Dad of Divas' Reviews

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Book Review - The Way Home For Wolf

The Way Home For Wolf



About the Book
A touching story of an independent-minded wolf cub who finds his way home.

Wolf cub Wilf doesn't want help from anyone. Whatever it is, he can do it all by himself. But when he finds himself lost and alone in the chill of the Arctic night, Wilf discovers that sometimes we all need the helping hand of a friend.

A stunningly illustrated story from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.


My Take on the Book
This was such a nice story that shows the power of people helping others and learning about how someone can pass this gift of helping others on. The book is a beautiful story with amazing images and brings so many animals together that work together in a unique way to help a friend in need, even if you do not know the friend.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)

Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)



About the Book
Mama is taking Bunny to work today, and Bunny couldn't be more excited! But when the office isn't all it's cracked up to be, Bunny has to get creative to save the office from boredom.

It's morning when Mama gets the call that the bunnysitter is sick. But Papa is out of town and school is out. That means Bunny gets to go to work at Mama's office! But the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be, even with its many distractions. Boredom and hunger strike, and Bunny has to take up the mantle to save Mama's office from the workday blues.

Bunny Business is the perfect read aloud for working parents and their children. They will laugh and cheer at the ingenuity of one bunny's impromptu Take Your Child to Work Day!


My Take on the Book
For anyone that has a child that has come with them to work you know that things may not go as planned and you will see what happens when this momma bunny brings her son with her. This is a fun book that shows that even though a child can get into trouble, not all trouble is bad and it can just be fun too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Alpacas with Maracas

Alpacas with Maracas



About the Book
Macca and Al are two alpacas with a lot of enthusiasm but not a lot of talent. Can they find the right act in time for the talent show?

"You're a genius, Al! We don't need a big fracas!
We can't sing or play, brother, but we can shake like no other.
We just need... MARACAS!"

Macca and his best friend Al are always looking for ways to brighten their days. When they see an ad for a talent show, they're all in. But unfortunately, everything the cuddly duo tries, from singing and dancing to magic and gymnastics, is mediocre at best... until they discover the perfect act. How will the audience respond to these alpacas with maracas?

With quirky rhymes and adorable illustrations, this fun-filled sequel to Macca the Alpaca will have kids shimmying, grooving, wiggling, and moving along with Macca and Al. Chika chika cha cha cha! Ticka ticka ta ta ta!



My Take on the Book

This was a great book that lets you see two best friends having a ton of fun together and trying to figure out what they can do for the talent show. I love seeing that they try hard and put their whole hearts into everything that they do whether they are good or not. This was a ton of fun to read and with the rhyming cadence and illustrations you are brought into the book even further.  The pictures are a ton of fun and you see topics of friendship, hard work and more !


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Macca the Alpaca

Macca the Alpaca



About the Book
Macca the Alpaca is the alpaca-llama mashup of the year! Perfect for fans of Oi, Frog! and You Can't Take anElephant on the Bus. Macca is an alpaca. He loves splashing in puddles, and he gives the very best cuddles. Harmer is a llama. He's tall, strong and woolly, but he's also a BIG BULLY. When a friendly alpaca comes face-to-face with a meanie llama,he soon realises that LLAMA DRAMA lies ahead. But, who knows, perhaps the differences that separate the two will be exactly what brings them together in the end. A heartwarming story of friendship, acceptance and the value of being yourself.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that shows you that you can accomplish anything that you put your mind to and that someone, even someone smaller can go up against a bully and come out ahead. This book is so much fun with a rhyming cadence and illustrations that are a ton of fun as well. The book touches on topics of friendship, acceptance and the idea of being true to yourself!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Book Review - Most Wanted: The Revolutionary Partnership of John Hancock & Samuel Adams

Most Wanted: The Revolutionary Partnership of John Hancock & Samuel Adams



About the Book

John Hancock and Samuel Adams were an unlikely pair of troublemakers. Hancock was young and dashing. Adams was old and stodgy. But working together, they rallied the people of Boston against the unfair policies of Great Britain and inspired American resistance. And to King George, they became a royal pain.

When the British army began marching toward Lexington and Concord, sending Hancock and Adams fleeing into the woods, the two men couldn't help but worry--this time, had they gone too far?

Rich with historical detail and primary sources, this spirited tale takes readers through ten years of taxes and tea-tossing, tyranny and town hall meetings. The team behind Thomas Paine and the Dangerous Word reunites for a lively look at the origins of the American Revolution told through the powerful partnership of two legendary founders.



My Take on the Book
This book was filled with so much detail and information and I can say that by the end of the book my eyes were open to all of the things that these two did together that many people may not be aware of at all. The book also shares the distinct differences which makes you realize that this partnership was a bit unconventional. That being said, even though that is the case, it was a powerful one. Get ready to learn and have fun with the story itself, as is holds a ton of learning surprises too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Anti/Hero

Anti/Hero



About the Book
Piper Pájaro and Sloane MacBrute are two 13-year-old girls with very different lives but very similar secrets. Popular, outgoing Piper is strong. Like, ripping-the-doors-off-cards strong. She longs to be a superhero, even if she tends to leave massive messes in her wake. Snarky Sloane, on the other hand, is super smart. Like, evil-genius-smart. To help her family, she has to put those smarts to use for her villainous grandfather.

When a mission to steal an experimental technological device brings the two girls face to face with each other, the device sparks, and the two girls switch bodies! Now they must live in each other's shoes as they figure out a way to switch back.

Anti/Hero is a story that explores what makes a hero, how one can find friendship where it's unexpected, and what it means to walk in another person's shoes...literally!

Authors Kate Karyus Quinn (Another Little Piece, The Show Must Go On) and Demitria Lunetta (The Fade, Bad Blood) make their graphic novel and middle grade debut alongside artist Maca Gil to introduce two new and exciting characters to DC Comics!



My Take on the Book
Not only was the art in this book amazing, but the story was even better. You get a story that brings together unlikely friends that have to work together to be able to regain their lives. The story is string and the book allows you to see the growth in each of the characters which is also a ton of fun too. This is definitely a story that I would recommend to all that love superheroes, but also stories that have action, drama, great art and more!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day

Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day



About the Book

It's a snow day, and Bella is thrilled. There's no school, so she and Bub can play outside all day. Trouble is, Bub does not like the snow it's slippery, freezing cold, and wet! What's even worse, there's a new kid next door, and he has a scary, monster-sized pet. Can Bub get past his fear of the snow and make a new friend at the same time?

With full-color artwork throughout, this funny and charming diary-format early chapter book is perfect for anyone who believes a furry pal is the best kind of friend.



My Take on the Book
This is a great addition to the series where we see Bella and Bub in another early reader that was fun and talked about topics that were important for any young child to know about dealing with fear, friendship and more.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com