Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2012

Monday, December 31, 2012

OZ THE GREAT AND POWERFUL Twitter Sweepstakes - Win a Trip to "The Emerald City"!


Disney announced today that they are launching a New Year’s Sweepstakes and an Instant Win game on December 31st in support of their upcoming, Sam Raimi-helmed film “Oz The Great and Powerful,” which opens in U.S. theaters on March 8, 2013. The promotion runs through January 31, 2013, and offers a Grand Prize as well as Instant Win Prizes.

Inspired by the wizard’s journey, the Road to the Emerald City Sweepstakes invites fans to Tweet their New Year’s resolutions, using #DisneyOz, for a chance to win the Grand Prize—a 4-day/3-night trip to Seattle, Wash., for two.

Visit the official Oz The Great and Powerful Facebook page to watch the Tweets pave the way to the Emerald City and click on select bricks to instantly win prizes, including $100 gift cards for HSN (Home Shopping Network), $50 Visa cards, $10 Starbucks gift cards, copies of the L. Frank Baum Book, “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz,” signed movie posters, and other “Oz The Great and Powerful” products.

Visit the Road to the Emerald City experience, play the Instant Win game, and view Official Rules: https://www.facebook.com/OzTheGreatAndPowerful

For Sweepstakes: No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Open to legal residents 13 years or older of 50 U.S. and D.C. and Canada (excluding Quebec). Entrants must have a Twitter account, tweet a New Year’s wish, and include #DisneyOz. Starts 12:00:01 PM ET on 12/27/12, ends 11:59:59 PM ET on 1/31/13. Sponsor: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures.

For Instant Win Game: No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited. Open to legal residents 13 years or older of 50 U.S. and D.C. and Canada (excluding Quebec). Entrants must select the Instant Win Bonus Brick in the game located at www.facebook.com/OzTheGreatAndPowerful. Starts 12:00:01 PM ET on 12/27/12, ends 11:59:59 PM ET on 1/31/13. Sponsor: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. Follow the film on Twitter: https://twitter.com/disneyozmovie

ABOUT THE MOVIE
Disney’s fantastical adventure “Oz The Great and Powerful,” directed by Sam Raimi, imagines the origins of L. Frank Baum’s beloved wizard character. When Oscar Diggs (James Franco), a small-time circus magician with dubious ethics, is hurled away from dusty Kansas to the vibrant Land of Oz, he thinks he’s hit the jackpot—fame and fortune are his for the taking—that is until he meets three witches, Theodora (Mila Kunis), Evanora (Rachel Weisz) and Glinda (Michelle Williams), who are not convinced he is the great wizard everyone’s been expecting. Reluctantly drawn into the epic problems facing the Land of Oz and its inhabitants, Oscar must find out who is good and who is evil before it is too late. Putting his magical arts to use through illusion, ingenuity—and even a bit of wizardry—Oscar transforms himself not only into the great wizard but into a better man as well.

“Oz The Great and Powerful” is produced by Joe Roth, with screen story by Mitchell Kapner and screenplay by Mitchell Kapner and David Lindsay-Abaire. Grant Curtis, Palak Patel, Josh Donen and Philip Steuer are serving as executive producers. “Oz The Great and Powerful” opens in U.S. theaters on March 8, 2013.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Book Review - You, Your Family and The Internet

About the Book
How may Christians better understand the dangers and opportunities offered by the Internet? This excellent resource, written by an expert in the field, explains and illustrates what the technologies are and guides readers to draw on biblical principles (such as self-control and accountability) to help them to apply these to the dangers at hand. It also encourages believers to make the best use of opportunities that arise from judicious use of the World Wide Web.

My Take on the Book
This was an interesting book that will definitely make you think twice about the internet. The book was filled with great data and history about the internet, but even better than this it provides families with important questions to consider when going online after each chapter. The book was practical and you easily could step out of each chapter with a ton of information and resources that will help you be much more savvy when you or your kids are going online again. The book does have a spiritual slant which makes the book different but also relevant for Christian families today. You can truly tell that the author knows his stuff, but the book is written so that anyone can understand it and leave reading it with a much sounder grasp on the internet and other online aspects that we all should be aware of.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Friday, December 28, 2012

Book Review - The Power of the Penny


About the Book
Los Angeles-based author and visionary Elaina Redmond recently released her new children’s book The Power of the Penny which teaches children the values of civic duty, philanthropy and financial literacy. In addition to promoting the book, Ms. Redmond sees it as a tool for starting a whole movement and program with the mission of rebuilding America, both economically and spiritually.

Inspired by her personal hero Abraham Lincoln, Ms. Redmond believes in teaching children from a very young age how to save and also give back to their communities. As quoted in her book, "The penny teaches us that no matter how big the world around us is or how small we might feel, each of us can make a difference everyday."

Abraham Lincoln is the crux of the book’s message and whom Redmond portrays in her book as “the role model for kids becoming heroes in their own lives.” By teaching children the values of savings and service that Lincoln himself displayed as a human being and leader, Redmond states "we can make big change!"

Redmond’s vision is to generate a Power of the Penny movement, for both kids and adults, a domino effect of creating awareness for the penny's symbolic worth and the strength of the individual in helping Rebuild America, economically and spiritually. The book is filled with fun activities and exercises that exemplify the capacity for small denominations to cause big change. “Penny Parties”, one activity outlined in the program, focuses on philanthropic gatherings of small groups with large charitable goals. Two free videos, a free 35 page Penny Toolkit and other information are featured on the website at www.thepowerofthepenny.com

Redmond has also established the Penny Program, where banks and schools make it easy for children to learn about money and civics and start savings accounts. To facilitate the Penny program and book donations to local schools and clubs, Redmond has established The Power Of The Penny Foundation, am emerging nonprofit that is fiscally sponsored by the Pan American Bank Scholarship Foundation in Los Angeles. Donations to the foundation are 100% tax-deductible. The Penny Program is in the process of being formatted with The National Liberty Museum in Philadelphia as an ongoing exhibition. Schools, libraries and other organizations, including Popular Community Bank, Little Gym in Torrance and San Diego Library are already using the Penny book and program to spread the crucial message of fiscal understanding, civic duty, and hope among today’s youth.

My Take on the Book
I think most of us when we pick up a penny or look at a penny, we do not think much about what is inscribed on the penny or maybe even the man who is on the penny. Elaina Redmond has taken the penny and brought new purpose into its meaning . With the explanation of what the words liberty, In God We Trust, and E Pluribus Unum mean, Elaina has written a story for children (and adults) about the Power of the Penny and the inspiration in the life of Abraham Lincoln.

She challenges her readers to become like Abraham Lincoln. She wants us to focus on being kind, remembering that one person can change circumstances in their life or others lives, to practice honesty, persistence, and treating others with respect. Elaina reminds us that the men and women who helped form our United States of America based the Declaration of Independence on those principles and the principles of equality for all.

This is an excellent book and I encourage each adult to read it to their special child. However as I mentioned above, it is story with principles for adults too.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Express Yourself!: Use art to explore the emotions inside you!

About the Book
What does your art reveal about you? The cool questions, colorful quizzes, and quick art projects in this book will help you explore and express your feelings. You'll learn that how you do something can be more important than how well you do it. This book isn't about creating "perfect" art--it's about creating art as a way to discover something new about yourself and the world around you.

My Take on the Book
This book reveals how art can help girls explore their feelings. Cool questions, colorful quizzes, and quick art projects guide girls through their emotions. With each fun activity, girls explore how they do something rather than how well they do it. This book doesn't teach girls how to create “perfect” art—it teaches them how to use art as a way to discover something new about themselves and the world around them. The new Girl of the Year 2013 titles and Express Yourself activity book will be available on January 1, 2013, wherever books are sold, as well as through the American Girl catalog, at americangirl.com, and at American Girl retail stores

The projects allow the girl to use all of her senses to explore her feelings and her ideas.

I highly recommend this book as a gift for any young girl who enjoys art: whether it is doodling, drawing, sculpting, painting,etc. Maybe the young girl just needs an outlet for expression and will find the art hidden inside herself.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Saige

About the Book
Saige’s new school year isn’t starting out well. She and her best friend, Tessa, seem to be growing apart. And because of funding cuts, Saige won’t have art—her favorite class—at school this year. Her grandma Mimi suggests that she do something about it, such as lead a “save the arts” parade and fund-raiser on Mimi’s horse Picasso. Soon Saige is training Picasso for the parade, which helps take her mind off her troubles at school. Then Mimi is injured in an accident, and Saige waits and worries, wondering what she can do. Can she ride Picasso in the parade and make her grandma proud? Can she still raise money to protect art at school? Saige is determined to try.

About the Author
Jessie Haas, author of the 2013 Girl of the Year books, Saige and Saige Paints the Sky, grew up on a Vermont farm, riding, reading horse books, and struggling to train her own horse. Many years later, she is again training a horse, a young mare named Robin, who is the model for Georgia in the Saige books. “As a kid, training was frustrating for me and my horse,” Haas says. “Clicker training changed everything. Now I can explain things to Robin, and she can explain things to me. It makes us both feel smart.”

A passionate reader from early childhood, Haas learned in 5th grade that writing can be as much fun as reading. “Our substitute teacher had us write poems about something we were interested in,” Haas says. “I wrote horse poems, of course, and discovered that I loved writing. I've never stopped.”

Haas sold her first book, Keeping Barney, while a senior at Wellesley College, and has written 33 more books for children, including picture books, easy readers, novels, poetry and nonfiction, as well as two history books for adults. Her children's books have won several awards, including an ALA Notable, Bulletin Blue Ribbon, Kirkus Editors' Choice, Parents' Choice Gold Award, Golden Kite Honor Book Award and Gryphon Honor Book Award, as well as numerous state reading list nominations.

“But what means most to me,” she says, “are stories like this one, shared by a librarian. A fourth grader came to her, hugging Runaway Radish, and said, 'I never thought I could love to read. And then I found my Radish!' I love that story. Kids who love to read can learn anything and do anything, and they have so much enjoyment ahead of them. I'm thrilled to be part of making that happen.”

Haas leads a weekly writer's group which meets at a local elementary school. She says, “Every year I watch the school walls turn from bland to brilliant as the kids' art goes up. That was a major inspiration for the Saige books.”

The Saige books draw on Haas's long-distance love affair with New Mexico. “It all started in 5th grade, with a cowboy book, and has grown to include pi├▒on smoke, New Mexican green chiles, and Southwestern art.”

Jessie Haas lives next door to the family farm in Vermont with her husband Michael J. Daley, also a children's writer, plus two cats, a dog, and a hen. Robin lives down on the farm. Haas and Daley mentor the Maple Leaf Writing Contest for local 5th and 6th graders. To find out more, visit www.jessiehaas.com.

My Take on the Book
As an adult reading this book , I found it interesting and one I would want my oldest granddaughter to read. It is a delightful book about Saige, a fourth grader, who loves art and horses. It is also a story about her friendship with her best friend who has other interests and a new friend who has the same interests as her. It is a story about her creativity and perseverance in developing a plan to raise money for the arts in spite of obstacles which include an accident that involves her grandmother. It should inspire girls to follow their dreams and pursue the interests they have. I was most impressed with the true story about a young girl, Lizzy, who was highlighted at the end of the book. Lizzy was born with one arm and in spite of her challenges she has become an excellent horse rider.

These are the stories our young girls need to read. They need to know that they have talents that they need to develop. As long as we as parents and grandparents support them, they can reach their dreams.

I encourage you to buy this book as a gift for your young girl in your life.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Can You See What I See?: Out of This World: Picture Puzzles to Search and Solve

About the Book
Walter Wick's new search-and-find adventure in the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling series!

OUT OF THIS WORLD, the ninth title in this search-and-find series, follows two characters from two separate, very different worlds--until their worlds collide! In the end, we learn that these two worlds really aren't that different at all. They both come from the same place: a child's playroom! Walter Wick's fantastic photographs bring the princess and the robot worlds together through a series of search-and-find activities.

Amazing photographs accompany a terrific search-and-find game by Walter Wick, the creator of the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Can You See What I See? series and the photographer of the internationally successful I Spy series.

My Take on the Book
This is a new I SPY book from the creator of those books, Walter Wick.

He uses a princess and robot on 12 separate pages of looking for items listed on each page.

I absolutely loved this book. It was so much fun to try to find each of the items. It was challenging and Walter Wick did a great job of hiding many of the items in each scene.

I believe any child who enjoys the I SPY books will enjoy this new book.

It is a creative approach from the first page to the last page.

I believe adults will enjoy this book too. Can you locate all the items on the list?

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Book Review - Michelangelo's Last Painting: Its Chilling Revelation


About the Book
THE GREAT MASTER’S WARNING FOR THE FUTURE

Today the chalk drawing for the painting, Christ on the Cross, for Vittoria Colonna resides in the British Museum, but what visitors view is not what was given to her by her friend Michelangelo.

The original drawing given to her for his last painting had horrifyingly ominous and grotesque demonic, human and animal faces hidden in the swirls of chalk surrounding Christ’s body. Michelangelo’s Last Painting is an epic tale of international intrigue and conspiracy at the highest levels. The story spans more than 400 years and exposes a chilling revelation discovered in the faces of the original chalk drawing and then concealed in a secret book of the Jesuit religious order and in the painting, which has been lost.

The terrifying revelation is an ancient curse, which explains attempts to exterminate the Jewish people since the time of Abraham.

Richard Arenell and Sao Damrey, lovers, notable art experts, and glamorous members of the fine art glitterati, have been given a mission by a powerful and shadowy Asian software mogul and art collector. To find and secure, by any means possible, the painting of Christ on the Cross, which is now rumored to have been found after being lost for centuries.

As their lives are changed so will yours of what is real and what is fiction in Michelangelo’s last painting and its warning for the future.

My Take on the Book
What a story of intrigue and suspense this was! As someone who loves mysteries and suspense as well as considers himself a student of history, this was a great mix of many of my literary loves in one book. What you get is a fast paced tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you work through the intricate plat that the author presents you. The author also has done a great job at creating a great mix of characters that are well developed and each adds depth to the plot as it thickens and continue to interweave complexity into the story as a whole.

I found myself getting wrapped up and lost in the overall story (which is exactly what I am looking for in a great book). I had a hard time putting this down and even though the book itself was over 400 pages, I was able to get through the book in only a very short amount of time.

If you love mystery and suspense, as well as a historical drama, then this book will definitely deliver!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - A Dog and His Girl Mysteries: Play Dead

About the Book
A dog and his girl show how six legs are better than two in this brand new mystery series!

When Dodge, a German shepherd police dog, finds himself retired after an accident leaves him deaf in one ear, he's lucky to be adopted by the perfect family. Twelve-year-old Cassie Sullivan, his girl, smells almost as good as a dog, and gets her nose for sleuthing from her police chief mom and coroner dad. Cassie is smart and quick on her feet, and doesn't mind breaking a couple rules to get to the bottom of a mystery. Dodge has forty-two dog years of experience solving crime, as well as a great network of other four-legged colleagues when he needs more intel.

When Verdel Ward, the richest man in town, goes missing, it seems like everyone from the mayor to the housekeeper wants his fortune, which he's left behind with no will. But Cassie and Dodge can smell a mystery from a mile away, and can't help wondering why a miser would go swimming in a dangerous cove, what's up with the suspicious fiancee, who's been sneaking around the mansion, and where a twin brother has come from.

My Take on the Book
My daughter and I love reading mysteries and of late we have been reading some of the original Nancy Drew mysteries and she just loves them. This book has some great tenets within it that reminded me of the Nancy Drew stories - add a dog into the mix and you get a great story! One of the things that I loved about this book (outside of the good mystery content) was the bond between Dodge (the dog) and Cassie Sullivan.  The author has done a great job at building the bond itself and as the story continues you can easily see that they two of them were made to work as a team! If you and your family are fans of mysteries, you and your kids will love this story. The story itself is definitely one that young readers can handle and will enjoy, but even better is the opportunity to read this together (as it is fun for the whole family)!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Dr. Frankenstein's Daughters

About the Book
A new generation is creating a monster....

When Doctor Victor Frankenstein died, he left behind a legacy of horror...as well as two unacknowledged, beautiful twin daughters. Now these girls are seventeen, and they've come to Frankenstein's castle to claim it as their inheritance.

Giselle and Ingrid are twins, but they couldn't be more different. Giselle is a glamorous social climber who plans on turning Frankenstein's castle into a center of high society. Ingrid, meanwhile, is quiet and studious, drawn to the mysterious notebooks her father left behind...and the experiments he went mad trying to perfect.

As Giselle prepares for lavish parties and Ingrid finds herself falling for the sullen, wounded naval officer next door, a sinister force begins to take hold in the castle. Nobody's safe as Frankenstein's legacy leads to a twisted, macabre journey of romance and horror.

My Take on the Book
I was impressed with this book, not only because it is the type of book that will keep you engaged from beginning to end, but more than that the author has done a great job at developing a mysterious storyline with characters that you want to get to know. I also enjoyed the way in which the author tells his story, through the use of diary entries from each of the girls. Through these writings you get to see the distinct differences between the two girls as well as their overall motivations for achieving the goals for which they set in front of themselves. The story and characters were strong and the author has done a masterful job at keeping her readers on the edge of their seats as they wonder how the whole story will conclude. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and your young teen will also!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - If I Were President

About the Book
Told through illustration and rhyme, If I Were President is the story of a young boy who imagines what he would do if he were the President of the United States for a day.

Author, Leila Leidtke, relates her story to children of any age to encourage them to dream about their future goals and to provide motivation for family members and others to help them visualize their dreams.

About the Author
The author was inspired to write this book when talking with her grandchildren about what they wanted "to be" when they grew up. The author's oldest grandson, Conner, could never decide what he liked best because he wanted to try everything that was possible to do. The author's writing has been greatly influenced by her faith. She has lived a lifetime learning about God's love and provision for our lives. It is God's gifts to us that enable us to find joy and fulfillment in our work and play. She has spent many years helping adults (many with disabilities) find their dream jobs in which their gifts and strengths were used in the workplace. At present she continue this endeavor in her resume service. The author and her husband live in Delaware, Ohio and have two children Morgan and Amy, their spouses Karen and Julie, and three grandchildren Conner, Autumn and Pascal.

My Take on the Book
Leila Lynne Leidtke has written a book that to me has two parts. The first part is a child's version of the imaginative things they may do if they were president. Who would not want a new car?

The second half relates to the Christian side of believing in God and he has a plan for our lives. The author encourages each of her readers to live the best life they can and believe in God's plan for their lives.


All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Hot Wheels: The Ultimate Handbook

About the Book
This highly-anticipated Hot Wheels handbook includes an exclusive Hot Wheels car for you on the cover!

From hard-to-find models to new models and all the high speed racers in between, this 96 page book profiles the more than 100 newest cars in the Hot Wheels lineup. With bright, photo-realistic images of each car, simple stats and facts, and an exclusive car, this will make the perfect gift for the Hot Wheels fan!

My Take on the Book
If you have a child that loves Hot Wheels or other collectible cars, this book will excite and intrigue them. What was great about this book (outside of the car you receive in the book itself) is the fact that it gives in-depth profiles of the cars themselves, allowing the reader to get a much better understanding to the cars themselves. I found the book to be very interesting and I found myself learning quite a bit. My daughter was excited to got through the book and find some of the cars that she owns. She also came out of reading the book with a whole list of cars that she now wants to own as well! This is a great book for any Hot Wheels fan!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Mr. President: A Book of U.S. Presidents

About the Book
The new edition of a popular favorite, this digest-sized, easy-to-read book features summaries of each president and his term of office--from George Washington to the president elected in 2012!

Hail to the chief! The highest title in the United States belongs to the president. Here, readers will learn about all the inspiring individuals who've occupied the Oval Office--from George Washington to the president elected in 2012! Chock-full of information, this accessible book chronicles each president's life and times, and even highlights some funny anecdotes. The process of electing a president is clearly explained, as is the job of a president. Freshly updated for 2012, the cover will feature the newly elected commander in chief!

Contributors:
George Edward Sullivan was born on August 11, 1927, in Lowell, Massachusetts. Between 1945 and 1948, he was in the U.S. Navy, where he served as a journalist. He has written over two hundred nonfiction books for children and young adults on a wide variety of topics. In 2005, his book BUILT TO LAST was honored with the Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children. Sullivan is a member of PEN, Authors Guild, Authors League of America, and the American Society of Journalists and Authors. He lives in New York with his wife.

My Take on the Book
This was a great book for any young reader that is interested in learning more about our Presidents. I loved how the book succinctly gives the reader a glimpse into the accomplishments of all of our Presidents as well as some other interesting facts and anecdotes about each and every one. I have been reading biographies of our Presidents and was interested to even read some anecdotes about some of the Presidents that were new to me as well. My daughter has been intrigued with our US Presidents for some time now, but up to date has been fixated on only a few of them. This book opened her eyes and her view of the men who have been US Presidents in the past, which has been great to see and experience. 

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Strange Mysteries of the Unexplained

About the Book
In a world that uses math, science, and logic to solve mysteries, what happens if none of these can explain the unexplained?

Is bigfoot real? Do giant squids live in the ocean? Did Atlantis exist? Examine the evidence, then you decide!

This book will delve into unsolved mysteries throughout history on a quest for the truth. It will seek the answers to questions like, is Bigfoot real? Do UFOs exist? And what's really lurking in the waters of the Loch Ness? Kids will delight in the colored photos, sordid history, and fun facts in Strange Mysteries of the Unexplained. The mysteries questioned inside will give readers the tools to examine the unknown.

My Take on the Book
My daughter and I love books that bring out strange facts or unexplained phenomena! We find books and cuddle up to dig deep to learn more and ponder the mysteries of this Earthly home where we live. This book was a perfect book for us to share together, as it gave us everything that we typically look for in a book and so much more. What was great about this book was that you get so many unexplained mysteries in one book. So instead of simply looking at one mystery, the book is well laid out to allow the reader to get a glimpse into many unexplained mysteries in many different topical areas. What was nice about this was that it whets your appetite to delve deeper into many of these areas to learn more. For example, my daughter now is very interested in the Yeti and Bigfoot stories and has gone to our local library and the Internet to delve deeper into these stories. These along with many other mysteries lie in store for you when you pick up this book!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Lincoln's Grave Robbers

About the Book
A true crime thriller -- the first book for teens to tell the nearly unknown tale of the brazen attempt to steal Abraham Lincoln's body!

The action begins in October of 1775, as Secret Service agents raid the Fulton, Illinois, workshop of master counterfeiter Ben Boyd. Soon after Boyd is hauled off to prison, members of his counterfeiting ring gather in the back room of a smoky Chicago saloon to discuss how to spring their ringleader. Their plan: grab Lincoln's body from its Springfield tomb, stash it in the sand dunes near Lake Michigan, and demand, as a ransom, the release of Ben Boyd --and $200,000 in cash. From here, the action alternates between the conspirators, the Secret Service agents on their trail, and the undercover agent moving back and forth between the two groups. Along the way readers get glimpses into the inner workings of counterfeiting, grave robbing, detective work, and the early days of the Secret Service. The plot moves toward a wild climax as robbers and lawmen converge at Lincoln's tomb on election night: November 7, 1876.

My Take on the Book
My daughter is totally into the US Presidents and Lincoln is one of her favorites (Mine too). This fictionalized story was so intriguing and the author has done an amazing job at transporting you not only into the story itself but beyond that into the time and era for which the story is set. The book is intriguing and keeps you guessing to the outcome until the very end which is exactly what I want in a great story! What I loved about the story itself was the intricate plot and planning that takes place to pull such a crime off, as well as seeing the inner workings of the Secret Service (at least in how they worked supposedly back then). All-in-all this was a great book that will leave you on the edge of your seat, and you will find that you do not want to put the book down!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

DVD Review - Angelina Ballerina: Dance Around the World

About the DVD
Angelina Ballerina® is a mouseling who knows how to celebrate the great big world of dance! Join preschool favorite Angelina and her friends in the new, five-episode collection Angelina Ballerina®: Dance Around the World, available on DVD, Digital Download and On Demand January 8, 2013 from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment. Grab your dancing shoes, step up and join this lively international dance party featuring jigs and hops, slides and bops and more!

A beloved publishing property for close to three decades, selling over 1.5MM books and printing over 50 titles, Angelina Ballerina embodies dance, music and performance while inspiring girls to achieve their dreams.

SYNOPSIS
Angelina and her friends explore dances from near and far as they boogie, bop, skip and hop around the world in these exciting adventures. In step with a lively Irish Jig, the festive Chinese Dragon Dance, the smooth Cheddar cheese Slide with a French flair and more, the mouselings teach each other – and themselves – about the power of dance….and friendship. Step to some new beats with great friends and global grooves that every young mouseling will love!

Episodes:
  • “Angelina and the Irish Jig”
  • “Angelina and the Cheddar Cheese Slide”
  • “Angelina and the Windy Children’s Day”
  • “Angelina and the Smelly Cheese”
  • “Angelina and the Dragon Dance”

DVD BONUS FEATURES
  • 2 All-New Karaoke Music Videos- “ Step at a Time” and “Slumber Party Song”
  • Create Your Own Dream Routine Game

My Take On The DVD
My kids have been fans of Angelina Ballerina for a long time, and that's saying a lot for their few years on this earth. I think the combination of mice and dancing is just the right one for these two girls. I have to say that in reading the Angelina Ballerina stories as well as in watching the series, you get transported into a unique world which is so much fun to experience. In this DVD you get to have a ton of fun with Angelina as she and her friends have some amazing adventures. My girls particularly enjoyed the Karaoke videos that are included as bonus features on this DVD. This was a great video for kids that will broaden their imagination and teach them valuable messages in areas such as friendship as well as simply dreaming BIG to achieve what you want - all messages that as a parent I want my children to learn!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

DVD Review - Thomas and Friends - Muddy Matters

About the DVD
All aboard for action-packed messy adventures with preschool favorite Thomas the Tank Engine® and his engine friends in Thomas & Friends®: Muddy Matters arriving on DVD, Digital Download and On Demand January 15, 2013 from Lionsgate and HIT Entertainment. Featuring five action-packed episodes plus three bonus features, the Thomas & Friends: Muddy Matters DVD will be available for the suggested retail price of $14.98. The engines get down and dirty – in a good way – as they accomplish their daily tasks around the Island of Sodor with cooperation, friendship and fun!

Now offering more adventures and value, Thomas & Friends DVDs include even more episodes than before for the same price!

DVD SYNOPSIS
Through mud, garbage and muck, Thomas and his engine friends show that being Really Useful can be a dirty job! See James turn into the Really Muddy Engine and Thomas get showered with garbage. Watch Peter Sam make a big mess trying to keep things on track as Thomas creates chaos with the crows and much, much more. Join Thomas and the Steam Team as they make the best of the mess in these exciting muddy and mucky adventures!

Episodes include:
  • “Muddy Matters”
  • “Thomas and the Garbage Train”
  • “Don’t Bother Victor”
  • “Whiff’s Wish”
  • “Thomas Toots the Crows”


DVD BONUS FEATURES
  • Go Go Thomas! Karaoke Music Video
  • Guess Who? Puzzles
  • Muddy Sheep Roundup Game


DIGITAL BONUS FEATURES
  • Bonus Episode “Buzzy Bees”

My Take on the DVD
If you are a fan of Thomas the Train this is another great addition to the series as a whole. I was impressed to find that this had a number of episodes that my kids had yet to see on it, thus they were very excited. As always, as a parent I am always looking for shows that teach my children something and what I love about Thomas is that it does just that, it holds many messages in regards to friendship, hard work, persistence and so much more - messages that I try and teach my children on a daily basis. With that being said, I highly encourage you all to consider this DVD for your family, as not only does it have some very important messages that it is sharing, the episodes as well as bonus features are simply fun to enjoy as a whole family!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Book Review - Whatever After: If the Shoe Fits

About the Book
This second book in Sarah Mlynowski's charming new series puts a fresh spin on the Cinderella story!

Once upon a time my brother and I found a magic mirror.

Tonight the mirror swept us into Cinderella's fairy tale. Now, we are NOT messing this story up. No way. Cinderella is going to marry her prince just like she's supposed to.

Uh-oh.

Cinderella broke her foot and there's massive swelling. The glass slipper won't fit, the prince won't know she's the one for him, and they won't live happily ever after. And it's all our fault!

To save the day we'll need to:
1. Learn how to use a dustpan
2. Stay out of jail
3. Find Cinderella a job
4. And make sure true love finds its way.

We just have to get it all done before the clock strikes twelve and the chance for a happy ending is gone . . . forever!

My Take on the Book
I was so glad that there were more than one book in this series as we loved the first book and this book was just as good. As in the first book, the author has done an amazing job at redefining the Cinderella story. I loved the idea that kids my daughters age could find a magic mirror and get transported into a fairy tale. What a fun book this was to read with my daughters and I am definitely planning on sharing this with others (I actually already have)!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Whatever After: Fairest of All

About the Book
A fresh, modern spin on a classic fairy tale--from bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski!

Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .

Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White's fairy tale.

I know it sounds crazy, but it's true.

But hey -- we're heroes! We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn't die, she won't get to meet her prince. And then she won't get her happy ending. Oops.

Now it's up to us to:

  • Avoid getting poisoned
  • Sneak into a castle
  • Fix Snow White's story
And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.

My Take on the Book
This was such a fun book that will make you think about fairy tales in a whole new way. We received this book on a Friday and by Sunday the book was completed and my daughter was already asking for more books from this series! The book was well written and just when you think that you know what will come next, you will be surprised to what is thrown your way. I commend the author on redefining this fairy tale for a whole new generation. I highly recommend this series to all, you will not be disappointed!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

DVD Review - Ruby's Studio: The Friendship Show

About the DVD
Join lovable host. Ruby, as she welcomes kids into her magical art studio for a day of creativity, fun and friendship. With the help of adorable animated segments, art projects and inspired original music, Ruby guides children through an adventure of learning about empathy, conflict resolution, The Golden Rule, and other ways to make and nurture lasting friendships.

"The Friendship Show" is available on The Mother Company website (themotherco.com) for download now. The Mother Company will be taking pre-sale orders for the DVD, which hit shelves today -- just in time for last minute Holiday gifts!

In short, "Ruby's Studio: The Friendship Show" is the continuation of The Mother Company's mission to "Help Parents Raise Good People." This time, Ruby's focus is friendship - helping young kids to make and nurture lasting friendships, with fun animated sequences, art projects and original music all geared toward helping kids to resolve conflict, show compassion, and encourage kindness toward their peers. Renowned parenting expert, Dr. Robyn Silverman, has contributed the pop-up parenting tips.

As an independent, mama-funded company, we really need to get the word out with more reviews, posts, links, and general awareness. That's where you come in! We value you as an important member of the media that readers rely on and always appreciate whatever information on The Mother Company and its products you can share.

My Take on the DVD
The Mother Company's motto is "Helping parents raise good people". The company has developed books, DVD's, activity books,and music which support children and parents in emotional issues and relationships

This particular book did a very good job of showing Sally's frustrations in a classroom activity. It described her feelings and visual clues she exhibited. The steps to problem solving were explained fully in terms a child could relate to in their life. I felt the book could be useful not only with a family situation but also in a classroom setting too.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Who Will See Their Shadows This Year?

About the Book
It's February 2 and all the animals are tired of winter. But why should the groundhog always be famous for seeing his shadow? Who else wants to try? A chicken? A polar bear? A camel?
None of those seems quite right. So who will see their shadows this year?

My Take on the Book
Well we have Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hanukkah, Valentines Day, St. Patrick's Day, etc, but does anyone know about Ground Hog's Day?

There is a myth surrounding the day that says if the Ground Hog sees his shadow there will be six more weeks of winter.

Well this humorous and so delightful story will introduce your child to many animals and weather conditions. All the animals want to make a shadow and bring spring. You will see such humor in their expressions and antics and David Bierdrzycki , the illustrator, does an amazing job of bringing those expressions to life in the book.

Does the ground hog really bring spring or winter? Well, at least you can enjoy the fun of imagining the outcome with the animals and the actual ending of the book.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Taylor Swift: The Story of Me

About the Book
Taylor Swift has grown from country's darling to America's sweetheart!

Taylor Swift has been a music superstar since she was a teenager, but now she is doing even more! When she's not selling out arenas, Taylor is making a name for herself in fashion, cosmetics, and even movies. Learn about Taylor's life and work in this awesome book full of pictures and fun facts!

Includes nail stickers!

My Take on the Book
Taylor Swift has become a famous vocal entertainer. After reading this story which is a biography of her life so far, I was impressed by this young woman.

I would allow my oldest granddaughter to read this book.

I feel this is an excellent story for a young girl who loves music and knows this vocalist.

It will illustrate how hard she has worked to become a well known song writer and vocalist. She shows honesty and integrity in her work and personal life. Her family has been an important part of her life and career.

Taylor supports certain charities. She is modest in her dress and that should inspire young girls, considering the other vocalist who dress so minimally.

I feel this is a good biography if you are looking for one of this young vocal artist.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Clifford's Birthday Party

About the Book
A special 50th anniversary edition of Clifford's Birthday Party with foil on the cover and stickers!

Everyone wants to give their friend Clifford a special birthday present. But the blow-up ball gets blown up, the pinata gets smashed, the sweater is too small, and the beauty parlor gift certificate just didn't seem exactly right. Finally, Clifford gets the best present of all--his family there to celebrate with him.

My Take on the Book
Everyone loves Clifford and his adventures with his owner Emily Elizabeth. Your child will enjoy this story of Clifford's birthday party. What kind of gift would you bring to Clifford's birthday party?Remember he is a big red dog.The birthday participants bring wonderful gifts but for a big dog some interesting things happen with the gifts he receives.

The book is humorous and will bring a smile to your face. I feel it is a great addition to the numerous Clifford books that have already been published.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The 5 Money Personalities

About the Book
The hidden key to a healthy relationship is not just managing money but understanding how the other approaches money.

Every couple argues about money. It doesn’t matter if you’ve been married for 40 years or dating for 4 months, money touches every decision you make as a couple—from the $5 cup of coffee to the $50,000 car. And when the two of you don’t see eye-to-eye on how much to spend or how much to save, that’s when arguments turn into ugly toxic fights that leave both persons feeling hurt and angry. It’s why money has become the #1 cause of divorce in the U.S. Obviously, something needs to change. The reason this crisis has not been addressed is because it has never been identified, defined, or given a name. Scott and Bethany Palmer, aka “The Money Couple,” have identified and defined this problem and offer concrete solutions to fix it.

Once you know your Money Personality, you can get to the root of money arguments and start really working together. You’ll discover what has an impact on your loved one’s money decisions, and you’ll learn how to talk about money in a way that’s actually fun! You’ll figure out how to put an end to money secrets and lies once and for all.

It’s not just about money management, and it’s definitely not just about overcoming debt. It is a whole new way of living that will change everything in your relationship. Tens of thousands have already been transformed. Are you ready?

My Take on the Book
Most would say that money issues can be the one issue that can truly cause ultimate strife in a relationship. I know that for my wife and I we have had our concerns about money issues in our years of marriage, and I have to say that this book is one that I wish that we would have had at the beginning of our marriage as I was very impressed to learn about the different money personalities that each of us possess. The five Money Personalities are: Saver, Spender, Risk Taker, Security Seeker and Flyer and I could easily see my wife and my personalities within these. I have to say that each of these areas were ones that opened my eyes, as I came to find that by knowing each of these areas I came to know my own wife better. This book allowed my wife and I to have some very good conversations with each other about what we learned and I now can see that this will allow us to make some much better decisions together in the future based on what we learned.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

DVD Review - Barney: Let's Go To The Moon


About the DVD
Star Light, Star Bright, let’s go on a space adventure tonight! Barney encourages Riff to always reach for the stars, even when his homemade spaceship doesn’t reach Mars; Baby Bop learns about Mr. Moon’s important job lighting the night for the world and BJ sees he’s special just the way he is – astronaut or not. Barney and his friends discover that the sky is not the limit when you use your imagination!

Episodes include:

  • “Dream Big”
  • “The Misbegotten Moon”
  • “The Amazing Captain Pickles”


DVD BONUS FEATURES

  • Barney’s Space Adventure Game
  • What’s Different? Game
  • I Love You Karaoke Music Video


VOD/DIGITAL BONUS FEATURE

  • “Movement” Bonus Episode


My Take on the DVD
This was a fun DVD for anyone who loves Barney. The DVD promotes imagination and you get to see Barney and his friends having a blast in outer space. As a parent I love it when I see videos for kids that expand their minds and allow them to be creative and imaginative and this DVD does both. If you are already a fan of Barney you will love this, and if this is the first time you have experienced it, check it out, you may find that this Barney is different than when you might have expected and that your kids will simply enjoy it, and you will enjoy the overall message that it is sending!

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com