Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2019

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Book Review - The Way Home For Wolf

The Way Home For Wolf



About the Book
A touching story of an independent-minded wolf cub who finds his way home.

Wolf cub Wilf doesn't want help from anyone. Whatever it is, he can do it all by himself. But when he finds himself lost and alone in the chill of the Arctic night, Wilf discovers that sometimes we all need the helping hand of a friend.

A stunningly illustrated story from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.


My Take on the Book
This was such a nice story that shows the power of people helping others and learning about how someone can pass this gift of helping others on. The book is a beautiful story with amazing images and brings so many animals together that work together in a unique way to help a friend in need, even if you do not know the friend.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)

Bunny Business (Mama's Day at Work)



About the Book
Mama is taking Bunny to work today, and Bunny couldn't be more excited! But when the office isn't all it's cracked up to be, Bunny has to get creative to save the office from boredom.

It's morning when Mama gets the call that the bunnysitter is sick. But Papa is out of town and school is out. That means Bunny gets to go to work at Mama's office! But the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be, even with its many distractions. Boredom and hunger strike, and Bunny has to take up the mantle to save Mama's office from the workday blues.

Bunny Business is the perfect read aloud for working parents and their children. They will laugh and cheer at the ingenuity of one bunny's impromptu Take Your Child to Work Day!


My Take on the Book
For anyone that has a child that has come with them to work you know that things may not go as planned and you will see what happens when this momma bunny brings her son with her. This is a fun book that shows that even though a child can get into trouble, not all trouble is bad and it can just be fun too! 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Alpacas with Maracas

Alpacas with Maracas



About the Book
Macca and Al are two alpacas with a lot of enthusiasm but not a lot of talent. Can they find the right act in time for the talent show?

"You're a genius, Al! We don't need a big fracas!
We can't sing or play, brother, but we can shake like no other.
We just need... MARACAS!"

Macca and his best friend Al are always looking for ways to brighten their days. When they see an ad for a talent show, they're all in. But unfortunately, everything the cuddly duo tries, from singing and dancing to magic and gymnastics, is mediocre at best... until they discover the perfect act. How will the audience respond to these alpacas with maracas?

With quirky rhymes and adorable illustrations, this fun-filled sequel to Macca the Alpaca will have kids shimmying, grooving, wiggling, and moving along with Macca and Al. Chika chika cha cha cha! Ticka ticka ta ta ta!



My Take on the Book

This was a great book that lets you see two best friends having a ton of fun together and trying to figure out what they can do for the talent show. I love seeing that they try hard and put their whole hearts into everything that they do whether they are good or not. This was a ton of fun to read and with the rhyming cadence and illustrations you are brought into the book even further.  The pictures are a ton of fun and you see topics of friendship, hard work and more !


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Macca the Alpaca

Macca the Alpaca



About the Book
Macca the Alpaca is the alpaca-llama mashup of the year! Perfect for fans of Oi, Frog! and You Can't Take anElephant on the Bus. Macca is an alpaca. He loves splashing in puddles, and he gives the very best cuddles. Harmer is a llama. He's tall, strong and woolly, but he's also a BIG BULLY. When a friendly alpaca comes face-to-face with a meanie llama,he soon realises that LLAMA DRAMA lies ahead. But, who knows, perhaps the differences that separate the two will be exactly what brings them together in the end. A heartwarming story of friendship, acceptance and the value of being yourself.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that shows you that you can accomplish anything that you put your mind to and that someone, even someone smaller can go up against a bully and come out ahead. This book is so much fun with a rhyming cadence and illustrations that are a ton of fun as well. The book touches on topics of friendship, acceptance and the idea of being true to yourself!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Book Review - Most Wanted: The Revolutionary Partnership of John Hancock & Samuel Adams

Most Wanted: The Revolutionary Partnership of John Hancock & Samuel Adams



About the Book

John Hancock and Samuel Adams were an unlikely pair of troublemakers. Hancock was young and dashing. Adams was old and stodgy. But working together, they rallied the people of Boston against the unfair policies of Great Britain and inspired American resistance. And to King George, they became a royal pain.

When the British army began marching toward Lexington and Concord, sending Hancock and Adams fleeing into the woods, the two men couldn't help but worry--this time, had they gone too far?

Rich with historical detail and primary sources, this spirited tale takes readers through ten years of taxes and tea-tossing, tyranny and town hall meetings. The team behind Thomas Paine and the Dangerous Word reunites for a lively look at the origins of the American Revolution told through the powerful partnership of two legendary founders.



My Take on the Book
This book was filled with so much detail and information and I can say that by the end of the book my eyes were open to all of the things that these two did together that many people may not be aware of at all. The book also shares the distinct differences which makes you realize that this partnership was a bit unconventional. That being said, even though that is the case, it was a powerful one. Get ready to learn and have fun with the story itself, as is holds a ton of learning surprises too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Anti/Hero

Anti/Hero



About the Book
Piper Pájaro and Sloane MacBrute are two 13-year-old girls with very different lives but very similar secrets. Popular, outgoing Piper is strong. Like, ripping-the-doors-off-cards strong. She longs to be a superhero, even if she tends to leave massive messes in her wake. Snarky Sloane, on the other hand, is super smart. Like, evil-genius-smart. To help her family, she has to put those smarts to use for her villainous grandfather.

When a mission to steal an experimental technological device brings the two girls face to face with each other, the device sparks, and the two girls switch bodies! Now they must live in each other's shoes as they figure out a way to switch back.

Anti/Hero is a story that explores what makes a hero, how one can find friendship where it's unexpected, and what it means to walk in another person's shoes...literally!

Authors Kate Karyus Quinn (Another Little Piece, The Show Must Go On) and Demitria Lunetta (The Fade, Bad Blood) make their graphic novel and middle grade debut alongside artist Maca Gil to introduce two new and exciting characters to DC Comics!



My Take on the Book
Not only was the art in this book amazing, but the story was even better. You get a story that brings together unlikely friends that have to work together to be able to regain their lives. The story is string and the book allows you to see the growth in each of the characters which is also a ton of fun too. This is definitely a story that I would recommend to all that love superheroes, but also stories that have action, drama, great art and more!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day

Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day



About the Book

It's a snow day, and Bella is thrilled. There's no school, so she and Bub can play outside all day. Trouble is, Bub does not like the snow it's slippery, freezing cold, and wet! What's even worse, there's a new kid next door, and he has a scary, monster-sized pet. Can Bub get past his fear of the snow and make a new friend at the same time?

With full-color artwork throughout, this funny and charming diary-format early chapter book is perfect for anyone who believes a furry pal is the best kind of friend.



My Take on the Book
This is a great addition to the series where we see Bella and Bub in another early reader that was fun and talked about topics that were important for any young child to know about dealing with fear, friendship and more.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Book Review - Love, Sophia on the Moon

Love, Sophia on the Moon



About the Book

Life on Earth isn't always fair, so Sophia runs off to the moon, where there are no bedtimes, no time-outs, and no Mom.

But as Sophia and her mom send letters to each other, Mom has a clever comeback for all of Sophia's angry notes. Home starts to sound not-quite-so-bad, especially when Mom reports that someone from the moon has moved in to Sophia's old room, they're having spaghetti for dinner, and they're reading Sophia's favorite story at bedtime.

A through line of unconditional love underscored with lots of humor and imagination makes this picturebook a stellar pick for storytime.


My Take on the Book
This is such a cute story, sharing letters between mom and daughter as she has run away to the moon to escape her mom. The letters are so real and fun and mom does a great job of working to get reconnected to her daughter in the end. If you want a story that you and your kids will love to share together look no further than this. The illustrations also draw you further and further into the book!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, November 17, 2019

Book Review - The World's Best Dad Jokes for Kids

The World's Best Dad Jokes



About the Book

"When a clown farts . . . does it smell funny?" Illustrations bring the wackiness to a whole new level in this book of jokes so silly only a dad would tell them. Every joke is illustrated!

This illustrated book by the New York Times–bestselling creators of the Happiness Is . . . project will leave your family in stitches. The World’s Best Dad Jokes for Kids is filled with hundreds of corny, brilliant, and silly jokes that dads love to tell—each paired with a small drawing that’s a sweet comic gem in itself. It’s the perfect book for road trips, rainy days, or those special moments when kids and parents can laugh together.


My Take on the Book
If you love dad jokes, this is the book for you. Some of the jokes are definitely groners, but they are also funny too. The book is full of so many fun images that go to with the jokes as well. The images make the book even better as they did help to make the joke easier to understand for younger readers!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Building the Best: 8 Proven Leadership Principles to Elevate Others to Success

Building the Best: 8 Proven Leadership Principles to Elevate Others to Success



About the Book

Build a world-class team culture with proven principles from renowned “Follow My Lead” podcaster and business leader John Eades

Organizational culture has undergone a seismic shift in the 21st century―and with it, the requirements of leadership. In Building the Best, LearnLoft CEO John Eades takes you on a journey of transformation that will equip you with the tools you need to become the kind of cutting-edge leader today’s workplace so urgently needs.

“Leadership is about empowering, inspiring, and serving in order to elevate others over an extended period of time. You are the perfect person to live this out every day.” Eades’s powerful words form the backbone of this groundbreaking guide to cultivating leadership at its highest level.

Beginning with the benefits of great leadership―and the drawbacks of bad leadership―Eades offers real-life examples of leaders who elevate others, and how their practices have paid huge dividends. At its core is a carefully balanced blend of “love and discipline”―a guiding principle that helps create high levels of performance by leaning on standards while at the same time caring about the long-term success and well-being of each team member.

Through these proven practices, you’ll learn to:
• Identify your current leadership style
• Rely on the “purpose trifecta” to guide your team
• Be a leader who properly leverages the “Acts of Accountability” model
• Create a “Maximizing Mantra” to produce energy and results
• Develop the skills of others by understanding the “4 Stages of Role Development”

Leadership is a journey, not a destination. Building the Best offers a powerful blueprint for embarking on that journey―the first step in taking your team or organization toward true greatness.



My Take on the Book
This is a book that really makes you think about the leader that you want to be. The book focuses on serving others and lifting up the people on your team to help them achieve more. This is the type of book that I wish that I would have read when I first became a manager as it really does help you better understand the importance of connecting with and helping your team to be greater, to help your team and your business to succeed. The book explores seven principles that will really allow you to start making changes right away that will start to show you specific things that you can do to flip your organizational culture into one that will lead to better results overall. Not only do you learn principles, but you also learn about the five leadership styles which include: Manage; Rule; Please, Support and Elevate. This is a great book with practical examples of leadership. The book is a great resource for any manager to put into practice and become the leader you were meant to be.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Make Trouble: Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding the Courage to Lead

Make Trouble: Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding the Courage to Lead



About the Book
From former Planned Parenthood president and activist Cecile Richards comes the young readers edition of her New York Times bestselling memoir, which Hillary Rodham Clinton called an “inspiration for aspiring leaders everywhere.”

To make change, you have to make trouble.

Cecile Richards has been fighting for what she believes in ever since she was taken to the principal’s office in seventh grade for wearing an armband in protest of the Vietnam War. She had an extraordinary childhood in ultra-conservative Texas, where her father, a civil rights attorney, and her mother, an avid activist and the first female governor of Texas, taught their kids to be troublemakers.

From the time Richards was a girl, she had a front row seat to observe the rise of women in American politics. And by sharing her story with young readers, she shines a light on the people and lessons that have gotten her though good times and bad, and encourages her audience to take risks, make mistakes, and make trouble along the way.


My Take on the Book
This is a remarkable book that allows younger readers to learn about Cecile Richards and how she was taught to challenge the world and to make trouble in her own way. I love the message, as I too am trying to teach my daughters the same. The message in this book is something that all kids need to hear as they need to think about the world around them and to challenge some aspects as well, while still fitting into the confines that society has for them. This is a great book about a woman that has made a mark on the world, and as a father of daughters, this also is a great story for them to see a woman of this stature in action!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Greta's Story: The Schoolgirl Who Went on Strike to Save the Planet

Greta's Story: The Schoolgirl Who Went on Strike to Save the Planet



About the Book
The inspiring true story of a Greta Thunberg, a young eco-activist whose persistence sparked a global movement.

You are never too young to make a difference.

Ever since she learned about climate change, Greta Thunberg couldn’t understand why politicians weren’t treating it as an emergency. In August 2018, temperatures in Sweden reached record highs, fires raged across the country, and fifteen-year-old Greta decided to stop waiting for political leaders to take action. Instead of going to school on Friday, she made a sign and went on strike in front of Stockholm’s parliament building.

Greta’s solo protest grew into the global Fridays for Future—or School Strike 4 Climate—movement, which millions have now joined. She has spoken at COP24 (the UN summit on climate change) and has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. This timely, unofficial biography is her story, but also that of many others around the world willing to fight against the indifference of the powerful for a better future.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that really introduces you to an amazing young woman that is trying to change the world in her own way. I loved sharing this book with my own girls as it was an inspirational read that let them know that they too can change the world, even as a younger person, and that change does not have to come from only adults. The book is a powerful story and one that all should read. I, for one, want to see Greta continue to champion this cause as our world needs to make changes to fix the damage that has already been done!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Cinderella Rex

Cinderella Rex



About the Book
Cinderella Rex loves to dance, but will she get to attend the royal ball? From Epic! Originals, Once Before Time is a playful board book series of fairy tales re-imagined from a time long ago . . . with dinosaurs!

In this prehistoric retelling of the classic fairy tale, Cinderella Rex wants to go to the ball, but her stompmother and stompsisters make her clean up after them instead. With some help from her Fairy Triceratops, Cinderella Rex figures out how to dance her way to living happily ever after!



My Take on the Book
For any young reader, this book is a fun one that re-introduces your kids to the story of Cinderella in a whole new way. This is a fun book, that has great characters and a great story as well. The images are colorful and fun and as a board book you can really share this book with your young child and get a smile on their face from beginning to end!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Charlie Brown: All Tied Up

Charlie Brown: All Tied Up



About the Book
While Charlie Brown is all tied up, the rest of the gang doesn't hold back on having fun. Pig-Pen unexpectedly charms Peppermint Patty at the Valentine's dance, Marcie and Snoopy run a commercial airline, and Lucy tries her hardest to win Schroeder's affection. Whether you're safe on the ground or tangled up in a tree like Charlie Brown, you won't want to miss the fun in this latest Peanuts for kids adventure.



My Take on the Book
For any fan of The Peanuts, this is a great collection on comic strips that bring our some classic comics that you will truly love. As someone that grew up with these comics, I found that I loved sharing the book with my own daughters to allow them to experience and appreciate the genius that was Charles Schultz. This is truly a classic book that all Peanuts fans will love!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Straw

Straw



About the Book
Meet Straw!

He's always rushed straight to the finish. But when his speedy streak gets the best of him, it takes a friend to show Straw how to drink in the amazing world around him.

A companion to Spoon and Chopsticks, this delightful story celebrates the joys of taking it slow.



My Take on the Book
This was a super cute book that really introduces you to a fun character that will allow you to see how you need to slow down and savor the world around you. I felt a lot for this straw as I know that sometimes I run through life rushing and this book really looks at how one character has to learn this lesson the hard way! This is a wonderful book with a wonderful message!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Draw Like an Artist: 100 Realistic Animals

Draw Like an Artist: 100 Realistic Animals



About the Book

Featuring 600+ sketches depicting a vast array of beautiful animal forms, detailed faces, and more, Draw Like an Artist: 100 Realistic Animals is a must-have visual reference book for student artists, scientific illustrators, urban sketchers, and anyone seeking to improve their realistic drawing skills.

This contemporary, step-by-step guidebook demonstrates fundamental art concepts like proportion, anatomy, and spatial relationships as you learn to draw a full range of creatures, all shown from a variety of perspectives. Each set of illustrations takes you from beginning sketch lines to a finished drawing.

Author Melissa Washburn is a skilled illustrator whose clear and elegant drawing style will make this a go-to sourcebook for years to come.

Draw Like an Artist: 100 Realistic Animals is the third book in the Draw Like an Artist series following Faces and Figures and Flowers and Plants.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book for anyone looking to work on their artistic ability. This is full of a ton of images of many different types of animals. As someone that is not the best artist, this was a lot of fun and the book really walks you through step-by-step on how you can also create these fun images. The book is a great workbook for anyone. I love this book for anyone that is looking to enhance their own artistic abilities!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Book Review - Limelight

Limelight



About the Book

From thirteen-year-old award-winning slam poet Solli Raphael comes Limelight, an extraordinary book that showcases that age is no barrier to creating poetry that inspires social change and positive action.

Limelight is a unique collection of slam poetry paired with inspirational writing techniques. With over 30 original poems in different forms, Raphael's work tackles current social concerns for his generation, such as sustainability and social equality, all while amplifying his uplifting message of hope. Solli’s book also contains 5 chapters on how to write and read poetry, how to manage stage fright and writer’s block, and encouraging tips on how we can all make tomorrow better than today.

As a voice of his generation, and at a time when youth movements worldwide hold much importance, Raphael is taking on the world...one word at a time.

The future needs you and me
to create equality
across all levels
of humanity
-Solli



My Take on the Book
This is an amazing book of poetry that turns poetry on its head. The book inspires and through every word you can tell that he is working to change the world in his own way. The author shares words that are meant to encourage change with every word that is on the page. What is most impressive is that the author is only 13. The words that you will read in this book do not seem to be the words of a 13 year old, but someone that has seen experienced more. This is definitely a book that will make you think hard about the world around you!! Read this and get inspired!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Little Grey Girl

The Little Grey Girl



About the Book

In the second book of the Wild Magic trilogy, courageous young Mup and her family are trying to heal and restore the kingdom when they uncover an ancient and powerful anger.

The old queen and her raggedy witches have fled Witches Borough, and Mup’s family has moved into the cold, newly empty castle. But the queen’s legacy lingers in the fear and mistrust of her former subjects and in the memories that live in the castle’s very walls. While Mup’s mam tries to restore balance to a formerly oppressed world, Mup herself tries to settle into her strange new home with her dad, Tipper, and Crow. When an enchanted snow blankets the castle, Mup’s family is cut off from the rest of the kingdom, and the painful memories of the old queen’s victims begin to take form, thanks to a ghost whose power may be too much for even Mup and Mam to handle. Celine Kiernan weaves a timely and essential truth into the second book of her trilogy: that dismantling oppression means honoring the pains of the past, and perhaps the most potent magic of all is encouraging joy and hope wherever possible.


My Take on the Book
This was such a great second book in the series. The book explores and tackles head on some real world issues even though it is in a fantasy setting. The book really brings out some powerful topics of friendship but also oppression, hope, bravery and more. From the moment I started reading this I did not want to stop until the end. You get great characters, an amazing plot and an environment that, even though it is fantasy, you can see through the veil of fantasy to the reality that is being exposed. This was a wonderful book that you will not want to miss.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Very Very Far North

The Very Very Far North



About the Book


An inquisitive polar bear named Duane befriends an array of animals as he discovers where he belongs in this charming classic-in-the making that’s reminiscent of Winnie the Pooh.

In the Very, Very Far North, past the Cold, Cold Ocean and just below the hill that looks like a baby whale, you’ll find Duane and his friends.

Duane is a sweet and curious young bear who makes friends with everyone he meets—whether they’re bossy, like Major Puff the puffin, or a bit vain, like Handsome the musk ox, or very, very shy, like Boo the caribou. For these arctic friends, every day is a new adventure!




My Take on the Book
One of the things I love about this book is that you get characters that are multi-faceted. They are kind, empathetic, grouchy and more. The reason this is great is that you can relate to the characters through their positive and negatives. The narration in the book seems to know a bit of everything and  the author has some fun with that. There is some humor throughout and this makes the book even more fun to read and enjoy. The book itself has great characters and a plot that keeps you engaged from beginning to end.



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Lost Coast

The Lost Coast



About the Book

The spellbinding tale of six queer witches forging their own paths, shrouded in the mist, magic, and secrets of the ancient California redwoods.

Danny didn’t know what she was looking for when she and her mother spread out a map of the United States and Danny put her finger down on Tempest, California. What she finds are the Grays: a group of friends who throw around terms like queer and witch like they’re ordinary and everyday, though they feel like an earthquake to Danny. But Danny didn’t just find the Grays. They cast a spell that calls her halfway across the country, because she has something they need: she can bring back Imogen, the most powerful of the Grays, missing since the summer night she wandered into the woods alone. But before Danny can find Imogen, she finds a dead boy with a redwood branch through his heart. Something is very wrong amid the trees and fog of the Lost Coast, and whatever it is, it can kill. Lush, eerie, and imaginative, Amy Rose Capetta’s tale overflows with the perils and power of discovery — and what it means to find your home, yourself, and your way forward.



My Take on the Book
This book is one that draws you in and encourages you to keep reading from beginning to end. The book is full of description that creates a vivid world that the characters inhabit. You will be placed in the middle of a mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. The author uses words that creates pictures in your mind, which in my perspective makes the book one that I would encourage all to read! While the story is about a teen, this book is more than just a book for teens, but for adults too. This is a book that brings in different gender identities and allows you to learn and appreciate the relationships between the characters as well. By the end of this book I wanted to go and read it again to experience it over again for myself and you will too!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Malamander

Malamander



About the Book

A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift.

It’s winter in the town of Eerie-on-Sea, where the mist is thick and the salt spray is rattling the windows of the Grand Nautilus Hotel. Inside, young Herbert Lemon, Lost and Founder for the hotel, has an unexpected visitor. It seems that Violet Parma, a fearless girl around his age, lost her parents at the hotel when she was a baby, and she’s sure that the nervous Herbert is the only person who can help her find them. The trouble is, Violet is being pursued at that moment by a strange hook-handed man. And the town legend of the Malamander — a part-fish, part-human monster whose egg is said to make dreams come true — is rearing its scaly head. As various townspeople, some good-hearted, some nefarious, reveal themselves to be monster hunters on the sly, can Herbert and Violet elude them and discover what happened to Violet’s kin? This lighthearted, fantastical mystery, featuring black-and-white spot illustrations, kicks off a trilogy of fantasies set in the seaside town.



My Take on the Book
I loved all of the amazing characters in this book where you get to experience a book that brings a town with folklore coming to life. The book is a great book that is great for middle grade readers.  The town is so unique but that is what makes the book so much fun to read. Some of the best parts of the book are the characters though. I have to say that all of the characters are so remarkable. This is the type of book that grabs you from start to finish.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Ghost Network: Reboot

The Ghost Network: Reboot



About the Book
Reboot is the second book in the thrilling adventure series, The Ghost Network, in which a diverse group of teenage hackers use their extraordinary abilities to fight a legendary tech icon who's seeking total control over their bodies and minds.

Age Level: 11-14 Grade Level: 5th and up

The secret is now out about the Ghost Network's identities . . . and everything is in danger of going up in smoke. With evil tech icon, Roy Lykos, on the prowl, John and the gang head to a top-secret center in the Sahara desert to prepare for battle. This center is a bit different though—every student has the same special implants and the competition is sky-high.

As the day of reckoning approaches, the Ghost Network gang will need every bit of help they can get from their extraordinary classmates if they are to wrestle back control of their minds and bodies.




My Take on the Book
This is a great second book in the series. The book is full of adventure, mystery, intrigue and more. One of the things that I loved this book is the teamwork that you see throughout the book. The special implants and abilities that these characters have make the book even better!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Book Review - Creature Campers: The Secret of Shadow Lake

Creature Campers: The Secret of Shadow Lake



About the Book

Being the new kid at camp is never easy, especially for a bigfoot, a hyperactive jackalope, a fairy who can barely fly, and the only human boy! From Epic! Originals, Creature Campers is a funny, heartwarming series about the unlikely friendships forged at Camp Moonlight—“where being different isn’t unusual…it’s FUNusual!”

Norm is worried about fitting in at camp. Literally. He’s not just tall for a kid. He’s tall even for a bigfoot. Oliver, the only human at camp, has the opposite problem: he’s small enough that a strong wind might knock him over. With the help of their new friends, Hazel (a hyperactive jackalope) and Wisp (a boy fairy who has trouble flying), they’ll have to work together to earn their canoeing certification without disturbing the resident lake monster—or Barnaby Snoop, who will stop at nothing to capture Norm for his personal rare creature collection.


My Take on the Book
This is a great story that is filled with magical creatures that surround a very cool camp, Camp Moonlight. The story is fun and for young readers they will get a mix of fantasy, fairy tale and more. The book also has a great plot that mixes in adventure, mystery and friendship too to make it a book that compels you to read more with every page that you turn. This is a book that would be great for the early chapter book reader, as they will love finding success as they go page by page. YOu can even read this great book together and you both will have fun!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Book Review - Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation



About the Book

From New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs comes the first novel in a thrilling new series about the world’s youngest and smartest genius who’s forced to use her unbelievable code-breaking skills to outsmart Einstein.

Charlie Thorne is a genius.
Charlie Thorne is a thief.
Charlie Thorne isn’t old enough to drive.

And now it’s up to her to save the world…

Decades ago, Albert Einstein devised an equation that could benefit all life on earth—or destroy it. Fearing what would happen if the equation fell into the wrong hands, he hid it.

But now, a diabolical group known as the Furies are closing in on its location. In desperation, a team of CIA agents drags Charlie into the hunt, needing her brilliance to find it first—even though this means placing her life in grave danger.

In a breakneck adventure that spans the globe, Charlie must crack a complex code created by Einstein himself, struggle to survive in a world where no one can be trusted, and fight to keep the last equation safe once and for all.



My Take on the Book
WOW, this was a quick read that keeps you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. The book is fast paced and action packed. The main character is a fun hero for my daughters' generation. This adventure was one that was a page turner that kept me on the edge of my chair from beginning to end. The book also keeps you guessing until the very end of the book which made the book even more fun. My daughter and I are very excited for the next book in this series.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Book Review - My Pet Slime

My Pet Slime



About the Book

Piper Maclane wants a pet so badly, but she’s allergic to everything. So she creates her own . . . out of slime! From Epic! Originals, My Pet Slime is a sweet, slimy series about a girl who makes the most of a challenging situation and is rewarded with a bit of magic!

Piper wishes she could have a pet to care for and snuggle with and take to school for show-and-tell. All of the other kids have one. But she’s allergic to every animal imaginable! So instead, she makes her own pet out of slime, with big eyes, a little mouth, and two arms just long enough for hugs. It would be the perfect pet for Piper, if it were real. When a strange turn of events brings her slime to life, Piper learns how fun, challenging, and messy it can be to care for a pet . . . especially one made out of slime!

At the back of the book, learn about real-life slime and follow the recipe to create a “pet” of your own!



My Take on the Book
This book was a great start to a new series for young kids. It was a fun read that will make your kids to think about their own pets and crazy pets that they might want as well. The other thing about this book was that it was great to think about the universe allowing her to create her own pet that would not cause her allergies to go crazy. Piper and her new pet have some adventures and there is a bit of a mystery as well. The end of the book does leave it wide open for books to come


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com