Dad of Divas' Reviews

Thursday, July 22, 2021

Book Review - Poison Ivy: Thorns

Poison Ivy: Thorns



About the Book
New York Times bestselling author of The DUFF Kody Keplinger and artist Sara Kipin reimagine an iconic DC antihero with a gothic-horror twist.

There's something unusual about Pamela Isley--the girl who hides behind her bright red hair. The girl who won't let anyone inside to see what's lurking behind the curtains. The girl who goes to extreme lengths to care for a few plants. Pamela Isley doesn't trust other people, especially men. They always want something from her that she's not willing to give.

When cute goth girl Alice Oh comes into Pamela's life after an accident at the local park, she makes her feel like pulling back the curtains and letting the sunshine in. But there are dark secrets deep within the Isley house. Secrets Pamela's father has warned must remain hidden. Secrets that could turn deadly and destroy the one person who ever cared about Pamela, or as her mom preferred to call her...Ivy.

Will Pamela open herself up to the possibilities of love, or will she forever be transformed by the thorny vines of revenge?


My Take on the Book
This was a great book with a great story. It is a fresh take on the character of Poison Ivy and I love how well the author has done to explore all aspects of the characters. You learn about Pamela's secrets, but also why she surrounds herself with plants. There is a reason behind the love she shares with these plants which says a lot about her as an individual. The book explores Poison Ivy and makes her the villain that she becomes. The book is a great backstory that any fan of Poison Ivy will love.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, July 8, 2021

Book Review - Jop and Blip Wanna Know #1: Can You Hear a Penguin Fart on Mars?: And Other Excellent Questions

Jop and Blip Wanna Know #1: Can You Hear a Penguin Fart on Mars?: And Other Excellent Questions



About the Book

Two curious robots seek the answers to life’s most pressing—and hilarious—questions in this full-color graphic novel series by Jim Benton, New York Times bestselling author and creator of Franny K. Stein and Catwad!

Join Jop and Blip as they follow their curiosity and investigate these seemingly odd questions using their own brand of logic, critical thinking skills, STEM knowledge, and humor.

• Can you hear a penguin fart on Mars?
• What if you wanted a dragon sandwich?
• Why do we need TWO ears?

With Jop and Blip, everything is worth knowing! Perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey and Dan Gutman!


My Take on the Book
This is a very funny book that bring together memorable characters that will ask questions that young readers will love. The book not only will make readers laugh, but it also challenges readers to learn along the way too! As a fan of Jim Benton in the past, this book is a fun one that will make you laugh, but also will make you ask for more in the end. This was a great book to read together with your kids and you both share a laugh together!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - World of Reading: Maleficent

World of Reading: Maleficent



About the Book
Maleficent tells readers about a day in the life of an evil fairy, just in time for Halloween. It's no surprise that she has fun scaring everyone around her, to the best of her ability.

This is the second title in an all-new Level 1 World of Reading series that features Disney Villains. The first book features the Queen of Hearts, and a story about the Evil Queen is coming soon.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book that lets you get to know Maleficient and how evil she can be. It lets you know her powers and the fact that she does not like to be left out of things. The book provides a bit of a warning for anyone that wishes to cross her and a young reader will come to love (and fear) her for who she is. The book is a ton of fun for any age reader that loves Disney villains.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Big City Greens: Blood Moon

Big City Greens: Blood Moon



About the Book

Cricket and Tilly are excited for their first Halloween in Big City.

When a spooky blood moon turns their farm animals into zombies, will their night of fun be threatened?

Find out in this retelling of the series' popular Halloween episode.

Come celebrate Halloween with Cricket Green, Tilly, Remy Remington, and more!


My Take on the Book
This is a great retelling of a fun episode. For anyone that loves Cricket and Tilly this is a great book for Halloween or really for any time. The book is a fun story as well as includes fun images of great characters too. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - 5-Minute Villains Stories

5-Minute Villains Stories



About the Book
A collection of 12 stories featuring all the worst Disney Villains! Join Cruella, Maleficant, Captain Hook, and more in the treacherous tales!
 

My Take on the Book
This book is an anthology of 12, 5 minute stories that brings together villains that you know and love.  

Each story is unique and you get to see a new side of each villain in the book. My daughter is a big Disney villain fan and this one gives you a great look at so many of them. 

To be honest we loved all of the stories, but my daughter said her favorite were the ones about Peter Pan. 

The book was full of great stories, images and more and with the fact that the stories are only 5 minutes in length, they are great to read together but also to allow for young readers to enjoy on their own too. 

I believe you and your child will enjoy all of the 5 minute stories in this anthology.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Evil Thing: A Villains Graphic Novel

Evil Thing: A Villains Graphic Novel



About the Book

“Sure, you know the story of those wretched Dalmatians. But don’t I deserve a chance to tell my own side of the story? It is fabulous, after all.

”You may think you know the tale: a happy young couple, one hundred and one Dalmatians, and the woman determined to turn them into a perfectly spotted fur coat.

But who is that monster, that scene-stealer, that evil thing? Who is the woman behind it all? Before the car crash, before the dognapping, before furs became her only true love, there was another story. This is the story of Cruella De Vil—in her own words.

Even the cruelest villains have best friends, true loves, and daring dreams. After all, nothing is as simple as black and white.

In this first graphic novel adaptation of the New York Times best-selling Villains series, Arielle Jovellanos brings Serena Valentino’s darkly captivating world to life with beautiful and haunting illustrations in a stunning new visual format.


My Take on the Book
This is a great new way to look at an iconic villain. If you have ever been interested in Cruella De Wil, this new graphic novel will challenge your notions of what you know or at least what you think you know. It is a great story that will engage you from beginning to end. The illustrations jump off the page and really draw you into the story and into who Cruella really is. I know for me this is a book that really explores things about this villain that I could not have known, but I am glad to know now and any Disney fan will love this story too!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Nightmare Before Christmas 13 Days of Christmas

Nightmare Before Christmas 13 Days of Christmas



About the Book

What happens when two holidays collide? Thirteen days of frighteningly festive fun! Count down the days to see Jack, Sally, and their Halloween Town friends put a spooky spin on Christmas traditions!
 
Jack Skellington is here from Halloween Town.
You’ll notice his handiwork scattered around.
This year, he’s decided to play Sandy Claws.
But when Halloween creates Christmas . . . you might see a few flaws.


From the minds of Tim Burton, Disney Imagineers, and acclaimed artist Jerrod Maruyama comes a picture book celebrating the classic animated film and the Disneyland ride it inspired.

Renowned Imagineers Steven Davison and Carolyn Gardner's text turns turtle doves and French hens into floating candles and true-love potions, accompanied by beloved Burton characters painted in a new art style that will appeal to fans of all ages.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book for anyone that loves the Nightmare Before Christmas. Tis is a fun book that brings together amazing artwork but also some of the characters you know and love, but also new characters too. You get the original look and feel of the movie, but the concept is new and a ton of fun too. My girls loved the story and the characters and you will too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com