walking you through the four phases of mentoring—preparing, negotiating enabling growth, and coming to closure—this important book provides:

  • Brand-new content on diversity, inclusion, and equity, as well as tools to enhance virtual mentoring relationships
  • The ethics of mentoring, including how to handle common ethical pitfalls and mistakes
  • Hands-on worksheets and exercises to facilitate the mentoring and learning process
  • Perfect for leaders, managers, and educators, in any career or professional setting, The Mentor’s Guide is an indispensable tool to help navigate your learning and mentoring journey.


My Take on the Book
This is a great guide for anyone looking to work as a mentor to others. The book is practical and really adds in a ton of worksheets and exercises to help with the mentoring and learning process. This book is one that I wish I had had when I first became a leader in my work as there were so many twists and turns that I had to learn and this one walks you step-by-step through these turns and helps you be be a better leader and mentor in the end!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Book Review - Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good

Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good



About the Book

in Loki A Bad God's Guide to Being Good you get Wry, witty and very funny diary-style story packed with doodles and comic strips about the frustration trickster god Loki feels at having to live trapped in the body of a weedy eleven-year-old boy.

After one trick too many, Loki is banished to live on Earth as a "normal" school boy. Forbidden from using his AWESOME godly powers, Loki must show moral improvement. As he records his lies THE TRUTH in his magical (judgemental) diary, it becomes clear Loki hasn’t a clue how to tell good from evil, trust from tricks, or friends from enemies.

My Take on the Book
This was a super fun book from start to finish. It is full of jokes that all ages will enjoy! If you love mythology and humor, this book brings both to the forefront. Loki is known as a trickster and definitely gets himself in trouble throughout the book. Even when he tries to do good, it tends to turn out in a way that is not what he hoped for. The book is fun, funny and entertaining and all ages will enjoy!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, May 23, 2022

Book Review - The Gifts That Bind Us

The Gifts That Bind Us



About the Book

Magic-sensitive Maeve and her friends face off against an insidious threat to their school and their city in this spellbinding sequel to All Our Hidden Gifts.

It’s senior year, and Maeve and her friends are practicing and strengthening their mystical powers, while Maeve’s new relationship with Roe is exhilarating. But as Roe’s rock star dreams start to take shape, and Fiona and Lily make plans for faraway colleges, Maeve, who struggles in school, worries about life without them—will she be selling incense here in Kilbeg, Ireland, until she’s fifty? Alarm bells sound for the coven when the Children of Brigid, a right-wing religious organization, quickly gains influence throughout the city—and when its charismatic front man starts visiting Maeve in her dreams. When Maeve’s power starts to wane, the friends realize that all the local magic is being drained—or rather, stolen. With lines increasingly blurred between friend and foe, the supernatural and the psychological, Maeve and the others must band together to protect the place, and the people, they love. A thrilling sequel to All Our Hidden Gifts.

Find The Gifts That Bind Us on Amazon.

My Take on the Book
This was the type of book that really grabs you from the very beginning and you want to keep reading, page after page until you are complete. The book has great characters and a mix of magic and realism that allows you to easily connect to the story itself. This is a great sequel to the first book. While it would help to read the first book first, you could still read this and enjoy it, even without the context of the initial book. The author really paints a great picture of a teenage world that may be new, while making it familiar all the same.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com