Dad of Divas' Reviews

Friday, January 10, 2020

Book Review - Rise Up: Ordinary Kids with Extraordinary Stories

Rise Up: Ordinary Kids with Extraordinary Stories



About the Book

From surviving a plane crash in the jungle to striking against climate change, you won’t believe the incredible stories of the challenges these brave kids from around the world have overcome! Rise Up: Ordinary Kids in Extraordinary Stories features 29 tales of amazing young girls and boys who have achieved the unimaginable. The stories range from triumphing over illness and injury to overcoming bullying. Entries include Sweden's Greta Thunberg, whose youth climate activism sparked a global movement, and Pakistan's Ayesha Farooq, who became Pakistan's first female fighter pilot at age 25.

Each incredible story is narrated in an exciting and engaging style, and is combined with visually stunning illustrations by Amy Blackwell. Children can lose themselves in the remarkable true-life tales of ingenuity, courage, and commitment. Practical tips and skills accompany each story, from how to tie useful knots to send coded messages, and how to be more environmentally green to how to survive a shark attack. This useful information provides a springboard for children to apply this knowledge in their own lives. These empowering stories show that no matter who you are, how old you are, and what you do, you can rise to the challenge.



My Take on the Book
A great book that was truly inspirational and one that you could really read to your kids. The book is written for kids in mind, but it was also filled with real stories that you will be able to connect to throughout the entire book. There is advice smattered through the entire book. My youngest daughter loves reading these as she was able to connect to so many of them.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Little Heroes of Color: 50 Who Made a BIG Difference

Little Heroes of Color: 50 Who Made a BIG Difference



About the Book

Say hello to heroes! This book introduces preschoolers to 50 men and women of color who have changed the world!

A perfect book for tomorrow's leaders, Little Heroes of Color educates and inspires by showing readers 50 trailblazers from a range of races and ethnicities. Bold colors and simple captions bring the youngest readers face-to-face with those who've shaped history and broken boundaries in science, the arts, government, and more.



My Take on the Book
This was such a great book that allowed young readers to get inspired by the heroes spotlighted in the book. The book really shows the amazing qualities of each hero in a way that young kids can understand. What was great about this was how diverse the group of heroes were. Most kids do not get introduced to such diverse people and this book does just that!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Book Review - Diana: Princess of the Amazons


About the Book
From New York Times bestselling authors Shannon Hale and Dean Hale comes a heartfelt story about making mistakes, learning the hard way, and growing up to become a hero.

Eleven-year-old Diana leads an idyllic life on the island of Themyscira. Cut off from the rest of the world, she's beginning to feel a little alone. Though she has a loving mother and many "aunties," she is an only child. In fact, the only child on the entire island!

After an escapade goes wrong, Diana gets in trouble for not living up to the Amazonian standard. She just can't seem to measure up no matter what she does. Every other person on the island is an adult proficient in their trade and mighty in body, while she is gangly, sometimes clumsy, and not particularly good at anything. She's not Wonder Woman... yet anyway. What Diana needs is a friend; someone her own age whom she can talk to. But when she decides to take matters into her own hands, she encounters the unexpected!


My Take on the Book
This is a fun new way to look at the future Wonder Woman. There are very few books I have seen as of late that allows you to get into the mind of a young Diana. It was fun to think of her as a young girl with the concerns of a young girl instead of the self-assured woman you usually see when she is an adult in comics. The book portrays Diana as a real kid, with feelings of a girl and insecurities of a young girl as well. It is a real book that your kids will relate to, especially if you have daughters!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Book Review - The Way Home For Wolf

The Way Home For Wolf



About the Book
A touching story of an independent-minded wolf cub who finds his way home.

Wolf cub Wilf doesn't want help from anyone. Whatever it is, he can do it all by himself. But when he finds himself lost and alone in the chill of the Arctic night, Wilf discovers that sometimes we all need the helping hand of a friend.

A stunningly illustrated story from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.


My Take on the Book
This was such a nice story that shows the power of people helping others and learning about how someone can pass this gift of helping others on. The book is a beautiful story with amazing images and brings so many animals together that work together in a unique way to help a friend in need, even if you do not know the friend.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)

Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)



About the Book
Mama is taking Bunny to work today, and Bunny couldn't be more excited! But when the office isn't all it's cracked up to be, Bunny has to get creative to save the office from boredom.

It's morning when Mama gets the call that the bunnysitter is sick. But Papa is out of town and school is out. That means Bunny gets to go to work at Mama's office! But the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be, even with its many distractions. Boredom and hunger strike, and Bunny has to take up the mantle to save Mama's office from the workday blues.

Bunny Business is the perfect read aloud for working parents and their children. They will laugh and cheer at the ingenuity of one bunny's impromptu Take Your Child to Work Day!


My Take on the Book
For anyone that has a child that has come with them to work you know that things may not go as planned and you will see what happens when this momma bunny brings her son with her. This is a fun book that shows that even though a child can get into trouble, not all trouble is bad and it can just be fun too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Alpacas with Maracas

Alpacas with Maracas



About the Book
Macca and Al are two alpacas with a lot of enthusiasm but not a lot of talent. Can they find the right act in time for the talent show?

"You're a genius, Al! We don't need a big fracas!
We can't sing or play, brother, but we can shake like no other.
We just need... MARACAS!"

Macca and his best friend Al are always looking for ways to brighten their days. When they see an ad for a talent show, they're all in. But unfortunately, everything the cuddly duo tries, from singing and dancing to magic and gymnastics, is mediocre at best... until they discover the perfect act. How will the audience respond to these alpacas with maracas?

With quirky rhymes and adorable illustrations, this fun-filled sequel to Macca the Alpaca will have kids shimmying, grooving, wiggling, and moving along with Macca and Al. Chika chika cha cha cha! Ticka ticka ta ta ta!



My Take on the Book

This was a great book that lets you see two best friends having a ton of fun together and trying to figure out what they can do for the talent show. I love seeing that they try hard and put their whole hearts into everything that they do whether they are good or not. This was a ton of fun to read and with the rhyming cadence and illustrations you are brought into the book even further.  The pictures are a ton of fun and you see topics of friendship, hard work and more !


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Macca the Alpaca

Macca the Alpaca



About the Book
Macca the Alpaca is the alpaca-llama mashup of the year! Perfect for fans of Oi, Frog! and You Can't Take anElephant on the Bus. Macca is an alpaca. He loves splashing in puddles, and he gives the very best cuddles. Harmer is a llama. He's tall, strong and woolly, but he's also a BIG BULLY. When a friendly alpaca comes face-to-face with a meanie llama,he soon realises that LLAMA DRAMA lies ahead. But, who knows, perhaps the differences that separate the two will be exactly what brings them together in the end. A heartwarming story of friendship, acceptance and the value of being yourself.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that shows you that you can accomplish anything that you put your mind to and that someone, even someone smaller can go up against a bully and come out ahead. This book is so much fun with a rhyming cadence and illustrations that are a ton of fun as well. The book touches on topics of friendship, acceptance and the idea of being true to yourself!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com