Dad of Divas' Reviews

Monday, June 26, 2017

Book Review - The Beautiful Lost

The Beautiful Lost

 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
Here are three things to know about Maia:
  1. Ever since her mother left, Maia's struggled with depression -- which once got so bad, she had to go to an institution for a while. She doesn't want to go back.
  2. Maia's sure that if she finds her mother, if the two of them can talk about whale songs and constellations, then everything will be okay again.
  3. She's in love with Billy, the handsome, brooding boy who lives in the group home in town. He doesn't seem to know that Maia exists... until now.
When Maia sets off on a road trip in search of her mom, Billy unexpectedly comes along. They drive up the East Coast, stopping along the way for lobster rolls and lighthouses. Maia learns that Billy has dark secrets of his own -- and wants to outrun his past, too. But what will the future hold if they reach their destination?

From internationally bestselling author Luanne Rice, this is a sweeping, stunning story about the surprising directions our hearts can take.




My Take on the Book
I had not read any of this authors' books in the past but after reading this I can see why people like Luanne Rice. This was a powerful book that brings out great characters and a wonderful story too. In the book readers will connect to the plight of the main character. They may even see something of themselves in her struggles. You will feel the love that she has for Billy as well as better understand the real struggles that she has with depression. The story is real and you come to really care about the characters and what happens to them, This is a powerful book and has some more touchy topics that are dealt with, but in the end it is an amazing book that you will love to read!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - And Then Comes Summer

And Then Comes Summer

 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
A joyful, sun-drenched tribute to the anticipation and adventures of the warmest season of the year.

When the days stretch out like a slow yawn, and the cheerful faces of Johnny-jump-ups jump up . . . then it’s time to get ready for summer! From flip-flops and hide-and-seek to fireworks and ice-cream trucks, from lemonade stands and late bedtimes to swimming in the lake and toasting marshmallows, there’s something for everyone in this bright and buoyant celebration of the sunny season. Tom Brenner’s lovely, lyrical ode to summers spent outdoors will strike a chord with anyone who’s ever counted down the days until school gets out, and Jaime Kim’s jubilant, nostalgia-soaked illustrations leave little doubt that summer is indeed a time unlike any other.




My Take on the Book
Summer is always a fun time and this book really celebrates all things summer. The book allows you to remember summers past but also think about summers to come. The illustrations in the book were also a ton of fun and you will find yourself connecting to the characters and what they are going through as you may also be experiencing similar things as your summer progresses.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Papillon Goes to the Vet

Papillon Goes to the Vet

 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
Papillon, the kitty so fluffy he floats, is back! Only this time, he's grounded. Literally.



My Take on the Book
This was a very cute book that brings back an amazing cat. We loved reading the first Papillon book and this book was a great continuation of what we saw in the first book. Highly recommend this and the other book to all!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Apprentice Witch

The Apprentice Witch

 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
A special middle grade debut of magic and courage in a world of witches, written with the charm and enchantment of Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary.

Arianwyn has flunked her witch's assessment: She's doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch-- much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her.

With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch--even if she's only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride . . . for Arianwyn and the entire land.




My Take on the Book
This was a great book with a great book of characters that I would love to see again in the future. The book was a ton of fun and the action makes the book a compelling read throughout the book too. I loved the premise and how witches were there to help other humans. You really get to see how witches have celebrity status and how one witch to be has to struggle to learn the craft and to make her place. While this book is geared toward younger readers as an adult I also enjoyed the story too. You will fall in love with Arianwyn and from the beginning you will see how special she is.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Wandmaker's Apprentice


 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
Henry Leach the Eighth and his sister, Brianna, have survived a faulty spell, defeated a wicked spellcaster, and saved the world . . . but their greatest accomplishment might be convincing Grand Wand Master Coralis to take them on as official apprentices.

For the first time in centuries, the reclusive Wand Master has opened the doors to his castle and invited a new generation of Wandmakers to learn the secrets of the craft. But danger lurks around every corner in a world of magic, curses, and fantastical beasts. And the greatest threat of all may come from within the Wandmakers' own ranks.

Perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Charlie Bone, the Wandmaker series puts a humorous spin on magical coming-of-age stories.




My Take on the Book
WOW, this was a fast read. I found myself entranced by the story, the action, the humor and more. As someone that enjoys a bit of magic, this book really brings you on a journey that was a ton of fun to experience with characters that I would love to see in another story in the future!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Eden Summer


 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
It starts like any other day for Jess. Get up, draw on eyeliner, cover up tattoos, and head to school. But soon it's clear that this is no ordinary day, because Jess's best friend, Eden, isn't at school . . . she's gone missing.

Jess knows she must do everything in her power to find Eden. Before the unthinkable happens.

So Jess decides to retrace the life-changing summer she and Eden have just spent together. But looking back means digging up all their buried secrets, and she soon begins to question everything she thought the summer had been about, and everything she thought she knew about her best friend . . .

A tense and moving journey through friendship, loss, betrayal, and self-discovery, Eden Summer, will plunge its way into your heart and stay there forever.




My Take on the Book
This was a great book that explores friendship in a new way. The book is a powerful read and really allows you to connect with the characters and the plot itself. You find yourself wanting to find out what happens next and this makes the book move along very quickly. This is a book that holds nothing back and you will be entranced by the power of the friendship you will find.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Book Review - Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time

Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time


 photo disclaimer_zpsd3x74ej2.jpg


About the Book
Stop Procrastinating

Get More of the Important Things Done—Today!

There just isn't enough time for everything on our to-do list—and there never will be. Successful people don't try to do everything. They learn to focus on the most important tasks and make sure those get done. They eat their frogs.

There's an old saying that if the first thing you do each morning is eat a live frog, you'll have the satisfaction of knowing you're done with the worst thing you'll have to do all day. For Tracy, eating a frog is a metaphor for tackling your most challenging task—but also the one that can have the greatest positive impact on your life. Eat That Frog! shows you how to organize each day so you can zero in on these critical tasks and accomplish them efficiently and effectively.

In this fully revised and updated edition, Tracy adds two new chapters. The first explains how you can use technology to remind yourself of what is most important and protect yourself from what is least important. The second offers advice for maintaining focus in our era of constant distractions, electronic and otherwise.

But one thing remains unchanged: Brian Tracy cuts to the core of what is vital to effective time management: decision, discipline, and determination. This life-changing book will ensure that you get more of your important tasks done—today!




My Take on the Book
This is a great book that will make you rethink the processes and the things that you do and how you do them. Too often we get stuck in the world around ourselves. We start things that we do not finish and we procrastinate. This book provides simple ideas and exercises that you can implement right away. These ideas, tips and exercises will allow you to be more productive and more efficient in the things that you do and will help you to complete the projects that you start too!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com