Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Book Review - Creature Campers: The Secret of Shadow Lake

Creature Campers: The Secret of Shadow Lake



About the Book

Being the new kid at camp is never easy, especially for a bigfoot, a hyperactive jackalope, a fairy who can barely fly, and the only human boy! From Epic! Originals, Creature Campers is a funny, heartwarming series about the unlikely friendships forged at Camp Moonlight—“where being different isn’t unusual…it’s FUNusual!”

Norm is worried about fitting in at camp. Literally. He’s not just tall for a kid. He’s tall even for a bigfoot. Oliver, the only human at camp, has the opposite problem: he’s small enough that a strong wind might knock him over. With the help of their new friends, Hazel (a hyperactive jackalope) and Wisp (a boy fairy who has trouble flying), they’ll have to work together to earn their canoeing certification without disturbing the resident lake monster—or Barnaby Snoop, who will stop at nothing to capture Norm for his personal rare creature collection.


My Take on the Book
This is a great story that is filled with magical creatures that surround a very cool camp, Camp Moonlight. The story is fun and for young readers they will get a mix of fantasy, fairy tale and more. The book also has a great plot that mixes in adventure, mystery and friendship too to make it a book that compels you to read more with every page that you turn. This is a book that would be great for the early chapter book reader, as they will love finding success as they go page by page. YOu can even read this great book together and you both will have fun!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Book Review - Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation



About the Book

From New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs comes the first novel in a thrilling new series about the world’s youngest and smartest genius who’s forced to use her unbelievable code-breaking skills to outsmart Einstein.

Charlie Thorne is a genius.
Charlie Thorne is a thief.
Charlie Thorne isn’t old enough to drive.

And now it’s up to her to save the world…

Decades ago, Albert Einstein devised an equation that could benefit all life on earth—or destroy it. Fearing what would happen if the equation fell into the wrong hands, he hid it.

But now, a diabolical group known as the Furies are closing in on its location. In desperation, a team of CIA agents drags Charlie into the hunt, needing her brilliance to find it first—even though this means placing her life in grave danger.

In a breakneck adventure that spans the globe, Charlie must crack a complex code created by Einstein himself, struggle to survive in a world where no one can be trusted, and fight to keep the last equation safe once and for all.



My Take on the Book
WOW, this was a quick read that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. The book is fast paced and action packed. The main character is a fun hero for my daughters' generation. This adventure was one that was a page turner that kept me on the edge of my chair from beginning to end. The book also keeps you guessing until the very end of the book which made the book even more fun. My daughter and I are very excited for the next book in this series.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Book Review - My Pet Slime

My Pet Slime



About the Book

Piper Maclane wants a pet so badly, but she’s allergic to everything. So she creates her own . . . out of slime! From Epic! Originals, My Pet Slime is a sweet, slimy series about a girl who makes the most of a challenging situation and is rewarded with a bit of magic!

Piper wishes she could have a pet to care for and snuggle with and take to school for show-and-tell. All of the other kids have one. But she’s allergic to every animal imaginable! So instead, she makes her own pet out of slime, with big eyes, a little mouth, and two arms just long enough for hugs. It would be the perfect pet for Piper, if it were real. When a strange turn of events brings her slime to life, Piper learns how fun, challenging, and messy it can be to care for a pet . . . especially one made out of slime!

At the back of the book, learn about real-life slime and follow the recipe to create a “pet” of your own!



My Take on the Book
This book was a great start to a new series for young kids. It was a fun read that will make your kids to think about their own pets and crazy pets that they might want as well. The other thing about this book was that it was great to think about the universe allowing her to create her own pet that would not cause her allergies to go crazy. Piper and her new pet have some adventures and there is a bit of a mystery as well. The end of the book does leave it wide open for books to come


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Laser Moose and the Rabbit Boy: Time Trout

Laser Moose and the Rabbit Boy: Time Trout



About the Book

Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy are back in a time-traveling adventure, perfect for getting past and future fans hooked on reading.

Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy return and just in time to save the day!

A time-traveling fish is causing trouble for Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy in the past, present, and future. When the well-meaning Trout inadvertently changes the forest’s history, Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy need to set things right, with a little help from a raccoon doctor and a newly three-legged Frank the Deer. Along the way, they confront old enemies, new enemies, future threats, and Laser Moose’s own mysterious past. Get ready for an action thrill ride of time-bending fun!



My Take on the Book
This book was filled with a story of non-stop adventure mixed together with great characters that were over the top but still fun to get to know. You get a bit of everything in this book which made it a page turner for all.

My daughter loves graphic novels and this one had great illustrations but also humor throughout. Whether you read the other books in the series or not, you can still read and enjoy this without the other context either.

The concept of a time trout was a bit crazy. This book finds the Time Trout in the past in a bit of a crazy situation, but that made the book even better. On top of this you get Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy on their own adventure too!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw




About the Book

Robin Loxley, the 5th grade outlaw of Nottingham Elementary, tells all! From Epic! Originals comes a comic-inspired illustrated novel series that treats growing up as an adventure.

Fifth grade has just started, and the school bully, Nadia, already rules recess with an unfair Playground Tax. Robin refuses to be pushed around, but all she can think about is winning back her best friend, Mary Ann, after a disastrous fallout over the summer. To do so, she will have to stand up to Nadia, face the wrath of Assistant Principal Johnson, and become a legendary outlaw at Nottingham Elementary—all while forming a merry band of new friends along the way.



My Take on the Book
My daughter and I loved reading about Robin Loxley. You get a Robin Hood story in current day times. Robin definitely believes in fairness and when she sees this going awry, she is compelled to step in. You even get the concept of a tax being unfairly required for kids to play basketball. All of this being said, the characters and the story are ones that all upper elementary and early middle school kids will enjoy! Whether you have read or heard of Robin Hood in the past, this book is a great story that brings the tenor of Robin Hood to light!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Snug Harbor Stories: A Wallace the Brave Collection!

Snug Harbor Stories: A Wallace the Brave Collection!



About the Book
The follow up to the Eisner-nominated collection of Wallace the Brave comics, featuring beautifully illustrated scenes of childhood imagination, friendship, outdoor exploration, and adventure.

Think "Peanuts" if Charlie Brown were less of a mope or "Calvin & Hobbes" if Calvin weren't a bit of a psychopath. "Wallace The Brave" is about a family. There's Dad, a fisherman, Mom, a gardener, their almost feral young son Sterling, who never met a bug he wouldn't eat, and his older brother Wallace, a rambunctious, imaginative kid big on exploring. Mostly we see the world of the strip through Wallace's eyes, a sleepy East Coast beach town called Snug Harbor where the streets are lined with ice cream shops and the beaches are dotted with rocky tide pools ... The world of childhood depicted in the strip is a timeless, outdoorsy one reminiscent of strips like "Calvin & Hobbes" and "Cul De Sac," both of which Henry cites as influences. — NPR's Glen Weldon




My Take on the Book
Wallace is a great character that you will simply love. He truly lives life to the fullest and for me is one that many of us would love to aspire to be in our own lives. Outside of Wallace though, he is surrounded by great characters such as his best friend Spud and their friend Amelia. Both of these characters are completely unique but so much fun as well.

This book will have you laughing out loud! My daughters were laughing as much as I was too. This is a great book that will make you keep coming back for more, not only with the illustrations, but with the overall story too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Unicorn and Yeti: Friends Rock

Unicorn and Yeti: Friends Rock



About the Book

Yeti loves playing on the swing. Unicorn would like a turn.
Unicorn loves eating peaches. Yeti would like to try one.
Unicorn and Yeti find a sparkly rock. They would both like to take it home.

Can these magical friends discover how to share? These laugh-out-loud stories with full-color artwork and easy-to-read text throughout are perfect for new readers!



My Take on the Book
This is a great book for a young reader that allows early readers to build their confidence in reading. They do this with a very cute story about an unlikely friend pairing. That being said though, the story does share a great story of friendship that kids of all ages will enjoy and learn from!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Diamond & Dawn

Diamond & Dawn



About the Book

Lyra Selene returns to the incandescent magic of Amber & Dusk in a second installment about the corrosions of even the most dazzling dreams, and the strength of hope amidst darkness.

Mirage, triumphant in her coup of the Amber Empire, returns to the palais prepared to take her place as empress. With the support of her friends and a tentative, blossoming romance with Sunder, Mirage is on the cusp of taking hold of everything she has ever wanted.

However, her place in the sun is not as sure as she expected, nor is it quite as bright as she imagined.

When the Empress Severine's body was recovered from the battle, Mirage discovered she was not dead after all. Rather, Severine is in a coma, her every breath a threat to Mirage's newfound power. Worse, a distant cousin, Gavin d'Ars, appears at court with the challenge of his blood claim. As Mirage uncovers more secrets from her family's past, she proposes a series of ancient, grueling trials to determine the most deserving heir. But in Mirage's fight to defend her vision for the empire, she begins to splinter all of her alliances. Will the battle for control leave anyone untainted?



My Take on the Book
The author in this book has created an amazing tapestry of interwoven story of power seeking, intrigue, action, mystery and more. As a reader you get drawn into this story and with every page you are kept on the edge of your seat as you wait in anticipation to learn what is happening next. The book itself is a great second book in the series. The characters are well developed and while you may not like them all, you will definitely get to better understand their motivations, for good or bad. This was a great book that I would recommend to all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, November 4, 2019

Book Review - Joe Quinn's Poltergeist

Joe Quinn's Poltergeist



About the Book
There’s a poltergeist in Joe Quinn’s house, and Davie is determined to discover its source in this lively, hopeful graphic storybook from David Almond and Dave McKean.

Joe Quinn has been telling everyone about the poltergeist in his house, but no one believes him. No one, that is, except Davie. Davie’s felt the inexplicable presence in the Quinns’ house and seen random objects fly through the air. And there’s something else . . . a memory of Davie’s beloved sister and a feeling deep down that it might just be possible for ghosts to exist. Full of thoughts of hauntings and grief and God, Davie hovers on a precipice of uncertainty and possibility, a space that storyteller David Almond occupies comfortably and returns to again and again — here paired once more with the dynamic, dreamlike mixed-media art of Dave McKean.



My Take on the Book
You would think that this book was specifically about a poltergeist, bu it is actually more about the relationship between Davie and the Parish Priest. This relationship is important as it is through this that Davie's life starts to get illuminated. While it may seem that Davie has a good life, under the surface you see anger, grief and more.  It is this personal anguish that seems to power the poltergeist. What is interesting is the connection between the poltergeist and Davie and how when the characters interact with this poltergeist they are really interacting with Davie. The book also has a ton of great illustrations that make the book really stand out.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Illustration Studio: Drawing Manga Heroines and Heroes

Illustration Studio: Drawing Manga Heroines and Heroes



About the Book

Learn to draw your favorite manga and anime characters, and create your own, with Illustration Studio: Drawing Manga Heroines and Heroes!

In this exciting extension of the interactive Illustration Studio series, learn how to illustrate a range of manga heroes, heroines, and characters—from male and female warriors and fighters to schoolgirls and boys, knights, angels, cyborgs, interstellar idols, and more. The Illustration Studio series features interactive exercises, creative prompts, and step-by-step exercises to educate and excite beginning and aspiring artists working in a variety of media and techniques, from manga and anime to illustration done in ink.

Illustration Studio: Manga Heroines and Heroes teaches aspiring and beginning manga artists the basics for creating a range of popular characters, props and scenes. No matter your skill level, the drawing and colorization tips, loads of techniques, and step-by-step projects are instructive and helpful, while creative prompts and exercises invite personalization and participation inside the pages of the book..

You'll be guided through every step as you not only learn how to draw, but also learn the vernacular and story lines associated with this popular art genre.



My Take on the Book
My kids love to draw and my youngest has just recently gotten into trying to draw Manga lately. This book is a bit more advanced than just a basic level look at Manga. That being said though, the book does still give you a ton to work on if you are interested in drawing Manga. My daughter has really explored this book and I can see the difference! I know she will be using this book for some time to come and her art will continue to get better too!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Big Nate: Hug It Out!

Big Nate: Hug It Out!



About the Book
When Nate rides the Flamethrower with a mystery girl at the fair, sparks fly. Nate’s certain he’s just met the love of his life—and then she disappears! Can our lovestruck hero track her down?

 Sixth grade is no picnic for Nate Wright. His pal Francis won’t stop bombarding him with useless trivia. A wild pitch knocks him out of a ballgame and into the emergency room. And the only thing standing between Nate and summer school is a study session with the worst possible tutor: his too-obnoxious-for-words arch enemy, Gina. But a chance encounter on an amusement park ride could change everything. Meanwhile, the troubles are piling up in this hilarious new collection of Big Nate comics, and there may be only one thing for Nate to do: HUG IT OUT! In this brand-new collection of comics from the New York Times bestselling series Big Nate, everyone's favorite sixth-grade prankster is back for more hilarious misadventures — and even a little romance!



My Take on the Book
My kids love Big Nate and this book is an amazing addition to the series. For us, reading this, we all agreed that this is definitely one of the best in the series of books. What I love about this series is that it relates to all kids, not just boys or girls, but both. The book also is great for adults as well. There is great humor, characters, illustrations and more. If you loved other Big Nate books you will all love this as well. We actually read this numerous times and it was better and better with each read through.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Ruth Objects: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Ruth Objects: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg



About the Book
Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a trailblazer. A fighter. A public servant who has dedicated her life to the pursuit of equality.

When Ruth was a young girl, her mother encouraged her to read, be independent, and stand up for what she thought was right. Ruth graduated first in her class at Cornell University and tied for top of her graduating class at Columbia Law School. But she faced prejudice as both a woman and a Jew, making it difficult to get a job. Ruth eventually found work as a law clerk, and her determination, diligence, and skill led to a distinguished career as a lawyer. In 1993, she became the second woman ever appointed to the United States Supreme Court. As a Supreme Court justice, Ruth has inspired fierce admiration and faced fervent opposition for her judgments in high-profile cases, many of which have involved discrimination. She has been lauded for her sharp wit and boldness, even when her opinions differ from that of the majority.

As a student, teacher, lawyer, and judge, Ruth often experienced unfair treatment. But she persisted, becoming a cultural icon, championing equality in pay and opportunity. Her brilliant mind, compelling arguments, and staunch commitment to truth and justice have convinced many to stand with her, and her fight continues to this day.

This installment of the award-winning Big Words series brings a legendary figure into focus with Doreen Rappaport's incisive prose combined with Ruth's own words. Eric Velasquez's dynamic illustrations infuse every scene with life in a moving tribute that will inspire young justice seekers everywhere.




My Take on the Book
Such an amazing book about an amazing woman. We loved being able to learn about the notorious RBG in a way that opened our eyes to all that she had to overcome to get to where she is in her life. She is truly a remarkable woman that has changed the world for women in many ways. If you have never really learned about her, this is a great book to start with. This is a book that I would recommend to all parents, as it is one that will allow kids and parents alike to not only expand their appreciation of this woman, but also appreciate the world that we have because of the work that she has done.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Can You See Me?

Can You See Me?



About the Book

Engage the imagination and teach animal recognition with this carefully designed, interactive picture book for curious children.

Using abstract art, Can You See Me? challenges the mind and celebrates diverse ways of seeing. Each spread contains an illustration of an animal made up entirely of equilateral triangles. Read the clue and wait for your child to spot the creature hidden in plain sight. Chances are, they will see the animal before you do!


My Take on the Book
This was a cute book that uses geometrical shapes to tell a story. It was fun to look at every page to see if we could figure out what the creature was. Sometimes things were harder than others, but the whole book made it a ton of fun!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Book Review - Doomsday Clock

Doomsday Clock



About the Book
The world of Watchmen collides with the DC Universe in the most shocking story in DC history! Written by master storytellers Geoff Johns and Gary Frank--As the Doomsday Clock ticks toward midnight, the DC Universe will encounter with its greatest threat: Dr. Manhattan. But nothing is hidden from Manhattan, and the secrets of the past, present and future will leave ramifications on our heroes lives forever.

NOTHING EVER REALLY ENDS...

The world of Watchmen collides with the DC Universe! Doomsday Clock, from Geoff Johns and Gary Frank, the critically acclaimed team behind Shazam! and Batman: Earth One.

Seven years after the events of Watchmen, Adrian Veidt has been exposed as the murderer of millions. Now a fugitive, he has come up with a new plan to redeem himself in the eyes of the world. The first step? Finding Dr. Manhattan. Alongside a new Rorschach and the never-before-seen Mime and Marionette, he follows Manhattan's trail to the DC Universe, which is on the brink of collapse as international tensions push the "doomsday clock" ever closer to midnight. Is this all Dr. Manhattan's doing? 

Spinning out of Watchmen, DC Universe: Rebirth,  and Batman/The Flash: The Button, Doomsday Clock rewrites the past, present, and future of the DC Universe and it all starts here! Collects Doomsday Clock #1-6.



My Take on the Book
I had never read any of the Watchmen series of books before but this was a great start, and I will definitely be looking to read more in the future. The author has done a great job at pulling together a compelling story that will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. The writing in this book was strong and compelling and the story is one that continues to draw you in from beginning to end. I was glad that this book was a stand alone book that did not require that I had read anything about the Watchmen in the past. It is a book that keeps on giving from start to finish and by the end you may just find yourself wanting to read this again.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Book Review - The Batman Who Laughs

The Batman Who Laughs



About the Book
"A Batman who laughs is a Batman who always wins."

He unleashed the Dark Multiverse in the epic series Dark Nights: Metal. Now superstar writer Scott Snyder reunites with acclaimed artist Jock (Batman: Black Mirror) to set that evil alternate reality's deadliest denizen loose in Gotham City--and the original Dark Knight will never be the same!

Half Batman. Half Joker. Combining everything that makes the Caped Crusader a hero and the Clown Prince a killer, the Batman Who Laughs is the Dark Multiverse's deadliest criminal mastermind. Now he's come to Gotham to turn Bruce Wayne's home into an incubator for evil.

And he hasn't come alone. Emerging from another of the Dark Multiverse's myriad realities comes the Grim Knight. This vicious vigilante will use any weapon at his disposal to ensure those he has marked for death stay down.

A war like no other--a war of the Batmen--has begun. As Batman's closest friends, deadliest enemies, and doppelg&aauml;ngers from across the Multiverse get caught in the crossfire, only one question remains: Who will have the last laugh?

Discover the answer in The Batman Who Laughs--a terrifying reimagining of one of comics' greatest heroes--and villains--from the premier Batman writer of our time!

Collects the full seven-issue miniseries and the one-shot special issue The Batman Who Laughs: The Grim Knight.




My Take on the Book
This was a great Batman book. It is dark, with great illustrations and a plot that keeps you guessing until the end. The end is a bit of a twist but it leaves you wanting more! If you are a fan of Batman this is an amazing book you will not want to miss! The book was full of action, suspense and more! Get ready for a thrill ride from beginning to end!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Batman: Damned

Batman: Damned



About the Book

The Joker has been murdered. His killer is a mystery. Batman is the World's Greatest Detective. But what happens when the person he is searching for is the man staring back at him in the mirror?

THE JOKER IS DEAD.

There is no doubt about that. But whether Batman finally snapped his scrawny neck or some other sinister force in Gotham City did the deed is still a mystery.

Problem is, Batman can't remember...and the more he digs into this labyrinthine case, the more he starts to doubt everything he's uncovering.

So who better to set him straight than...John Constantine?

The problem with that is as much as John loves a good mystery, he loves messing with people's heads even more. So with John's "help," the pair will delve into the sordid underbelly of Gotham as they race toward the mind-blowing truth of who murdered the Joker.

Batman: Damned is a groundbreaking supernatural horror story told by two of comics' greatest modern creators: Brian Azzarello (Dark Knight III: The Master Race, 100 Bullets) and Lee Bermejo (Hellblazer, Joker).

This hardcover volume collects Batman: Damned #1-3 and features a behind-the-scenes extras gallery with an afterword by Brian Azzarello.



My Take on the Book
This is a story that was raw, full of grit and power. This book has a ton of substance throughout the entire book. The book itself is amazing full of a great story, great illustrations and more. This is definitely a dark book, but it is also an indication of where the story of Batman is going. The book itself really looks at Bruce Wayne and Batman. You need to take time with this book and really explore all of the intricacies of the man who is the bat. It is a dark book that for some may be too dark, but I will say that it is an amazing book that makes you think about Batman in a new way! This book opens the door to the future that is coming for Batman, so strap up and get ready for a powerful read!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Super Sons: The Foxglove Mission

Super Sons: The Foxglove Mission



About the Book

The Foxglove Mission is the rare sequel that takes everything readers love about Super Sons and raises the stakes without losing any of the charm or sense of wonder. Join New York Times bestselling author Ridley Pearson (Kingdom Keepers) and artist Ile Gonzalez as they introduce new settings, new allies and villains, and an all-new adventure in this latest action-packed chapter!

In the aftermath of The Polar Shield Project, Jon Kent and Damian "Ian" Wayne are on the run! With their hometown in ruins and in the absence of their heroic fathers, Jon and Ian are on a mission to find a sample of the deadly virus that's threatening Wyndemere and Jon's mother, Lois Lane. Meanwhile, Candace follows clues that hold the key to her destiny as she unlocks powerful abilities she never knew existed. While their quests threaten to divide the three of them, it's only through teamwork and trust that they can succeed.



My Take on the Book
This is a great second book in the series. The characters in the book are working well together to try and make more sense of the changing world around them. You will find new allies and learn more about the foes as well. The book is a great add-on to what we first learned in the first Super Sons book! It is a great read that you will not want to miss!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Black Canary: Ignite

Black Canary: Ignite



About the Book

From Meg Cabot, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Princess Diaries!

Thirteen-year-old Dinah Lance knows exactly what she wants, who she is, and where she's going. First, she'll win the battle of the bands with her two best friends, then she'll join the Gotham City Junior Police Academy so she can solve crimes just like her dad. Who knows, her rock-star group of friends may even save the world, but first they'll need to agree on a band name. When a mysterious figure keeps getting in the way of Dinah's goals and threatens her friends and family, she'll learn more about herself, her mother's secret past, and navigating the various power chords of life.

With expressive and energetic art by Cara McGee to match the trademark attitude and spunk of Meg Cabot's characters and dialogue, this mother-daughter story embraces the highs and lows of growing up without growing out of what makes us unique. It's an inspirational song that encourages readers to find their own special voices to sing along with Black Canary!




My Take on the Book
As a fan of Black Canary this book really allows a new audience to meet Dinah Lance for the first time or get reacquainted with this DC Hero.  For any girl that has been told that they are too much of anything they will connect with Lance as a hero. This story does a great job at capturing the voice of Black Canary and the illustrations throughout are beautifully made and really bring the character alive!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Book Review - The Wild Magic Trilogy: Begone the Raggedy Witches

The Wild Magic Trilogy: Begone the Raggedy Witches



About the Book

When witches kidnap her dad, Mup is swept up in a wild tide of magic that carries her to another world. Can she reunite her family and find her way back?

On the night that Aunty dies, the raggedy witches come for Mup’s family. Pale, cold, and relentless, the witches will do anything for the tyrannical queen who has outlawed most magic and enforces her laws with terror and cruelty — and who happens to be Mup’s grandmother. When witches carry off her dad, Mup and her mam leave the mundane world to rescue him. But everything is odd in the strange, glittering Witches Borough, even Mam. Even Mup herself. In a world of rhyming crows, talking cats, and golden forests, it’s all Mup can do to keep her wits about her. And even if she can save her dad, Mup’s not sure if anything will ever be the same again. First in a new trilogy by Irish author Celine Kiernan, this tale of family and forbidden magic charts a fresh path through the landscape of beloved fantasy tradition — and promises to bewitch any reader in search of stories to love.


My Take on the Book
This was a fun read with characters that are well developed. I liked the main character, she is a great heroine who has great characteristics that you will love your kids to see. The book explores important topics such as family, self-determination and responsibility to others. It is a great book for upper elementary and middle school readers. The book was an easy read that really moved from beginning to end. As I read it I found that I wanted to keep reading to find out what would happen next! The book has a little bit of everything in it from humor, action and more, something for anyone!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Outward Bound Lessons to Live a Life of Leadership: To Serve, to Strive, and Not to Yield

Outward Bound Lessons to Live a Life of Leadership: To Serve, to Strive, and Not to Yield



About the Book

This is the first book to describe in detail the principles of Outward Bound, told through the stories of former instructors and graduates who show how to apply them to create healthier, more effective teams, organizations, and communities.

For nearly six decades Outward Bound USA’s education programs have shaped the lives of tens of thousands of participants. Strangers are put in an unfamiliar and unpredictable setting, where to succeed they must develop a sense of teamwork, resilience, self-confidence, and a focus on the greater good. But, Mark Brown asks, isn’t the modern world just as unpredictable and challenging as any mountain or desert? He shows how the same principles that bind people together in the natural world work just as well in cities, companies, and communities.

This book explores the concept of Expeditionary Leadership through the stories of people such as third-generation business steward Laura Kohler, the Home Depot cofounder Arthur Blank, and former United States Senator Mark Udall, whose lives were touched by Outward Bound and who then went on to make a positive difference in the world. They show how each of us can, in our own way, use the Outward Bound philosophy to bravely face the wild unknowns in our daily lives.

From training the first Peace Corps volunteers to partnering with thousands of educational institutions and corporations, Outward Bound has helped build the self-confidence and character of participants who have gone on to live richer, more fulfilling, and successful lives. Outward Bound internationally operates in thirty-three countries and impacts nearly a quarter of a million people annually.



My Take on the Book
I know many people that have experiences outward bound and they have told me over and over about how transformative of an experience this was for them. This book really brings together the story of outward bound but throughout this you also experience many leadership principles as well. I love that this book encourages all of us to be a lifelong learner no matter what. I love the outward bound motto "To serve, to strive, and to yield" and while I never went through outward bound myself I found that the author does an amazing job at showing what leaders need to do to be successful.  The book has a ton of practical lessons that can be picked up and implemented no matter where you are. The book even gives you questions at the end of each chapter that will help you to be a stronger leader which was great! Anyone that wants to learn some solid leadership principles will leave reading this with great ideas for the future.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Book Review - Goodnight, Starry Night

Goodnight, Starry Night



About the Book

Introduce little ones to famous works of art in this peek-through bedtime lullaby, and spark curiosity, joy, and learning!

Goodnight glowing moon up high.
Goodnight stars, goodnight sky.
Goodnight baby, snug in bed.
Time to rest your sleepy head.

Discover the perfect art introduction for every child, and every home. Combining a soothing bedtime lullaby with vibrant colors and peek-through pages, this board book provides a gentle look at some of the most beloved, accessible, and well-known artwork in history. A die-cut on every spread gives an exciting clue to the art on the next page, keeping little ones (and caregivers!) curious as each page becomes a magical, peek-through reveal. Light back matter provides additional historical information about the featured artwork and artists, including Vincent van Gogh, Berthe Morisot, Diego Rivera, and more!

The first title in a new Cartwheel series, Peek-a-Boo Art, Goodnight, Starry Night offers an exciting introduction to diverse pieces of artwork, builds creative vocabulary, and celebrates the importance of imagination and art in young readers!


My Take on the Book
This is a great book that really allows readers to get a better understanding of some great pieces of art. The book is a beautiful book with amazing images, but also very nice words that are shared in a poetic cantor. The book itself opens the door for kids to appreciate and love art for their whole life.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High

DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High



About the Book

A new era of DC Super Hero Girls begins in DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High!

Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna are continually late to class because of their crime-fighting, and Principal Chapin is tired of hearing their excuses. These girls need to show more school spirit...or else they'll be suspended!

Principal Chapin's demand that they each find an after-school club and stick with it for a whole week seems easy, until the girls get kicked out of the clubs they choose. Instead, they must think outside the box and step out of their comfort zones. As if having secret identities and balancing school with super-heroics didn't offer enough challenges!

Amy Wolfram (Teen Titans, Teen Titans Go!) and Yancey Labat (DC Super Hero Girls) show off a new vision of the DC Super Hero Girls!



My Take on the Book
As a fan of super heroes, it is great to have another graphic novel with a female cast of characters that are the complete heroes of the story. You will have a great mix of humor, adventure, mystery and more as the heroes work to solve the crime (Catwoman stealing an ancient toilet from a museum). The book is short so you will not get a huge deep dive into their powers, but it is a solid story for all readers that love superheroes and teamwork in action!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High

DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High



About the Book

A new era of DC Super Hero Girls begins in DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High!

Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna are continually late to class because of their crime-fighting, and Principal Chapin is tired of hearing their excuses. These girls need to show more school spirit...or else they'll be suspended!

Principal Chapin's demand that they each find an after-school club and stick with it for a whole week seems easy, until the girls get kicked out of the clubs they choose. Instead, they must think outside the box and step out of their comfort zones. As if having secret identities and balancing school with super-heroics didn't offer enough challenges!

Amy Wolfram (Teen Titans, Teen Titans Go!) and Yancey Labat (DC Super Hero Girls) show off a new vision of the DC Super Hero Girls!


My Take on the Book
What a great new book bringing together girl power! My daughter and I read this and we loved seeing the Super Hero girls in their own world, interacting and working together. As a father of girls, this was a great graphic novel that shows girl power in action. Mix in humor, adventure and some real life scenarios and girls today will find this book to be relatable to some of the experiences that they have in their lives as well. My daughter loved seeing these super heroes struggling to balance their life just like she has to struggle with as well. This was a great book for all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com