Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2020

Sunday, June 28, 2020

Book Review - America's 50 States: Maps, Flags, Dates, and Fun Facts!

America's 50 States: Maps, Flags, Dates, and Fun Facts!



About the Book

Discover America’s fifty states with fun facts, trivia, flags, and maps.

Read about the special features and quirky characteristics that make up America’s patchwork in America’s 50 States. Full-color illustrations (including state maps and icons) and interesting trivia make it an easy and fun journey of learning! Did you know that one of the word’s highest suspension bridges is in Colorado? Or that Connecticut is home to the first hamburger? Each of America’s states has its own unique symbols, facts, history, landscape, and so much more.


My Take on the Book
This is a great book that really allows you to get to know the states in a whole new way. The book is full of learning and ways to educate your kids in so many ways. The images are wonderful and definitely easy to follow and learn from. There are definitely little things that you will learn with every state, I know that I did!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Unlimited Squirrels in I Want to Sleep Under the Stars!

Unlimited Squirrels in I Want to Sleep Under the Stars!



About the Book
Mo Willems, creator of the revolutionary, award-winning, best-selling Elephant & Piggie books, has another breakout beginning-reader series. An ensemble cast of Squirrels, Acorns, and pop-in guests hosts a page-turning extravaganza. Each book features a funny, furry adventure AND bonus jokes, quirky quizzes, nutty facts, and so, so many Squirrels.

In I Want to Sleep Under the Stars, Zoom Squirrel dreams of sleeping under the night stars. The Squirrel pals are excited to help! But will their encouragement be enough-or too much? Do you know more about sleeping under the stars than the Squirrels do? You will by the end of this book!


My Take on the Book
Another great book with fun characters that make the book great to read. The squirrels are so much fun. You will find that they are not always up on being able to have all of the answers but that does not mean that as readers you will not be able to solve some of the problems before the squirrels. You will laugh out loud with every page!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Book Review - Primer

Primer



About the Book
Primer introduces a brand-new superhero with a colorful array of superpowers to explore.

Ashley Rayburn is an upbeat girl with a decidedly downbeat past. Her father is a known criminal who once used Ashley to help him elude justice, and in his attempt to escape, a life was taken. He now sits in federal prison, but still casts a shadow over Ashley's life. In the meantime, Ashley has bounced from foster home to foster home and represents a real challenge to the social workers who try to help her--not because she's inherently bad, but because trouble always seems to find her.

Ashley's latest set of presumably short-term foster parents are Kitch and Yuka Nolan. Like Ashley, Kitch happens to be an artist. Yuka, on the other hand, is a geneticist working for a very high-level tech company, one that's contracted out to work for the government and the military. And it's Yuka's latest top secret project that has her very concerned. Developed for the military, it's a set of body paints that, when applied to the wearer, grant them a wide range of special powers. Fearful that this invention will be misused, Yuka sneaks the set of paints home, substituting a dummy suitcase with an ordinary set of paints in their place.

From here, signals get crossed. Ashley comes home from school one day with her new friend Luke and, thinking that the Nolans have purchased a surprise gift for her upcoming birthday, finds the set of paints. Being an artist, Ashley naturally assumes these are for her. It isn't long before she realizes that she's stumbled upon something much bigger and a lot more dangerous. Although she uses her newly discovered powers for good, it's not long before the military becomes wise to what happened to their secret weapon. And this spells big trouble not only for Ashley, but for her newfound family and friends as well.


My Take on the Book
This was an amazing book that brought you front and center with a new super hero, Primer. I loved seeing a young girl that needs a win, getting an opportunity to get just that. I loved the concept of the superpower and the experimentation with an artist like the main character is. There are so many possibilities with the super power and I loved not only this story but also the possibilities for future stories to come. I loved the story in this novel but also how it ends as it makes you excited for the future novels to come!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Friday, June 19, 2020

Book Review - Strategy First: How Businesses Win Big




About the Book
In Strategy First, Brad Chase, the mind behind some of Microsoft’s largest and most successful initiatives, explains why building robust strategies is the imperative to business success. Chase leads readers through his easy-to-use strategy model, Strategy = E x mc2, which teaches readers the art of strategy—how to build and execute winning strategies relative to the competition. To supplement the model, Chase provides 5 key tips to strategy prosperity and over 50 examples from a broad range of businesses that help the reader think about how they can use his Strategy First toolkit. The author will inspire readers to examine the effectiveness of their current strategies, using the model that has served him in his distinguished career.



 

My Take on the Book
This is an amazing book that really allows you to look at success strategies for your own business that will help you to take your business to a whole new level.

I loved the whole strategy that the author shares in his formula, Strategy = E x MC squared. 
--E stands for “Execution.” It’s always more difficult than it looks.
--M stands for “Market Potential.”
--C stands for “Customer Value.”

The concept is laid out in a way that all can understand and is definitely something that made a ton of sense for me. The book walks you through how move from planning your strategy to putting your strategy into action.

This book was such a great perspective that makes you think about things in a whole new way. Get ready to go on a journey of discovery that will really help your own business to thrive and succees into the future!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Book Review - Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw: The Friend Thief

Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw: The Friend Thief



About the Book

In Book 2 of the Diary of a 5th Grade Outlaw series, life is going great for Robin Loxley—until a friend thief comes along and threatens to ruin everything!

After her victory over Nadia, the playground bully, Robin has her old best friend back, plus a whole gang of new friends! But when that Nadia tries to steal away all of the people she holds dear, will Robin be able to keep her band of merry misfits together? Find out in Robin's second illustrated diary—a tell-all about growing up, dealing with bullies, and trying to do what’s right.



My Take on the Book
Another great book in the series. If you loved the first book, you will love this one as well! There is action, friendship drama, bullies and more. It is a quick read, but a fun one through and through.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - When I Hit the Road

When I Hit the Road



About the Book
From the author of the award-winning This Journal Belongs to Ratchet comes a new kind of journal by a girl on a madcap road trip, featuring a karaoke-loving grandma, a cute boy, and a wild summer of memories that will last a lifetime.

Samantha is not exactly excited to spend what was supposed to be an awesome summer vacation with her grandma all the way in Florida. Or to be testing out her mom's "Dear Me" Journals—writing to her future self just feels weird. But it turns out Gram has some not-so-boring plans up her sleeve...

Gram and her friend Mimi are going to audition for the Seniors Have Got Talent Karaoke Contest!
A road trip in Gram's new Mustang turns into a series of hilarious mishaps that flip Samantha's summer on its head. And to make things more awkward, Brandon, Mimi's totally handsome grandson, is also along for the ride.

It looks like those journals just might be worth keeping after all. Because this summer will be one Samantha will never want to forget.



My Take on the Book
What a fun story. You get to see what happens when you go on a crazy road trip with a grandma, her friend and a boy. The book brings in fun humor that is perfect for middle school aged readers. The grandma is a hoot, and as she ticks off her bucket list you get to go along for the ride.

The main characters is also a ton of fun. The way the author narrates through her journal is unique and innovative and while not the only book that does this, it is one of the few I have read recently. 
You will also love all of the twists and turns as it encourages you to keep reading chapter by chapter. It is a book that simply flies by! 
I had never read this author before, but after reading this I would definitely read more!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, June 13, 2020

Book Review - The Lighten Up Book: Affirmations and Insights to Inspire Health and Happiness




About the Book
Inspirational Words to Meditate On

If you liked Healing After Loss by Martha W. Hickman and Together is Better by Simon Sinek, you’ll love The Lighten Up Book

An Upbeat Guide to Positivity in the Midst of Chaos:  Allen Klein is the world's only "Jollytologist". As a keynote speaker and bestselling author, he has mastered the art of choosing the right quote at the right time. In The Lighten Up Book, he has gathered his favorite wise words to help readers power their lives with the positive. We have all weathered a lot of storms in recent times, literally with hurricanes, earthquakes, floods, and what seems like unrelenting strife in our daily discourse. We all need reminders of what we truly value in our life – family, friendship, community, leadership, service, helping others.

An Inspirational Book for the Ages: As inspirational as it is instructive, The Lighten Up Book is a treasury of moving and meaningful sayings that spurs readers to live life to the fullest. Readers can take this encouraging book on the go to get a quick shot of inspiration at any time, or they can select one quote every day for in-depth thought and meditation. However readers choose to use these uplifting and inspiring quotes, they all have the potential to be life-changing.

The Lighten Up Book offers endless encouragement. The quotes in this book will help you to:
  • Feel inspired
  • Recover from loss
  • Get back up after a hard day knocks you down
  • And much more!



My Take on the Book
During times that bring you down, having a book full of great inspiration is definitely what you need to brighten your day. This book is full of such amazing positive things that will allow you to see, live and experience the happiness that is all around us. The quotes will bring a smile to your face and the book will even make you laugh! This book is one that definitely will turn any day that was blue, sunny. As you can tell, this is a book that really will change your own perspectives on life and the world around you. I highly encourage all to read it today!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Movie Quotes for All Occasions: Unforgettable Lines for Life's Biggest Moments

Movie Quotes for All Occasions: Unforgettable Lines for Life's Biggest Moments



About the Book
#1 Best Seller in Etiquette Guides & Advice ─ Great Movie Quotes for All Occasions

Whether blockbuster megahits or forgotten indies, we’ve got the right quote for the right occasion.

Movie quotes. We all do it. Every day, with or without noticing, we quote movies. Hit a search engine and you can find thousands of lists of the best movie quotes of all time. From Rhett Butler to Obi-Wan Kenobi, movie quotes have become an integral part of expression. But, the movie quotes on these “best of” lists rarely lend themselves to important moments in life or provide personal motivation. Open any typical movie quote list and you’re likely to see “May the Force be with you,” or “I’ll have what she’s having.” Does that really provide inspiration, motivation, or a beautiful phrase?

Best movie quotes for all occasions. That’s where I come in. I’ve scoured the movie world for the most appropriate, best movie quotes for every occasion. From weddings to pre-game pep talks, I’ve found quotes that are moving, inspirational, or just plain hilarious.
  • Looking to rally your team? Try this quote of Capt. Malcom Reynolds from the science-fiction film Serenity (2005): “You all got on this boat for different reasons, but you all come to the same place. So now I'm asking more of you than I have before. Maybe all… So no more running. I aim to misbehave.” 
  • Need a quote for your humorous wedding speech? Try some wisdom from Juno… from Juno (2007): “Look, in my opinion, the best thing you can do is find a person who loves you for exactly what you are. Good mood, bad mood, ugly, pretty, handsome, what have you. The right person is still going to think the sun shines out of your ass. That’s the kind of person that’s worth sticking with.”
If you enjoyed 1001 Smartest Things Ever SaidUncle John's New & Improved Funniest Ever, or The Big Book of Quotes you'll love Movie Quotes for All Occasions which provides hidden gems from a variety of film genres.




My Take on the Book
I loved this book! It is so easy to page through to find the perfect quote depending on the circumstance that you are in. There are also such a variety of quotes from a plethora of movies. It was great to see so many movies represented, but also the variety of events and activities that the book provided quotes for. This is the perfect book for anyone looking to liven up a toast or a speech. You will definitely wow your friends as you are able to start spouting off movie quotes that are perfect for the occasion.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Why We Love Star Wars: The Great Moments That Built A Galaxy Far, Far Away

Why We Love Star Wars: The Great Moments That Built A Galaxy Far, Far Away



About the Book
#1 Best Seller in Science Fiction & Fantasy, Guides & Reviews, and Historical & Biographical Fiction ─ Rediscover All the Reasons Why You Love Star Wars

Celebrate the greatest saga ever told: All of us who are deeply influenced by the epic saga of Star Wars have our favorite moments. Each time the screen goes black and you see those words― “A Long Time Ago, In A Galaxy Far, Far Away”―the music blasts through you and you’re a kid again. Ken Napzok, expert appreciator of Star Wars, counts down each one of those special moments that makes this series not just the best movies of all time, but the Greatest Saga Ever Told.

Become a scholar of Star Wars: What began as one movie about good people, evil oppressors, and the space wizards that stood between them has exploded into a franchise. The moments that continue to inspire are on screen and in the pages of novels. They are found in the panels of comic books and among animated sequences on television. And they all continue to grow in stature, importance, and myth through discussions, debates, and daydreams.

The Perfect Star Wars Dad Gift: Spread the love to old and new fans. Countless numbers of us have been inspired by these classic epic tales, and we all have a favorite moment that hooked us. Rediscover each one of those moments and share them with the last and next generation of fans. This Star Wars book is the perfect Dad gift, Niece gift, Best Friend gift, and general token of appreciation for the fans in your life.

Why We Love Star Wars: The Great Moments That Built A Galaxy Far, Far Away is a shared story of fandom. Classic moments include:
  • The first shots of the ragtag Rebels running from the monstrous Galactic Empire
  • Young Anakin winning the podrace
  • And the first time we saw the crackle of Luke Skywalker’s lightsaber
Why We Love Star Wars: The Great Moments That Built A Galaxy Far, Far Away is the ultimate gift for the film buff who has binged all 1001 Movies to See Before You Die, and the superfans who covet Star Wars: The Visual Encyclopedia and Star Wars: Complete Locations.




My Take on the Book
As a fan of Star Wars (all of the movies) I thought I knew a ton about the movies, but this book is full of so many amazing fresh perspectives on the movies. The author is so truly in love with Star Wars. With every page you learn more about the franchise then you would ever think to ask. In only the first few pages Star Wars fans will be hooked to the passion shown by this author. The book is an easy read and definitely manageable to handle. I was traveling while reading this, and it was the perfect length to take with me, and each time I picked it up, I always read more than I first thought I would because it was such an engaging read. In the end I have to say that this book was the perfect book for any fan. Whether you are a newbie with Star Wars or have watched everything, you will still learn more through this great book!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Back From the Future: A Celebration of the Greatest Time Travel Story Ever Told

Back From the Future: A Celebration of the Greatest Time Travel Story Ever Told



About the Book
#1 New Release in movie guides and reviews and movie history and criticism ─ A Fan’s Look at the Back to the Future Franchise

There’s a host of information out there on the Back to the Future trilogy, but never before has there been a book like this.

The history of the films, cartoons, toys, and more. The Back to the Future series is a timeless collection that is greatly revered by all audiences. The beauty of this book by Brad Gilmore is that it doesn’t present the history of the film as textbook information. Gilmore discusses these films from a place of passion and so effectively reveals how the history behind the movies is just as engaging as the films themselves.

From a fan for fans. Gilmore, a radio and television host, also happens to be a die-hard fan of the movies. As a fan speaking to fellow fans, Gilmore dives into fan theories and provides the answers to all the questions readers could possibly have—because they are the very questions he himself has asked.

Unheard details and trivia. Not only is Gilmore a diehard fan, but he is also an expert on all things Back to the Future, a fact made evident by the podcast he hosts, Back to the Future: The Podcast. Pairing his knowledge with his passion for the films, Gilmore uses this book to discuss details and movie trivia that reveal just why these movies have stood the test of time.

Check out this must-have book and learn things you never knew about Back to the Future. You’ll find…
  • Completed timelines of all the main characters from the franchise
  • In-depth studies of various Back to the Future fan theories that will surprise and intrigue you
  • A detailed comparison of the films’ predictions of the future to our world today
Fans of books like Back to the Future: The Classic Illustrated StorybookBack to the Future: The Ultimate Visual HistoryBack to the Future: Untold Tales and Alternate Timelines, and We Don’t Need Roads: The Making of the Back to the Future Trilogy will love Brad Gilmore’s Back From the Future.



My Take on the Book
As a fan of these movies, this book is one that will make any fan excited. The more that I read this book the more I found that I did not know. This book is truly written by the biggest Back to the Future Fan and he is bringing his fandom to all readers. As you read this you will learn so much, but you will also be drawn in by the passion that the author has for this movie franchise. If you love this franchise, this book is definitely one you will want to read!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Parenting the New Teen in the Age of Anxiety

Parenting the New Teen in the Age of Anxiety



About the Book
#1 Best Seller in Teen Health & Hyperactivity ─ A Guidebook for Parents Navigating the New Teen Years

Learn about the “New Teen” and how to adjust your parenting approach. Kids are growing up with nearly unlimited access to social media and the internet, and unprecedented academic, social, and familial stressors. Starting as early as eight years old, children are exposed to information, thought, and emotion that they are developmentally unprepared to process. As a result, saving the typical “teen parenting” strategies for thirteen-year-olds is now years too late.

Urgent advice for parents of teens. Dr. John Duffy’s parenting book is a new and necessary guide that addresses this hidden phenomenon of the changing teenage brain. Dr. Duffy, a nationally recognized expert in parenting for nearly twenty-five years, offers this book as a guide for parents raising children who are growing up quickly and dealing with unresolved adolescent issues that can lead to anxiety and depression.

Unprecedented psychological suffering among our young and why it is occurring. A shift has taken place in how and when children develop. Because of the exposure they face, kids are emotionally overwhelmed at a young age, often continuing to search for a sense of self well into their twenties. Paradoxically, Dr. Duffy recognizes the good that comes with these challenges, such as the sense of justice instilled in teenagers starting at a young age.
Readers of this book will:
  • Sort through the overwhelming circumstances of today’s teens and better understand the changing landscape of adolescence
  • Come away with a revised, conscious parenting plan more suited to addressing the current needs of the New Teen
  • Discover the joy in parenting again by reclaiming the role of your teen’s ally, guide, and consultant
If you enjoyed parenting books such as The Yes BrainHow to Raise an AdultThe Deepest Well, and The Conscious Parent; then Parenting the New Teen in the Age of Anxiety should be next on your list!

My Take on the Book
This is a book that is full of so much great advice for any parents. With teens today having as many stressors placed on them, more and more of them are facing high amounts of anxiety. The author provides a unique look at how teens are seeing the world which will allow any parent to reframe how the world is impacting their children. I loved his perspectives on social media as I know that it is having an impact on so many teens today. The author shares some great tips on how you can best communicate with your kids during these teenage years which was completely practical and useful. The book is informative and down to earth. You will leave the book with a ton of resources to help you and your teens in new ways and your relationship will be improved for the better.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - How I Trained My Dog in 10 Days

How I Trained My Dog in 10 Days



About the Book
''Does your dog need training?''

  • ''It's easy. But you have to be firm. Dogs always try to take over. Don't let them. It's rude to brag, but it only took me 10 days to train my dog Scamp. If I can do it, so can you.''
  • And so begins the training of a boy's new pet dog, Scamp.
  • Or -- is this actually the training of Scamps new boy?
  • Fun picture book is a humorous and heart-warming ode to our furry four-legged friends!
  • 32-page full-color picture book with dust jacket.
  • Sturdy hardcover binding.
  • Picture book measures 8-3/4'' wide x 11-1/4'' high.
Author Norma Lewis lives in Grand Haven, Michigan, with her cat Scalawag. Illustrator Tom Tinn-Disbury lives with his wife, son, and two dogs, Wilma and Fred.


My Take on the Book
This was a great book that will make you and your kids laugh out loud. The book is one that you will find yourself reading again and again. The book is so much fun because you will find that it is a day to day fun journey that you and your kids will simply adore!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Book Review - Everything You Need to Ace Computer Science and Coding in One Big Fat Notebook

Everything You Need to Ace Computer Science and Coding in One Big Fat Notebook



About the Book
This Big Fat Notebook makes it all “sink in” with key concepts, mnemonic devices, definitions, diagrams, and doodles to help you understand computer science.

Including:
  • Computing systems
  • Binary code
  • Algorithms
  • Computational thinking
  • Loops, events, and procedures
  • Programming in Scratch and Python
  • Boolean Expressions
  • Web development
  • Cybersecurity
  • HTML
  • CSS
  • …and more!

The Big Fat Notebook series is built on a simple and irresistible conceit—borrowing the notes from the smartest kid in class. Each book in the series meets Common Core State Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and state history standards, and are vetted by National and State Teacher of the Year Award–winning teachers. They make learning fun and are the perfect next step for every kid who grew up on Brain Quest.



My Take on the Book
This is an amazing book for anyone that is interested in coding or computer science or has questions that need to be answered in these areas. This book really good as a reference for anyone. This would particularly be great for the beginner as it is a easy reference to use. We have used other books in this series in the past and this book follows suit and is so easy to follow and understand. If you have someone trying to better understand computer science concepts, this is a must have resource within your home!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Make Noise: A Creator's Guide to Podcasting and Great Audio Storytelling

Make Noise: A Creator's Guide to Podcasting and Great Audio Storytelling



About the Book

“An interestingly idiosyncratic and personal vision of how to make podcasts.”—Ira Glass

Veteran podcast creator and strategist Eric Nuzum distills a career’s worth of wisdom, advice, practical information, and big-picture thinking to help podcasters “make noise”—to stand out in this fastest of fastest-growing media universes.

Nuzum identifies core principles, including what he considers the key to successful audio storytelling: learning to think the way your audience listens. He delivers essential how-tos, from conducting an effective interview to marketing your podcast, developing your audience, and managing a creative team. He also taps into his deep network to offer advice from audio stars like Ira Glass, Terry Gross, and Anna Sale.

The book’s insights and guidance will help readers successfully express themselves as effective audio storytellers, whether for business or pleasure, or a mixture of both.



My Take on the Book
As someone that has been podcasting for some time I did not know what to expect in this book but I was very pleasantly surprised at all of the practical wisdom throughout the book.

The book is a perfect read for anyone at any stage of podcasting. Whether you are just thinking of starting a podcast or you have been podcasting for years.

The author has done a great job sharing his experiences and insights throughout the entire book. The book has so many stories that draw you further and further into the book and the concepts being shared. There were so many great sections within the book including things like creating a ten word description of the show to really knowing your audience and the characters of the show too.

This is a book I highly recommend to all that have any interest in Podcasting. You will learn much for this and it will help you be the type of podcaster you will want to be!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Book Review - Coach the Person, Not the Problem: A Guide to Using Reflective Inquiry




About the Book

From a founding member of the coaching movement comes a detailed guide to mastering one of a coach's toughest skills: thoughtfully reflecting clients' words and expressions back to them so they see themselves and their world through new eyes.

"Coaches rely far too much on asking open-ended questions," says Marcia Reynolds. But questions only seek answers--inquiry provides insight. When, instead of just questions, clients hear their thoughts, opinions, and beliefs spoken by someone else, it prompts them to critically consider how their thinking affects their goals. Reynolds cites the latest brain science to show why reflective inquiry works and provides techniques, tips, and structures for creating breakthrough conversations.

This book will free coaches from the cult of asking the magical question by offering five essential practices of reflective inquiry: focus on the person, not the problem; summarize what is heard and expressed; identify underlying beliefs and assumptions; unwrap the desired outcome; and articulate insights and commitments. Using these practices, combined with a respectful and caring presence, helps create a space where clients feel safe, seen, and valued for who they are. Coaches become change agents who actively recharge the human spirit. And clients naturally dive deeper and develop personalized solutions that may surprise even the coach.

My Take on the Book

This book really allows you to see that coaching is so much more than a teacher, instead they help us identify gaps and more and the author in this book does in this amazing book.

What I love about this book is that the author really uses learning theory, science and years of coaching experiences to help each and every one of us to be stronger in the roles that we have.

The book is full of so many amazing insights that will make you think deeply about what you have done and what you will want to do in the future.

This book will help you to reframe the personal narrative that you may have in your minds and help you move on a new path toward being a better leader and coach.

This is an amazing resource for anyone that wants to be a better coach to others in their lives!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Book review: How to Draw Almost Everything Volume 2




About the Book
How to Draw Almost Everything Volume 2—a follow-up to the popular book How to Draw Almost Everything, part of the Almost Everything series from Quarry Books—shows how easy it is to draw even more cute illustrations.
  • Learn to draw each illustration in easy-to-follow steps. Just follow the arrows to complete each step. You’ll also find helpful tips and ideas for drawing variations.
  • Start with basic shapes, such as circles, triangles, and squares, then add special details to personalize your illustrations.
  • Draw animals, people, everyday objects, patterns and borders, and holiday and seasonal themes, along with warm-ups and special lessons.
  • An inspiration gallery offers fun ideas for adding illustrations to everyday objects or creating one-of-a-kind notes, cards, and gifts.
Each book in the Almost Everything series offers readers a fun, comprehensive, and charmingly illustrated visual directory of ideas to inspire skill building in their creative endeavors.



My Take on the Book
If you love to draw, this book will help you to draw a ton of new things. The book is practical in nature and really allows you to replicate easily what you see in the overall book. My daughters love it when I draw things for them and this book gave me a ton of ideas for the future! If you are looking for inspiration, this book will definitely give it to you and offer you some great insights into improving your own artistic ability!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - So This is Love: A Twisted Tale

So This is Love: A Twisted Tale




About the Book
What if Cinderella never tried on the glass slipper? Unable to prove that she's the missing princess, and unable to bear life under Lady Tremaine any longer, Cinderella attempts a fresh start, looking for work at the palace as a seamstress. But when the Grand Duke appoints her to serve under the king's visiting sister, Cinderella becomes witness to a grand conspiracy to take the king-and the prince-out of power, as well as a longstanding prejudice against fairies, including Cinderella's own Fairy Godmother. Faced with questions of love and loyalty to the kingdom, Cinderella must find a way to stop the villains of past and present . . . before it's too late.



My Take on the Book
For anyone that loves Disney you will love reading this book. It starts with Cinderella at the ball and you get a similar story to what you have heard in the past, but the change happens when Lady Tremaine locks her in the attic and she does not get out to try on the slipper. Her stepmom tries to sell her and she runs away. This book continues to tell her story and how she has to save her fairy godmother while battling her feelings about Prince Charles.

The characters in this book were a ton of fun and while some of this is similar to the original story, the twists on the original story make you come back page after page to enjoy the whole story. 

The author captures the characters well and if you love Cinderella, you will love this story!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Saturday, May 2, 2020

Book Review - Slide & Surprise in the Ocean




About the Book

Find out which animals are hiding in the ocean in this novelty book with fun animal facts and big pull-tabs on every page!

Uncover underwater hidden animals in Slide & Surprise in the Ocean! Kids will explore different animal habitats as they turn the thick, board book pages and pull the big tabs to discover adorable new creatures on every spread. Underwater, readers will find animals like seals, whales, clownfish, and more! With a simple animal fact on each spread, this series is the perfect introduction to light nonfiction for this young age group. The call-and-response search-and-find feature will encourage curiosity and interactivity, and Natalie Marshall's bright, playful art will keep them turning the pages! Plus, there is an extra-large reveal on the last spread! Who will you find?



My Take on the Book
This was a great book that had pull tabs that let you explore the weird and wonderful life that is below the surface of the ocean even if you can't see them. The book is vibrant with fun illustrations throughout with detailed information that will let young readers get lost in the pictures while learning too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Friday, May 1, 2020

Book Review - Creating Constructive Cultures: Leading People and Organizations to Effectively Solve Problems and Achieve Goals

Creating Constructive Cultures: Leading People and Organizations to Effectively Solve Problems and Achieve Goals



About the Book

Keys to culture change based on 40 years of research
If attracting and retaining talent, encouraging innovation, expediting strategy implementation, and bolstering expansion and growth are at the top of your organization’s agenda, then you need to read Creating Constructive Cultures.

Venture into the culture change journeys of organizations—big and small, global and local, public and private, in various industries and countries—to discover what works and what doesn’t. You will learn the secrets of how leadership teams around the world have successfully shifted their workplace cultures in a more productive direction using a proven methodology.

In Creating Constructive Cultures, you’ll get answers to critical questions, such as:

  • What is the ideal culture for your organization?
  • What do toxic cultures look like—and what are the forces that enable them?
  • What is the biggest obstacle to change that most leaders miss?
  • What are the ways in which leaders purposefully and unknowingly impact culture? (There are probably a lot more than you realize!)
  • How can you and other leaders recognize—and overcome—the negative impact of culture on your own thinking and behavior to create desired changes and achieve goals?


Purchase the Creating Constructive Cultures book now and start your journey towards growth.



My Take on the Book
Culture is not an easy thing to manage or change, let alone measure. This book is an essential read for anyone that is looking to try and examine organizational culture for themselves. The book really allows you to gain some unique insights into how you can measure culture. The interesting part of this book was that you get to see how you can measure culture from both a quantitative and qualitative end. The insights in this book give you practical ideas that will help you make big changes that will really impact your organization. The book gives you a framework to follow that makes sense. It was a great read that will really help you change things for the better.


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Advanced Consulting: Earning Trust at the Highest Level

Advanced Consulting: Earning Trust at the Highest Level



About the Book
This is the first book to address the specific needs and challenges faced by high-level consultants, who work on very complex projects and must win the confidence of the most senior leaders in organizations.

Advanced consulting requires both expertise and personal qualifications that are distinct from those needed in everyday consulting. Advanced consultants work with high-level executive teams on complex issues such as strategy, organizational design, merger integration, digital disruption, culture change, and system-wide transformation. While neophyte consultants are often given a playbook to follow, advanced consultants need to invent methods that take full advantage of the opportunities that their work with clients presents.

There is an art to advanced consulting as well as a science; who you are is as important as what you do. Bill Pasmore draws on his four decades of experience as a consultant and teacher of consultants to show readers how to see possibilities that are not evident, conduct analyses that support the value of more comprehensive work, build relationships that engender deeper trust, adapt to changing circumstances, and empower members of their team to take independent actions while maintaining overall control of an engagement. Illustrated with vivid real-world examples and including a self-assessment to measure your progress, this book equips you to advance to more senior positions in your firm or to build a successful independent practice.



My Take on the Book
I have tried my hand at consulting in the past and it takes a special finesse to do it right. This book would have been an amazing asset to have when I first started to consult with others. This book really gives you an inside look into what it takes to consult at the next level. I loved that the book really allows you to experience the author's own journey to advanced consulting. You learn so many practical tips about how to work with others and how to win the trust of the people you are working for and with. This is a must read for for anyone that is currently consulting or looking to do so in the future! You will learn a ton!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - American as Paneer Pie

American as Paneer Pie



About the Book
An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian.

When a girl Lekha’s age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she’s Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She’s new to this country, and not at all like Lekha.

To Lekha’s surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn’t take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school.

When a racist incident rocks Lekha’s community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it’s too late.



My Take on the Book
This was a wonderful book that truly let you see prejudice in action. You get drawn into the book with its' strong characters but also the amazing characters and the reality that the characters are in. For anyone that has felt bullied, invisible or even targeted in some way, this book is a powerful one. I felt drawn to the characters and their plight and you will too. This is a book that all can learn and grow from!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Thursday, April 30, 2020

Book Review - Big Nate: Blow the Roof Off!

Big Nate: Blow the Roof Off!



About the Book
This latest Big Nate installment by bestselling author Lincoln Peirce will take readers on a hilarious, romantic, rock-and-roll adventure! Nate Wright is born to be wild! And when Enslave the Mollusk is invited to play at the P.S. 38 annual open house, he and his bandmates are on the stairway to heaven. While the kids rock, the school year rolls on. Mrs. Godfrey is back in black, Gina thinks she’s hot stuff, and Coach John is dazed and confused. The good news: Nate’s finally reunited with Trudy, his summer crush. But when he finds out she’s a—gulp—seventh grader, will Nate lose that lovin’ feeling? Middle school is a long, strange trip, and this new collection of riotous Big Nate comics just might BLOW THE ROOF OFF!

 
My Take on the Book
My daughters have been reading Big Nate for years and they always love seeing new ones as they become available. My daughters read this and they both said that it was one of the best books in the entire series. It was a quick read but a fun one and one that they definitely not forget. It was amazing to find that this was the 22nd book in the series. Even though the book is book 22 it is still a great book that adds onto the series in positive ways. The book is funny with great images, illustrations and more. If you are a fan of Bog Nate you will love this book!
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Book Review - Disney Chills - Part of Your Nightmare

Disney Chills - Part of Your Nightmare



About the Book
"My dear, sweet child. Go ahead. Don't be afraid?."

Eleven-year-old Shelly Anderson just wants to be popular. Her parents have split and she has to start over at a new school with different classes, a brand new swim team and an unfamiliar social scene. So what if she just wants the cool kids to like her? Is that really too much to ask? So when Shelly finds a mysterious nautilus shell that summons the infamous sea witch, Ursula, she jumps at her chance to make a deal that will solidify her as one of the coolest girls in school. But when Shelly's wish quickly goes belly-up, she must figure out how to back out of the witch's deal before it forever binds her fate.

Grab your night-light, dear reader, and prepare to be CHILL-ed!



My Take on the Book
My daughter is a big Disney fan and anytime that there are new books that bring in the villains. she is always excited. We read this together and we loved seeing Ursula in this in a story that was a brought into present day. You are kept questioning what would happen next until the end. Also, in the end we were definitely hoping to have more of these books (and chills) in the future.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, April 20, 2020

Book Review - Creature Campers: Surprise Under the Stars

Creature Campers: Surprise Under the Stars



About the Book
The Creature Campers are back for another adventure! To pass their map and compass skills test, they must find their way to a hidden spot in the forest, where a picnic feast awaits!

Follow Norm the Bigfoot and his friends as they brave a swampy lake, a scheming creature collector, and a starry night surprise to get to their deliciously sweet reward—and learn the true meaning of teamwork and trust.


My Take on the Book
The first book that was in this series was so funny. This book was a great second book for the series. In this book you will find the friends back together and this time they have to use a map and compass to earn something special.

The villain gets into the action and you get to see him messing with the other friends. I, for one, loved the high powered magnet to disrupt their compass. What was cool about this is that the book does use some science with the story too.

By the end you will want to see what happens next to these great characters, I know that we were.
----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Slide & Surprise In The Ocean

Slide & Surprise In The Ocean



About the Book
Find out which animals are hiding in the ocean in this novelty book with fun animal facts and big pull-tabs on every page!

Uncover underwater hidden animals in Slide & Surprise in the Ocean! Kids will explore different animal habitats as they turn the thick, board book pages and pull the big tabs to discover adorable new creatures on every spread. Underwater, readers will find animals like seals, whales, clownfish, and more! With a simple animal fact on each spread, this series is the perfect introduction to light nonfiction for this young age group. The call-and-response search-and-find feature will encourage curiosity and interactivity, and Natalie Marshall's bright, playful art will keep them turning the pages! Plus, there is an extra-large reveal on the last spread! Who will you find?


My Take on the Book
This was a cute story that allows the young reader to be engaged with the story itself through the small surprises hidden throughout the book. The book is colorful that will engage your kids and help them learn in many ways.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com