Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2020

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Book Review - Inside Your Customer's Imagination: 5 Secrets for Creating Breakthrough Products, Services, and Solutions




About the Book

Organizations need to offer customers breakthrough products, services, and solutions to effectively compete in today's innovation-hungry economy. The challenge is customers often don't know precisely what they want. As Henry Ford is reputed to have said, "If I had asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses."

To surprise and awe your customers, Chip Bell advises developing co-creation partnerships with them. Co-creation partnerships are about fulfilling customers' hopes and aspirations, not just their needs and expectations. Co-creation partnerships require (1) curiosity that uncovers insight, (2) grounding that promotes clear focus, (3) discovery that fosters risk-taking, (4) trust that safeguards partnership purity, and (5) passion that inspires energized generosity.

Using examples from organizations like McDonald's, DHL, Marriott, Lockheed Martin, Discover Financial, Ultimate Software, and many more, Bell shows how co-creation partnerships enable you to tap into the treasure trove of ideas, ingenuity, and genius-in-the-raw within every customer.

 

My Take on the Book
This book takes a unique perspective from an amazing author that has lived the experience he is trying to teach. This book helps you think about your customer and really inspire you to think creatively about what you want to offer to keep your customers coming back. The book is full of great stories that illustrate the learning that he is sharing and from beginning to end you are taken on a journey of discovery that will spark your own imagination to the possibilities in front of you. The book is one you will not want to put down! 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, September 7, 2020

Movie Review - We Bare Bears: The Movie

We Bare Bears: The Movie



About the Movie
When Grizz, Panda, and Ice Bear catch the attention of the Department of Wildlife Control, their world turns upside down. The Bears are left with no choice but to go on the run. 

 

My Take on the Movie
My kids have been fans of We Bare Bears for years. While it had been a little while since they last watched them, they were excited to see this movie to relive their love of these characters. The movie really hits on topics that are relevant today but it also hits on topics of love, acceptance, friendship and more, while keeping with the humor that people know. This is a family friendly movie that was a ton of fun to watch. Highly recommend to all!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com





Friday, September 4, 2020

Book Review - Disney Before the Story: Pocahontas Leads the Way

Disney Before the Story: Pocahontas Leads the Way



About the Book
Before Pocahontas saved John Smith . . . she was a girl ready to explore! Pocahontas is always looking for an adventure. When Nakoma's younger brother falls ill and the tribe's healer needs a special herb to treat him, Pocahontas recruits Nakoma to come with her on a harrowing journey. Will the two girls retrieve the plant in time? Or will their differences cost them the mission and their friendship? 

 

My Take on the Book
This is a fun book that lets your reader get to learn more about a younger Pocahontas, before you see her as a bit older in the movie. This book shows her adventurous side and Pocahontas and her friend get to go on an exciting journey together. The book is very fun and touches on important topics of friendship too. This is a fun book that allows you to really appreciate who Pocahontas is and who she becomes.
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review: Disney Before the Story: Cinderella Takes the Stage

Disney Before the Story: Cinderella Takes the Stage



About the Book

Before Cinderella dropped her glass slipper . . . she was a girl ready to create!

Ella, or Cinderella, as her parents fondly call her, is getting ready for a puppet-show contest when she meets an unexpected friend, Val. Val doesn't have much, but she teaches Ella how to sew. In return, Ella shares her sewing materials with Val. On the big day, the girls both put on great shows. But who will win the grand prize?

Newly independent readers ages 5-8 will love this new illustrated chapter book based on Disney's Cinderella. This Before the Story chapter book brings the childhood of one of Disney's most iconic characters to life in a tale of creativity, unlikely friendships, and being true to yourself.

Read all the Before the Story books!
  • Mulan's Secret Plan
  • Elsa's Icy Rescue
  • Anna Finds a Friend
  • Pocahontas Leads the Way
...and more books on the way! 



My Take on the Book
If your kids love the movie Cinderella, they will love reading this fun book that lets them learn more about Cinderella when she was their age. The book gives a glimpse into the girl she was before you see her as a maiden in the movie, but also about some of the things that makes Cinderella who she is. The book introduces you to Cinderella's friends and also has a great message that is shared about friendship and more! 
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Minnie Minnie's Rainbow

Minnie Minnie's Rainbow



About the Book
Everybody loves rainbows! In this colorful tale, Mickey, Minnie, and the rest of the Clubhouse Gang set out to find out how rainbows are made and discover a world of color along the way! This story comes with two sheets of stickers, an attached mylar mirror, plus instructions for making your very own rainbow! 

 

My Take on the Book
If you have a child that is a fan of the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and also a fan of learning new things this book will hit the spot. Minnie and her friends learn all about how rainbows are made and about color. The book makes learning fun and you get to go along a learning journey with friends that make the learning exciting too. Full of vibrant images and favorite Disney friends, this is a book that I am sure your kids will love. You also get some fun extras in the book that will let your kids take the learning from the book and put it into action.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Who's Who in the Marvel Universe

Who's Who in the Marvel Universe



About the Book
The Marvel Universe is full of so many amazing heroes and villains-how do you keep track? Enter the Who's Who in the Marvel Universe character storybook, featuring over 40 key players every Marvel fan needs to know! Readers can get to know the ins-and-outs through three sections: Spider-Man, Guardians of the Galaxy, and the Avengers. Side-bar profiles are paired with adventure stories to introduce each character and their place in the universe. 

 

My Take on the Book
If you are a fan of Marvel Comics and the characters in the Marvel Universe, this is a great book that you will love to read. Full of great information about the backstories of the different characters you will learn a ton. The images throughout the book bring you closer to each of the characters as well. While this is not a full index of all of the Marvel characters, you do get an inside look at 40 of some of the most popular characters. One thing that was unique is that not only do you get a bio of the characters, but you also get a bit of a story with them too which made it an even more compelling read!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Book Review - This Is My Song 17-Month Large Planner 2020-2021

This Is My Song 17-Month Large Planner 2020-2021



About the Book

Join the planner revolution! Like an all-in-one personal assistant, this super fun, customizable monthly organizer is filled with 1,000+ stickers and other awesome goodies. 

What's Inside

  • Monthly creative prompts and inspiration. 
  • Six large sheets of fun and functional matte stickers. 
  • Two illustrated, full-color postcards
  • Laminated, color-coded monthly tabs. 
  • Silver holographic storage pouch
  • Expandable storage pocket. 
  • Elastic band closure

Bonus! 

Welcome to The Club! Get VIP access to the Pipsticks Printables Library (loads of lists, meal planners, goal trackers, and more), plus a member discount on the first three months of any Pipsticks sticker subscription.

Includes 1,000+ stickers! Spread the sticker love! 

 

 
My Take on the Book

This is a great planner that you can take with you everywhere. On each page you will find tons of space to organize all of your activities and get you ready for your day and week ahead. The stickers were fun as well. My daughter loved this planner and found that it really helped her to be able to organize her life (which she needed). The planner was definitely one that she will be able to use throughout the year and with the music undertone and tons of space, she was so excited to use this planner in its' entirety.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com



Book Review - Mom's Family Wall Calendar 2021

Mom's Family Wall Calendar 2021



About the Book
For super moms, an ordinary calendar just won’t do.Which is why Mom’s Family Calendar works just as hard as Mom does to keep the entire family humming along, no matter how many appointments, meetings, games, practices, lessons, and other activities are on the schedule. Each month’s planner-like vertical grid features five columns across the top (one for each person), with the days of the month running down the left-hand side. There’s plenty of space to write in comings, goings, and doings—and at a glance, it’s easy to see who needs to be where, when. But the best part? Sandra Boynton’s adorable hippos, chickens, cats, and cows running, dancing, and cartwheeling through the full-color grids. 

  • Includes a drop-down storage pocket, 
  • nine fridge magnets, 
  • and more than 350 stickers. 
  • Printed on FSC-certified paper

  

 
My Take on the Book
This is a great family calendar with a ton of space for any family activity. You get stickers and more to allow you the room you need to be able to capture everything that you need to keep your family on track. My family is super busy and having a calendar like this is a must. I have been using this now for the last few weeks and it has been a great calendar, especially as we transition back into school and the craziness that ensues. You will love the stickers and illustrations throughout and even better, you will love how well this calendar will help your family! 

 ----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com


Book Review - Mom's Family Desk Planner 2021

Mom's Family Desk Planner 2021



About the Book

The classic and beloved portable organizer.
 

It’s the go-everywhere-and-anywhere personal assistant that moms rely on year after year. Compact enough to slip into a tote bag or purse, Mom’s Family Desk Planner combines rock solid organizational savvy with Sandra Boynton’s buoyant and distinctive full-color illustrations. The spacious week-at-a-glance grids include plenty of space for keeping track of the whole family.

Includes:

  • Storage pockets for receipts and other loose papers
  • Perforated grocery and to-do lists
  • 150 stickers
Printed on FSC-certified paper.


My Take on the Book

This is a great planner that is small enough to go with you anywhere. The book has a ton of great illustrations that allow you to set up a week of plans which makes the book easy enough to follow and use. The pages also have sections for you to be able to separate out different sections for different people in the family. So far my family was VERY impressed with this and yours will be too!

----------------------------------------

New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - A Vibrant Vision: The Entrepreneurship of Multigenerational Family Business




About the Book

Challenges to the entrepreneurial spirit are complex, particularly in a family business if the entrepreneur wants to have the business survive him/herself and successfully grow into future generations. This vision contrasts sharply with the lifestyle business or “harvest your business” mentality promoted by venture capital or private equity models. To have a vision of growing a small family business into a sustainable multi-million dollar business requires distinctive processes that support innovation, human capital development, strategic planning, and quality assurance in manufacturing and service. Additional distinct processes must be created and implemented that support good governance and effective education and stewardship of future generations of family shareholders. A Vibrant Vision shares the experiences of the author in his growing family business after his father passed away at a young age and building this industrial fabrics business into a multi-million company while at the same time encouraging his children and grandchildren to become stewards of this treasure we call a family business. 


 

 
My Take on the Book
This book takes an interesting look at a multigenerational family business. While I have never been  part of something like this, I always find these businesses interesting and the stories behind them even more so. There are so many important things to learn from long-standing businesses, and the passion that they have for the businesses they own. This book takes you into the world of the family business and it is a book that really will allow anyone that has a family business or endeavors to start one, to know what they need to consider to find long-standing success. The book has a good number of stories and practical examples shared throughout the book. The lessons shared in this are remarkable and ones that you will learn much from. 

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Mindset Mondays with DTK: 52 Ways to REWIRE Your Thinking and Transform Your Life

Mindset Mondays with DTK: 52 Ways to REWIRE Your Thinking and Transform Your Life



About the Book
Buddha once said, “The mind is everything. What we think we shall become.”

Mindset Mondays with DTK is a user’s guide to changing your mind. Author David Taylor-Klaus weaves well-known quotes from authors, artists, and other visionaries with engaging stories to inspire new ways of thinking.

This guidebook includes interactive sections at the end of each chapter called REWIRE.

REWIRE is an acronym for Reflect | Experiment | Write | Investigate | Revise | Expand. It is a structured yet playful approach that integrates and reinforces new ways of thinking, being, and doing, all in an effort to increase cognitive flexibility and create meaningful, lasting change.

Written by a leadership coach with over twelve years’ expertise, Mindset Mondays with DTK will help you recognize that you always have a choice. You’re not stuck, you're not bound by a fixed set of capacity and capability, and you don’t have to be at the whim of unconscious beliefs.

You are limitless. Today, change your mindset and change your life.

 

 
My Take on the Book
So many leaders want to work on utilizing a growth mindset in the workplace but that is not always an easy thing to do, especially if you do not have a mentor to guide you. This book does just that. The author has done a remarkable job at creating a guide that is practical, but also something that will help disrupt your current patterns so that you can start moving your mindset and your existing patterns to a new place. I found myself taking notes as I went along and there were  sections that I chose to read twice to get 2x the benefit! This book has helped me to start down a new path in my own mindset and it will help you to do the same!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com



Thursday, August 27, 2020

Book Review - 27 Essential Principles of Story: Master the Secrets of Great Storytelling, from Shakespeare to South Park

27 Essential Principles of Story: Master the Secrets of Great Storytelling, from Shakespeare to South Park



About the Book
A master class of 27 lessons, drawn from 27 diverse narratives, for novelists, storytellers, filmmakers, graphic designers, and more. Author Daniel Joshua Rubin unlocks the secrets of what makes a story work, and then shows how to understand and use these principles in your own writing. The result is “an invaluable resource” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), offering priceless advice like escalate risk, with an example from Pulp FictionWrite characters to the top of their intelligence, from the Eminem song “Stan.” Earn transformations, from Alison Bechdel’s Fun HomeAttack your theme, from The Brothers Karamazov. Insightful, encouraging, filled with attitude, and, as Booklist puts it, “perfect for any writer looking to ensure their stories operate and resonate at the top of their potential,” this book gives contemporary storytellers of all kinds a lifeline of inspiration and relatable instruction.
 
“[The] new bible of lessons and practices for creators.”––Library Journal
 

“Not a ‘how-to,’ thank God, but a ‘here’s why.’ Writers of all levels of experience will benefit from reading––and then rereading––this elegant exploration of the principles of storytelling.”––Traci Letts, Pulitzer and Tony Award-winning playwright
 
“A godsend for storytellers in all media. It will help you decide what to write and then show you, step by step, how to tackle virtually any problem you face.”––Anna D. Shapiro, Tony Award-winning director, August: Osage County

 

My Take on the Book
This was a great book that is made for anyone that wishes to share a story that the have living within themselves. The book explores tips and tricks when it comes to constructing plots, making characters as well as creating the setting , dialogue and theme.

The book was set up so that it was easy to read and follow and with its' three sections you can really explore each of the above areas to allow yourself the freedom to practice and gain added skills to make you a stronger writer than you ever thought you could be.

You will learn from the written word but also through illustrations, pop culture and more. The chapters go by quickly and you will take so much from each page that you read (I know I did).

The author also wants you to learn and at the end of each chapter you will be tested on your learning to make sure that you have gathered the knowledge needed to move to the next phase. Also, the author has put together a number of resources for you to be able to continue your learning beyond the pages of this book. 

This book is a must have for anyone that wishes to take their writing to the next level. You will grow a toolbox to help you create a story that will help your reader to truly connect on a deeper level.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The Constitution Decoded: A Guide to the Document That Shapes Our Nation

The Constitution Decoded: A Guide to the Document That Shapes Our Nation



About the Book

Be an active citizen. Know your Constitution!

Ever wonder why the president has a Cabinet? Why there’s such thing as trial by jury? Why someday you’ll have to pay income tax, or why there are no Dukes, Duchesses, Counts, or Countesses in the United States? Because the Constitution says so––and so much more. And now, in The Constitution Decoded, the ideas, concepts, and rules that make America are unpacked and explained in detail to help all of us, kids and parents too, become more informed citizens.

Written with impeccable clarity and illustrated in a style that brings America’s early days to life, this fascinating guide goes through the Constitution literally word by word, sentence by sentence, and idea by idea to give readers a true understanding of not only how the Framers envisioned the United States, but also why they made the choices they did. Here’s why, for example, the United States has three branches of government—legislative, executive, and judicial. It explains how bills become laws, why we have the right to free speech, how we can change the Constitution as our country evolves, and so much more.

Packed with historical context and figures, vocabulary, anecdotes, and trivia, this book is an accessible yet richly layered work that belongs in every family library.



My Take on the Book
This is a book that truly breaks down a document that can seem confusing and complex but in this book the author has done a great job exploring the entire document and making even adults better understand the context and content held within the important document. This is a book that makes the Constitution make sense and is definitely a book that I would encourage any child interested in our founding principles to read. The book is full of great illustrations, but even better is the content that is easy to digest.
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Generation Brave: The Gen Z Kids Who Are Changing the World

Generation Brave: The Gen Z Kids Who Are Changing the World


About the Book
An illustrated celebration of Gen Z activists fighting to make our world a better place.

Gen Z is populated—and defined—by activists. They are bold and original thinkers and not afraid to stand up to authority and conventional wisdom. From the March for Our Lives to the fight for human rights and climate change awareness, this generation is leading the way toward truth and hope like no generation before.

Generation Brave showcases Gen Z activists who are fighting for change on many fronts: climate change, LGBTQ rights, awareness and treatment of mental illness, gun control, gender equality, and corruption in business and government at the highest levels. Illustrated throughout, this book will offer a celebration of what might be the most influential generation of the century, including profiles of figures such as:
  • Simone Biles
  • Jaden Smith
  • Jazz Jennings
  • Haile Thomas
  • Yara Shahidi
  • Nadya Okamoto
  • Marley Dias
  • Helena Gualinga
  • Fionn Ferreira
. . . and other amazing kids who are using their voices for good.

 
 
My Take on the Book
This was an amazing book of young people that are changing the world. This book really opened my eyes to so many that are doing great things but who I had not all heard of. It was great to learn about all of these people and I cannot wait to see what else awaits them as they continue on in their lives. 
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com


Thursday, August 20, 2020

Book Review - Sounds All Around: A Guide to Onomatopoeias Around the World




About the Book

Did you know that in German, a pig doesn’t say oink, it says gruntz, and when you sneeze in Japanese it’s hakushon, not achoo? With vibrant comics and fun facts, Sounds All Around will teach you interesting and funny onomatopoeias from all over the world!

Words that imitate sounds are known as onomatopoeia, and they are a wonderfully strange and interesting part of language. After all, we all hear the same sounds, but we interpret and write them differently in different languages. Sounds All Around is a fun and funny illustrated guide to how people say many of these sounds all around the globe. Inside you’ll learn what a cat sounds like in French, what a yawn sounds like in Norwegian, what a bell sounds like in Hindi, and much, much more!

 

My Take on the Book
What a fun book! This book is filled with so many sounds that you would not know. The graphic novel not only has artwork that will put a smile on your face, but the book is completely filled with so many sounds that you would typically find in a comic here, but there are so many languages that you would not know. You will leave this book learning a ton, but also enjoying every moment of it. 
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review -Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw: Who Is the Bucks Bandit?




About the Book
In Book 3 of the Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw illustrated novel series, it's Halloween, and the merry misfits are in for more tricks than treats!

When Bonus Bucks start disappearing from teachers' desks, Nadia immediately blames Wilu, the new kid in class. Robin launches "Mission Make Wilu a Friend" to figure out if he's really the Bucks Bandit—but it's hard to befriend someone who's determined to go it alone! Will Robin win Wilu over and learn the truth about the disappearing bucks?

 

My Take on the Book
Another great book in the series for anyone that have read these before. Even if you haven't you will love the characters in the book and the plot is even more fun. The book is an easy read for an early reader. The art in the book also makes the book even more fun. The mystery is one that will keep you guessing! 
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Disney Who's Who




About the Book
In the updated edition of this comprehensive guide, get to know more about your favorite Disney and Disney*Pixar characters-and meet some you may not know. What is the name of Alice's cat? Who is Gilbert Huph? How many hairs does Elsa have on her head? Don't know? You will soon! With more than six hundred character bios and a whole host of fun facts, you'll be a Disney character expert in no time! 

 

My Take on the Book
If you are a fan of Disney you will love this book. This book introduced you to a ton of amazing Disney characters from Disney movies. While the book does not have all of the Disney characters that are a bit more obscure, you will still find a ton of fun reconnecting with characters that you might have forgotten. This book will also open your mind to getting to know the characters again. I know as I read through this I found that I was reconnecting with loved characters and I know you will find the same. Each of the bios in this book are amazing and really allow you to get to know the characters that much more! 
 
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Teen Titans Go! to Camp




About the Book
Summer's in the air and the Teen Titans are leaving Jump City behind for six fun-filled weeks of mosquitoes, sunstroke, and poison ivy at summer camp!

What the Titans don't realize until they arrive is that this is Camp Apokolips, where the "bug juice" is made with real bugs, the swimming pool is a fire pit, and the lunch lady is Granny Goodness! Things only get worse when they encounter the bunks they'll be competing against in the camp's games: the Titans East and the H.I.V.E. Five! Given all of that, there's only one thing on Robin's mind...

No, not escape. It's how to beat the other bunks to become the camp champions. This is Robin, remember?




My Take on the Book
If you love the Teen Titans Go TV show you will love this book too as it takes the best of the TV show antics, you will then love this graphic novel. The graphic novel is a ton of fun and you will love the letters that the characters write home from camp, I know that I did! You will find different art styles for the different characters which allows you to experience the characters in different ways. The writing is strong but the art is even better. You will love the summer camp aspect of the book. You will find the plot fun and exciting and by the end you will be wanting to find even more!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com


Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Book Review - Lois Lane and the Friendship Challenge

Lois Lane and the Friendship Challenge



About the Book
From New York Times bestselling author Grace Ellis (Lumberjanes) and artist Brittney Williams (Goldie Vance) comes a new story about 13-year-old Lois Lane as she navigates the confusing worlds of social media and friendship.

It's the first day of summer break in the sleepy town of Liberty View, and young Lois Lane bursts onto the scene with what she knows is a sure-to-go-viral video channel. Okay, maybe her platform only receives two views a week (thanks, Mom), and maybe her best friend, Kristen, isn't quite as enthusiastic about social media, but when Lois sets her mind on something, there's no turning back.
At the end of the week, the big neighborhood barbecue and bike race will be the perfect backdrop to Lois and Kristen's #friendshipchallenge video. But when the girls find out the annual fireworks are missing, Lois doubles down on her efforts for fame, testing her friendship in ways she couldn't imagine.

With Kristen leaving for sleepaway camp after the barbeque and a new girl on the block taking all of Kristen's attention, will Lois be able to find the missing fireworks, celebrate the summer, and post the best #friendshipchallenge the internet has ever seen? Or will she have to face her challenges IRL?



My Take on the Book
This was a very cute story of friends and something of a mystery. I loved seeing Lois Lane in her element investigating things and showing why she became a great reporter as an adult. This had great illustrations and was a fun story altogether.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Book Review - Malina's Jam

Malina's Jam



About the Book
Malina the hedgehog loves to tend to her raspberry bushes and loves to make delicious raspberry jam, but when winter comes, she realizes that a caring community is sweeter than any sweet treat.



My Take on the Book
Such a beautifully written book with amazing images and a story that you will love sharing with your kids. The story has a wonderful plot but an even better morale that helps kids learn about caring and kindness. A must read for any parent to have with their kids!



----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Frozen 2: One for the Books

Frozen 2: One for the Books



About the Book
Olaf has learned to read, and it is one of his favorite things to do. He is a frequent visitor to the Arendelle library. When he and Anna discover that the librarian is going out of town for a few days and the library will be closed, they can't think of anything sadder.

But Anna has a brilliant idea for a substitute librarian . . . Olaf!

The lovable snowman shares his joy for books with the children of Arendelle and leaves the library in a state different than that in which he found it.

Will Odvaar the librarian mind when he sees it? Or will a warm hug from everyone's favorite snowman fix everything?


My Take on the Book
This was such a fun book for anyone that loves books and libraries let alone Olaf and his friends. You will love seeing the creativity of Olaf and how he brings the love of books to everyone. The images in the book are vibrant and bring the world of the book alive! If you are a fan of Olaf and the whole Frozen world you will love this book!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, August 3, 2020

Book Review - Burnout to Breakthrough




About the Book
It's official. For the first time, the World Health Organization has classified burnout as a health problem. Renowned motivational speaker Eileen McDargh proposes that to tackle it, we must learn to break out of energy-draining thoughts and behaviors.

Resilience, she argues, is strictly a matter of energy management--by better managing your energy, you can both build resiliency and overcome burnout. Breakthrough happens when our energy is consciously distributed to what matters most in our lives. So after a short survey that will tell you where you fit in a burnout and resiliency profile, McDargh helps pinpoint the causes of your burnout and examine the energy demands that keep you from refueling and recharging. She provides an in-depth energy analysis and gives you the keys to master the four dimensions that can give you a resilience breakthrough: head, heart, hands, and humor.

McDargh guides the reader through the process of identifying energy drains and implementing strategies for handling them, whatever phase of life you are in. Her intention is to help you not only to successfully manage work and life demands but also make even larger strides in understanding how to put together a life by design and not by default.


My Take on the Book
This author does an amazing job to bring out a completely new perspective on looking at burnout. The book is practical and you can definitely get through the book in only a few sittings, at least I did!  As I read this I found that I definitely was learning things that was making me look at the world around me in a new way.

The author brings out interesting work from psychologist Herbert Freudenberger, who first introduced burnout.

Through her research she created a book that is full of self-assessments and exercises that help you identify instances of burnout.

By the end of the book you have a better understanding of burnout and what you can do to make changes in your own life to make big rewards for the future.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, July 13, 2020

Book Review - The Adventures of Rockford T. Honeypot

The Adventures of Rockford T. Honeypot



About the Book
As a young chipmunk, shy, bookish Rockford T. Honeypot had dreams of thrilling adventures across the forest. However, timid of danger and germs, his only adventures were found in books and in his imagination. When his family abandons him after a mistake that destroys their hazelnut business, Rockford sets off on a legendary journey beyond his wildest dreams. From exploring cuisines with a famous chef, training with ancient warrior monks, flying on giant hawks, finding true love, and much more, Rockford recounts his epic origin story of hardship, perseverance, and fortune.





My Take on the Book
This was such a fun book that brings together a slew of characters that you will not soon forget. The characters are fun and on each page you will go on the adventure with the characters. The message of living a full life resounds in this book and anyone that reads it will definitely think to themselves about how they are living the fullest life that they can. Also, I loved to see how these animals found ways to live in harmony together and how so many worked to help one another in so many ways. The book was an inspirational read and definitely one that I would recommend to all!













----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com