Dad of Divas' Reviews: Book Review - The Love Wars

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Book Review - The Love Wars

About the Book
In the vein of Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada, L. Alison Heller’s THE LOVE WARS (New American Library; May 7, 2013; ISBN: 978045141230; $15.00) is a witty and engaging novel that gives readers an insider’s look at a high-pressure, high-power New York industry as seen through the eyes Molly Grant, a young idealistic, and ambitious woman on the rise. In the book remind readers that love reveals itself in the most mysterious (and sometimes hilarious) of ways.

Even though Molly Grant has only a handful of relationships behind her, she’s already been through more divorces than she can count.

At the premier Manhattan law firm where she’s a matrimonial attorney, the hours are long, the bosses tyrannical, and the bonuses stratospheric. Her clients are rich, famous, and used to getting their way. Molly’s job—and primary concern in life—is to work as hard as possible to make sure they do. Until she meets the client who changes everything….

Fern Walker is the desperate former wife of a ruthless media mogul. Her powerful ex is slowly pushing her out of her young children’s lives, and she fears losing them forever. Molly—haunted by an incident from her own past—finds herself unable to walk away from Fern and sets out to help her. She just needs to do it without her bosses finding out.

Now, as complications both professional and personal stack up, Molly can only hope that her own wits, heart, and instincts are enough—both in and out of court.

A fun, chic-lit-esque story with a romantic twist, THE LOVE WARS is a book that every woman can relate to and will have readers laughing out loud at times. L. Alison Heller is a star on the rise, with her powerful story-telling technique and her comic genius; she is an important addition to the women’s fiction genre.

About the Author
Alison Heller is a divorce lawyer who lives in New York with her husband and two young daughters.

My Take on the Book
This book does a great job at combining humor, along with strong characters all into one place. While you know that the book is fiction, the author draws you in and you feel as a reader that this could be actual events playing out. The book was an engaging and compelling read and one that I had a hard time putting down. As a reader you will definitely identify with the characters within this book, root them on and want the best for them. Beyond all of this, the book itself gives the reader an insightful look into where ambition, hard work and compassion can collide as well as meld together to make a person even stronger.

All opinions expressed in this review are my own and not influenced in any way by the company.  Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider. Please refer to this site's Disclaimer  for more information. I have been compensated or given a product free of charge, but that does not impact my views or opinions.

New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at

No comments: